The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Ignite Gallery Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Features:
*Categories/ Subcategories
*Slideshow
*Full lightbox photo gallery with all of the options that the main gallery has
*Multiple image uploader with resizing before upload, and drag and drop
*Responsive Layout
*Frontend uploading and gallery creation
*Image tagging and search
*Watermarking
*A download image button
*Facebook Comments and JComments integration
*Image Ratings
*Rounded corners
*Facebook share button for each image
*Google plus one button for each image
*Twitter Button for each image
*Pinterest Button for each image
*Top/bottom/left/right position for thumbs
*Top/bottom/left/right position for image descriptions
*Use the plugin to put one or many galleries into an article (with random/ latest/ most viewed/ highest rated options)
*Use the module to put a gallery into a module position (with random/ latest/ most viewed/ highest rated options)
*Search engine friendly urls
*Many more...

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-09-02
Reviews: 1
WOW - this is excellent. I indeed tried a couple of "free of charge" galleries, than I tested the trial version of this one and decided within 3 hours, that this is well invested money.

I'm sure I only tried a small portion of that, what is possible, but everything worked without any deviation from the instructions.

This covers all I'm looking for and I will install it on many projects.
2010-08-26
Reviews: 5
The product and support are incredible. My website use this component and look great.
2010-08-26
Reviews: 1
I bought the full version of the component before using the free trial because I was in a hurry. I made a mistake and it cost me $40. You can learn from my mistake and save $40. Download the free trial and try it first!

In reviewing the support blog, you can see that there is definitely a pattern of the component not working well with templates (other than the default ones supplied with Joomla) and other modules or plugins. Unfortunately, you can't see the support blog until after you pay for the full version.

The developer does respond to problems quickly, unfortunately he seems to answer most problems with the same canned response. I received the same canned responses that many others on the support blog received to problems similar to mine and dissimilar to mine.

He'll cut and paste instructions from the "help" file that have nothing to do with your specific instance, (I think hoping that you'll wear-out in doing the laborious processes and just go away) and then if you do actually take the time to follow the instructions to no avail, he'll follow with the ultimate "waste of time".

When nothing works to the resolve the problem, he ends with, "You need to turn off all modules and components in the site, except for his, switch to a Joomla default template, switch on one module or component at a time until you locate the conflicting component. Once the conflict is identified you either trouble-shoot php on your own, or decide which component is more valuable to you and ditch the other.

I decided this "one-in-a-thousand" photo gallery function wasn't worth my time and pulled the component out and found another one that plays well in the real world.
Owner's reply

tebyerly made a support request that the gallery was not working.

I quickly looked at the site and saw the the link to mootools (the javascript library that comes with Joomla) was missing.

I have seen this problem many times before, and it almost always happens because the template uses jquery (another javascript library), and the template is programmed to remove any links to mootools.

As the template did use jquery, I gave some information on what code to look for/remove in the template, but no code that removes mootools could be found.

I asked that a temp login be sent to me, so I could have a look for anything removing the link to mootools. All of the above happened within 3 hours of the original request being made.

tebyerly did not send me a login, decided the gallery is not suitable, and removed it and left this review.

If it was the case that tebyerly's template (or some plugin) is programmed to remove mootools, it is not correct to blame the gallery. There are hundreds of extensions that will not work with mootools (a core part of Joomla) disabled. I did not get the chance to prove the fault is not with the gallery.

I don't think the above comments about support being slack are accurate. I made an honest effort to solve the problem, but tebyerly moved on before the support thread was half a dozen posts long, or before it was 3 hours old.

If you want to see what my support is like you can look in the trial version support part of the support forum, it is open to the public.

