The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-08-03
Reviews: 5
Overall well done. I've been looking for a photo gallery that is easy and quick to use front-end. Most of the features are very well done however the flow process of creating categories, subcategories and populating them with images becomes a tedious process with this approval process that you can't disable. Honestly, if the approval process wasn't there, I would be giving 5 stars and just repeating my utmost love for this extension. Although unfortunately, the approval or "authorization" just adds too much complexity to something so simple. It simply takes too much time and overhead from the end-user and administrator's point of view to populate galleries produced by this extension with images. Below are a couple examples:

The upload feature itself is nice and easy to use, however the approval process after you upload the images is nice if you need an approval process. If you don't need an approval process, it becomes very annoying to say the least. Basically everytime a new image, you need to click approve for each individual image that is uploaded. There should be an option to automatically approve every new image that's uploaded on the front end.

Simple things like creating new categories from the front-end are not easy to do, unless you have a Joomla Administrator on duty. Even for the administrator, it becomes a little tedious when you have to manually create a storage directory for each category. Automatically creating storage directories for new categories and sub categories is something that should be done by automatically.

Good job overall but the flow from an end-user and administrator's point of view is definitely lacking. Although keep up the good work, this is a very good photo gallery, allow the Joomla Administrator to disable the approval process and this will be a fantastic extension.
Owner's reply

Hi,

"There should be an option to automatically approve every new image that's uploaded on the front end."

Of course there is one, see:
http://www.phoca.cz/documents/2-phoca-gallery-component/11-global-configuration-parameters-component-in-menu-item

"Enable User Upload Image Authorization - If yes, the uploaded image will be set as not authorized and must be authorized by administrator. If no, the uploaded image will be set as authorized"

"Automatically creating storage directories for new categories and sub categories is something that should be done by automatically."

If user will create a category in frontend, the folder is created automatically.

See more info in Phoca.cz forum why the folder is not automatically created while manually creating new category in admin - search "advantages of separate database and filesystem layers"

Please take note that it is very humiliating for each developer if you write a review which is based on ignorance of the documentation or the unwillingness to look at the parameters. :-( :-(

Thank you for understanding, Jan

2010-07-30
Reviews: 4
I downloaded and simple started using on my portal. Even templates are very nice. I really recommend this gallery, do not look for sth else.

I also thank you Phoca for support.
2010-07-21
Reviews: 2
If you ask me why i put this 5 Star, of course because it's worth trying this component. I've tried to use other gallery module as well, but not to my taste. But this one module, worth trying. Great job for putting efforts on making this gallery. Oh btw, thanks for not commercializing this module :P
2010-07-15
Reviews: 1
I will say that this is the best image gallery I have ever used. Highly configurable and easily managed.
2010-07-09
Reviews: 1
Absolutely fantastic gallery! Finally i was able to customize my photo gallery according to my imaginations. You can also have lot of useful plugins which help with better integration into joomla site. Last but not least is perfect documentation and active forum. Only one sad thing is that don't exist more templates, but with this we can help ;o)
asp
2010-07-05
Reviews: 1
The support offered in the help-forum is outstanding. Phoca-gallery gives many ways to show images. I had no problem finding solutions to beginners-problems and got answers to my questions real quick and to the point.
2010-07-03
Reviews: 1
I think I tried all the photogalleries,
and between the free ones I can say that Phoca is the best
2010-06-30
Reviews: 12
This extension is incredible!
There is non photo extension out there that can compete with Phoca. The guys at Phoca makes a great contribution to Joomla with their extensions (for free).

It would be nice to have to opportunity to exclude the "powered by" by paying or donating.

The gallery it self comes with tons of settings and different layout. Their support forum provides lots of help.
2010-06-24
Reviews: 5
I've tried out several gallery extensions and I must say this one is the best. It is very well structured and extremely easy to navigate (even for a newbie like me!)

Thanks for your hard work!
2010-06-24
Reviews: 4
Thank you very much for offering this great product for free! I last looked at this gallery about a year and a half ago - and wow! - you have done fantastic work since!
I have been using the Menalto Gallery, either with a bridge or in an iframe - but now that I have seen all your features, there is really no need to fiddle around with an external app.
2010-06-18
Reviews: 3
I've tried all the other galleries for joomla (and external galleries too) and I can confirm that phoca is the most flexible one, without any doubts. Great assistance too thanks to the forum in phoca website.
Thanks!
2010-06-18
Reviews: 2
I like this gallery, I've been using this extension for many clients.
the only thing I would recommend for this extension is to let the "powered by " optional or just charge a small removal fee such $5 or $10.

Anyway thank you for this excellent extension.
2010-06-17
Reviews: 3
Installed without any problems, I did have one problem with a server error stopping thumbnail creation but it was resolved quickly on the support forum and I now have a fully working gallery. Thanks!
2010-06-12
Reviews: 15
I have tried it on my own website. It was not easy to understand between 'categories view' and 'category view'.
After visiting the forum and reading questions and answers, trying myself, I asked some questions myself.
Now I know: It is a super component. Easy to upload photos and publish your photos in categories.
The best photo gallery because you can add your title and description with it.

Well done! Keep up the good work, please!

Best regards,
Anne M
2010-06-09
Reviews: 1
I have just downloaded and tried to use it, it has quite a lot params, but easy to understand, and nice layout. I will try other galleries, but in my mid, i really like Phoca.
Thank you
2010-05-13
Reviews: 1
phoca gallery is a very good component whith lots of parameters. It tooks some time to understand how it works, but learning by changing parameters is the best way. After all it works quite good. Keep up the good work.
2010-05-12
Reviews: 3
Nice job! Keep up the great work!
2010-05-04
Reviews: 2
Very good module. Easy customisation. Support is active and efficient. Display galery in article.
Thank's for this code Jan.
2010-04-28
Reviews: 4
I've been using Phoca Gallery for quite some time, and have donated more than once. It is truly one of the best gallery's I've used. Also, a lot of the php files are commented so easy customization if you need. I've managed to customize a lot of PG's features. If I've ever had a problem the forum has always been helpful. Also, there is a lot of potential for improvement as well, and Jan is great at following through on requests. Truly a passionate developer for a great product.
2010-04-16
Reviews: 8
Works very well. In case you have any problems, the documentation is clear and has helped me very well with a few things I did not immediately understand.
Well done!
Thanks for this free extension, I will donate and hope you can keep up this good work. Also hope others will do the same!
Page 9 of 18