The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Ignite Gallery Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Features:
*Categories/ Subcategories
*Slideshow
*Full lightbox photo gallery with all of the options that the main gallery has
*Multiple image uploader with resizing before upload, and drag and drop
*Responsive Layout
*Frontend uploading and gallery creation
*Image tagging and search
*Watermarking
*A download image button
*Facebook Comments and JComments integration
*Image Ratings
*Rounded corners
*Facebook share button for each image
*Google plus one button for each image
*Twitter Button for each image
*Top/bottom/left/right position for thumbs
*Top/bottom/left/right position for image descriptions
*Use the plugin to put one or many galleries into an article (with random/ latest/ most viewed options)
*Use the module to put a gallery into a module position (with random/ latest/ most viewed options)
*Search engine friendly urls
*Many more...

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-02-02
Reviews: 8
This gallery is great. It's simple to use, powerful, and looks good right out of the box. It also allows you to make modifications to the views very easily unlike other galleries I've tried. I wanted to put a tweet button and some other stuff on the lightbox layout and it was very easy to do. Great job on this extension.
2011-02-02
Reviews: 3
A full evaluation of the extension:
First of lets start by giving a hats off to the developer for working on a gallery that has front end management! If you want your front end users (at the lowest level - registered or public) to upload images, this component will do it. Here is the better trick; If you want to control levels of management on the front end, you can do so with ACL management in the back-end! Sweet. So not only do you have front-end up-loaders, but also front end managers with abilities to publish gallery items. Very important if you don't want your client to see or have to explain the maze-wonder of the back-end.(I know its easy for us pro's.. but lets make easy for others huh?)

Courtesy and Honesty:
As with any growing and developing component, you will incur a slight learning curve. Organization here is the key.
#1) Understand how your "Categories" work first, then understand how then
#2) Understand how the "Profiles" work .. thats it. with these down packed you can create a vast combination of gallery styles, looks and functions!

Pros:
Post images to Facebook status! from site!
Full range of gallery controls and options hidden or unhidden
Auto image resizing (for good servers.. shared hosting may suffer on this feature)
Auto-play image slideshows with or without fading etc... much more

Cons of the extension and its performance are limited to development which we know.. Rome wasn't built in a day. So be patient and support the developer. Some minor bugs here and there depending on your implementation style and use.

Level of support received:
Excellent - responsive, straight to the point, diligent and fast enough for someone in a different timezone. Matt is excellent.. (please let him have his holidays). There is a comprehensive common issues list on site; if that fails there is a members forum with tons of resolved situations.

I used this component as a solution for a client gallery that needed to be managed with watermarking in two different styles. Other than limitations of her shared hosting account which caused loading errors...Its great!

For the future, maybe added lightbox option, perhaps with integrated e-commerce to buy images if needed? I cant wait. Thanks for this great component and support!
2011-01-29
Reviews: 1
I looked at a few galleries before downloading the trial version of Ignite. After download, it quickly became clear that Ignite would be able to do what I wanted and when I needed advice I got replies in double-quick time ... so now that trial version has been replaced by the full version and I have not regretted doing that for one minute.
The software is intuitive and easily customised to suit many different needs, the support is not only prompt but to the point and, apparently, unfailing in its patience to beginners like me. I think this is a fantastic product and well worth every penny.
2011-01-17
Reviews: 6
Great extension. Easy to customize. Wonderful be able to work with profiles.
2010-12-21
Reviews: 10
Fantastic extension, best gallery I've tried so far. And it is getting better, v2.7 added some great features...
2010-12-18
Reviews: 6
I have tried many photo galleries but Ignite is the best. Easy to use yet very powerful. You can also view the galleries on your iPhone.
I have used this on many sites with no problems at all.
Small price to pay for an amazing component.
Support is great too.
2010-12-15
Reviews: 1
The product and support are incredible!!!

However it didn't work on one of my sites because of script errors. Too many to fix. I will use this product on other sites.

I recommend this extension:
1. Great product
2. Incredible support
3. Easy to use both front and backend

Great Job Matt!
2010-12-14
Reviews: 3
The best I've used, from far.
I've tested a lot of galleries and I can say that this one is really excellent from the coding to the ease of use.
Support is very fast and high level !
Really great extension, I love it.
2010-11-15
Reviews: 7
This is THE BEST PHOTO GALLERY COMPONENT available! It's exactly what I think PhocaGallery WANTS to be. Just goes to show ya, you get what you pay for. It's tough to make a FREE extension be great so that said, when it comes to photo galleries, this is one the best and so worth the money - and I've used pretty much all of them.
2010-09-24
Reviews: 8
Used this on two sites now, and it's easy to customise from the Joomla back-end, but also pretty straightforward to work out how to create HTML overrides, and tweak the CSS for finer control, which I need to do as a developer.
2010-09-20
Reviews: 1
Well worth the purchase, looks great easy to upload photos. I had an issue with the plugin not working correctly and the developer was very helpful in getting this resolved. Turned out it didnt work well with simple gallery, which is fine as I will replace all my article pictures with Ignite.
2010-09-02
Reviews: 1
WOW - this is excellent. I indeed tried a couple of "free of charge" galleries, than I tested the trial version of this one and decided within 3 hours, that this is well invested money.