2010-08-18
Reviews: 10
After wading through countless different gallery extensions for Joomla! and phpBB3, we finally discovered Ignite Gallery. Not only does it suit our purposes better than everything else we tried, but the developer support is top notch. The author really knows his code inside and out, which is surprising considering how much of it there is. When support is this good, I'm more than happy to pay for it.
2010-06-30
Reviews: 2
I love this extension. My clients love this extension. All they have to do is browse to a folder on their hard drive and dump a bunch of photos into a gallery to add them in bulk to a slide show. Any support questions have been answered quickly and helpfully. I couldn't be happier. Keep up the great work!
2010-06-25
Reviews: 9
i tested a lot of the galleries, and this is the one that suits me most. a lot of display-options, nice, clean interface and furthermore really great support! of course one would expect support for a commercial extension, but what they did after i had some troubles upgrading to the new version after moving to a different server, was really, really helpful!
2010-06-20
Reviews: 1
This is a terrific image gallery extension. It does exactly what you would expect and has good documentation and a good user support forum as well. Very highly recommended.
2010-06-15
Reviews: 2
This is a beautifully presented photo gallery with easy to add captions, adjustable format sizing, clear and simple "category" organization, and flexible movement of image order within the gallery. The more I learn the ins and outs, the more applications I have for it. I also have to mention the outstanding and prompt help from Matt and Jeremy in the support forum! Thanks for a great product!
2010-05-21
Reviews: 2
I was so very impressed by the frontend and backend design and the final production. This is well worth the small fee. I had some questions and the support was instantaneous, clear, and extremely helpful and friendly. Buy this and you will not be disappointed, especially, if you want your users to be able to load up images as an option. Very nice interface. Thanks!
2010-05-18
Reviews: 1
I got this gallery with the view to customise it to save images to from a Flash application. The support I got from the guys at Ignite Gallery was second to none. This is a great easy to use gallery which looks attractive, has nothing in the way of branding and allows you to have multiple galleries of different designs easily controlled by one simple interface. The ability to place the galleries into article and module positions as well as the default component position is awesome.
2010-04-28
Reviews: 1
Superb Gallery and Superb Support.
I asked questions in the forums, had instant answers and even had the developer log into my site to fix up a little bug, on the fly.
2010-04-01
Reviews: 1
Love the new beta.. everyhing we need and Matt's support is very good!
2010-03-30
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best, most versatile, and easiest to implement extensions I've used. It can do so much for you plus it just plain looks great.

What makes it even better is the fantastic support Matt and his team provide. If all extensions provided this kind of support, I wouldn't mind paying for a commercial license every time. Worth every penny.

Keep up the great work!
2010-03-25
Reviews: 25
This is extremely well written programming. The whole process is thought out very intuitively. Each step was logical which made it easier for me being a first time Joomla user. Some of the other extensions out there are very confusing.

The documentation is excellent as well. Very detailed, logical and with graphics too. The demo was one of best I've seen.

The support with a subscription is the bees knees. Matt goes above and beyond what I consider should be covered when you buy a product. He even helped me customize some parts to meet my specific needs. Not to mention the response time. Being on the other side of the planet from him, it was very timely.

If you want a very elegant and fully featured gallery, the $40 for this is a absolute give away.

Great work Matt,
Thanks for being a programmer, not everybody finds their calling.
2010-03-23
Reviews: 1
I have used many gallery for joomla sites in the past. Ignite Gallery is just everything that has been missing in the others I have used. It's almost to simple to use and worth every dollar.
2010-03-17
Reviews: 2
This is by far the best photo gallery component available for Joomla as far as I'm concerned. I have used all the free galleries available and they all have their own merits. obviously if you're on a budget than anything free is good, especially if it works. However, this gallery component is just fantastic. I love the ease of uploading photos, you can do 100 photos in less than a couple of minutes. using the plug-in all module enables you to put individual galleries into articles. Absolutely brilliant. And this component doesn't come with annoying back links that you can't get rid of.
2010-03-11
Reviews: 2
I admit that this component is one of the best I have used. It's very user friendly and installed with no problems at all. A lot of great and useful features. I use this component for my photography website and its been a blessing. I have used other photo galleries that could never live up to the greatness that is Ignite Gallery.

I do wish there was an easier method for the ordering of specific photos within galleries. Being able to move photos around within a gallery without clicking an up arrow multiple times, or even the capability to have new photos showcased first, and not last in the slideshow would make this component simply the best.
2010-03-10
Reviews: 1
This works very well. It has a lot of features and the rare instance I needed support, it was quick and excellent.
2010-02-18
Reviews: 1
I created an account here now, just to write this review!

I'm very happy with this Gallery! Very nice software, easy to set up, but best of all: Great support!

I had a problem with output whan including a gallery inside an article and posted a quick question on their support forum with just the link to the article as the only info!

Just a few hours later I got the solution. There where some statements in my css file that f***ed it up. They told me what lines that where creating the problem and what to do to fix it!

Very well worth the 40 bucks...

Great job guys! Keep it up!
2010-02-18
Reviews: 1
Version 2.1 installed first time, setup was simple, files and code both ordered/logical and well commented, easy to customize.. very sound support forum.. Ignite Gallery 2.5 - Bring it On..
Page 6 of 10