The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2012-09-01
Reviews: 1
Hands down the BEST gallery component. Been using it for years and it gets only better.
2012-07-14
Reviews: 5
I searched a lot and finally found this! It's very good for collections of photos. Only one thing I don't like: there's an on hover info red box appearing over slideshow navigation... I cannot hide it!!! :-(
2012-07-14
Reviews: 4
I'm a joomla newbie, but install and setup was easy. Need to fill it with images now :-)
2012-07-03
Reviews: 1
It's great and very powerful.
2012-06-15
Reviews: 5
From the day I discovered it, I have always found it difficult to understand how such an extensive and fine piece of software engineering could be given away for free!
For anyone who wishes to build a user driven image based website, JoomGallery should come as the top priority.
Regards!
2012-05-23
Reviews: 10
This is a very comprehensive photo gallery. I need something compatible with my CB based site so at this time I have to uninstall. Despite what the description says I cannot find extensions to bridge the two. (If Im wrong please let me know.)

Pros
*Robust
*Plenty of options

Cons
*Somewhat overwhelming - somewhat complex for smaller sites
*Front end uploader appears to be incompatible with CBuilder.
2012-05-21
Reviews: 5
I used lot of simple and complex gallery system for many website.

Recently i tested Joomgallery and was impressed !
There is lot of functionnality and everything to set it up !
Upload options are perfect (ftp, java, zip, by form) and really easy to use.
And it comes with lot of plugin and modules !
Nice job and it is Open source !
2012-04-25
Reviews: 3
I bought manny commercial gallery components and ended up with Joomlgallery.

Very clean and functional.
Plenty of addons.

Gallery made in Germany :)

Thanks for this great extension!
2012-04-17
Reviews: 4
Easy to install, Easy to understand and manage. By far the best component whether free or commercial.
2012-04-08
Reviews: 1
First of all thanks for this awesome extension to developer.But for me i have one problem.Is this possible to link this component with joomla article too so that we can use this component images on joomla article also as photo gallery.so that npo need to upload additional image for joomla article.
2012-04-07
Reviews: 5
Is just PERFECT, kind of too many options, but that just make it more detailed, is actually much more better than many others that are not free, Great job and thanks to the designers and developers of this great component, works just perfect on joomla 2.5
lets keep suporting this guys so they keep doing such a great job
AIL
2012-03-15
Reviews: 25
I do not have enough stars and praise to give to this extensions, many many possibilities and options and works great. Options I am not using as too many in my opinion but is great anyway.

Keep on this track guys!
2012-03-14
Reviews: 14
I've used this component since Joomla 1.5 . At first I wanted to find something else, while this had all the features I wanted I was getting very poor performance.

Turns out it wasn't the extensions fault at all. I do all my testing on WAMP and Xampp server over a Windows environment, and it runs terrible there. But note that once it was online, even in shared hosting, such as $7/month hostgator for example, it runs exceptional.

It does have a bit of a learning curve, and some of the documentation is hard to find unless you look for it (such as component module positions) but it's definately worth the time investment. Also, unlike other "free" galleries such as Phoca Gallery, this does not have mandatory backlinks. Try to remember all the work you're getting for free though and donate a couple bucks.

I've run this on live sites with over 60k images and no problems at all. I've also had it with only a few thousand and it does great for any size.
2012-02-24
Reviews: 42
I have used JoomGallery on a few websites now and have come to realise how versatile it can be. For example, on one website, the home page features a Ken Burns style slideshow with photos randomly selected from the gallery. All this comes with it for free! Thanks JoomGallery!
2012-02-15
Reviews: 4
Very nice gallery, im using it curently with my site and joomla 1.5. many costumatization options and wery stable. However im sead to see that there is new version for joomla 2.5 since im planing to migrate. It wil be pity if I have to use some other gallery!
2012-02-07
Reviews: 1
I am currenlty replacing my coppermine gallery with Joom Gallery. This means I don't have to have a wrapper and lig in seperately. Also there's no space overhead.

Thanks for a great product.
:D
2011-12-07
Reviews: 5
I spent countless tried,upload and removed many PICS soft, trust me. this is the best one.
Dont waste time like I was, just download and use it,the only and best free choice.
2011-11-22
Reviews: 1
I've run through many galleries and this is the perfect balance between simplicity and customization. Great Job!!
One thing though - can't figure out how to make the voting work in category view:( I wrote on JoomGallery Forum but haven't recieved an answer yet:(. Maby anyone could help me?? Please
2011-11-02
Reviews: 5
Guess it is the ONLY gallery with separate text editor for each image - tested almost every gallery - few has well done text options. Make no mistake - it is REALLY huge ! You can play with settings for weeks :o) "Level of difficulty" = MAX. Want extensive options - expect a huge Admin. Wish I could throw a link to my "makeover" edition.....was a challenge to change it, but joomgallery is well programmed. Really waited for JoomGallery 1.7 edition ! OUTSTANDING work - and for free.....
2011-10-28
Reviews: 20
i want to personally commend the joomgallery team for the best extension for a gallery on joomla. integrates seamlessly into templates. the component is extremely light and offers way too many options and views... for free. here is a quick step by step guide:

1. install component using joomla's extension manager.
2. configure endless options and the directories for images next in the component's configuration.
3. link the gallery
4. create a category
5. upload an image

and bam. there it is... bitte sehr dream team!
Page 2 of 9