I'm sure I only tried a small portion of that, what is possible, but everything worked without any deviation from the instructions.

This covers all I'm looking for and I will install it on many projects.
2010-08-26
Reviews: 5
The product and support are incredible. My website use this component and look great.
2010-08-26
Reviews: 1
I bought the full version of the component before using the free trial because I was in a hurry. I made a mistake and it cost me $40. You can learn from my mistake and save $40. Download the free trial and try it first!

In reviewing the support blog, you can see that there is definitely a pattern of the component not working well with templates (other than the default ones supplied with Joomla) and other modules or plugins. Unfortunately, you can't see the support blog until after you pay for the full version.

The developer does respond to problems quickly, unfortunately he seems to answer most problems with the same canned response. I received the same canned responses that many others on the support blog received to problems similar to mine and dissimilar to mine.

He'll cut and paste instructions from the "help" file that have nothing to do with your specific instance, (I think hoping that you'll wear-out in doing the laborious processes and just go away) and then if you do actually take the time to follow the instructions to no avail, he'll follow with the ultimate "waste of time".

When nothing works to the resolve the problem, he ends with, "You need to turn off all modules and components in the site, except for his, switch to a Joomla default template, switch on one module or component at a time until you locate the conflicting component. Once the conflict is identified you either trouble-shoot php on your own, or decide which component is more valuable to you and ditch the other.

I decided this "one-in-a-thousand" photo gallery function wasn't worth my time and pulled the component out and found another one that plays well in the real world.
Owner's reply

tebyerly made a support request that the gallery was not working.

I quickly looked at the site and saw the the link to mootools (the javascript library that comes with Joomla) was missing.

I have seen this problem many times before, and it almost always happens because the template uses jquery (another javascript library), and the template is programmed to remove any links to mootools.

As the template did use jquery, I gave some information on what code to look for/remove in the template, but no code that removes mootools could be found.

I asked that a temp login be sent to me, so I could have a look for anything removing the link to mootools. All of the above happened within 3 hours of the original request being made.

tebyerly did not send me a login, decided the gallery is not suitable, and removed it and left this review.

If it was the case that tebyerly's template (or some plugin) is programmed to remove mootools, it is not correct to blame the gallery. There are hundreds of extensions that will not work with mootools (a core part of Joomla) disabled. I did not get the chance to prove the fault is not with the gallery.

I don't think the above comments about support being slack are accurate. I made an honest effort to solve the problem, but tebyerly moved on before the support thread was half a dozen posts long, or before it was 3 hours old.

If you want to see what my support is like you can look in the trial version support part of the support forum, it is open to the public.

2010-08-18
Reviews: 10
After wading through countless different gallery extensions for Joomla! and phpBB3, we finally discovered Ignite Gallery. Not only does it suit our purposes better than everything else we tried, but the developer support is top notch. The author really knows his code inside and out, which is surprising considering how much of it there is. When support is this good, I'm more than happy to pay for it.
2010-06-30
Reviews: 2
I love this extension. My clients love this extension. All they have to do is browse to a folder on their hard drive and dump a bunch of photos into a gallery to add them in bulk to a slide show. Any support questions have been answered quickly and helpfully. I couldn't be happier. Keep up the great work!
2010-06-25
Reviews: 8
i tested a lot of the galleries, and this is the one that suits me most. a lot of display-options, nice, clean interface and furthermore really great support! of course one would expect support for a commercial extension, but what they did after i had some troubles upgrading to the new version after moving to a different server, was really, really helpful!
2010-06-20
Reviews: 1
This is a terrific image gallery extension. It does exactly what you would expect and has good documentation and a good user support forum as well. Very highly recommended.
2010-06-15
Reviews: 2
This is a beautifully presented photo gallery with easy to add captions, adjustable format sizing, clear and simple "category" organization, and flexible movement of image order within the gallery. The more I learn the ins and outs, the more applications I have for it. I also have to mention the outstanding and prompt help from Matt and Jeremy in the support forum! Thanks for a great product!
2010-05-21
Reviews: 2
I was so very impressed by the frontend and backend design and the final production. This is well worth the small fee. I had some questions and the support was instantaneous, clear, and extremely helpful and friendly. Buy this and you will not be disappointed, especially, if you want your users to be able to load up images as an option. Very nice interface. Thanks!
Page 5 of 10