The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2011-01-31
Reviews: 3
I installed JoomGallery for our church site today.
Due to my host's PHP version I had trouble installing the component through the back end upload and install. Happily, I found the solution to this problem in their forums and was able to install it through the directory path. Fast and easy!

I like the user interface, clean look, and all the options to display or not display options!

I am really impressed and highly recommend this component, modules and the plug-ins.

Thank you for your hard work.
2011-01-28
Reviews: 5
I have been pleasantly surprised by this extension. It is basically very similar to Phoca Gallery but in my opinion better and simpler.

Since JPhoto charge £20 for their rubbish these guys could easily charge since their component a) works, b)has some advanced functionality like the ability to recreate all your thumbnails when you change your settings and lastly the support is excellent.

I wrote and resolved my issue within the hour- very good indeed.

The only reason I give it 4 stars rather than 5 is that it doesn't look very nice- and it is a gallery after all- but at least the output is modern and easily stylable.

Good work, and amazing for free.
2011-01-26
Reviews: 3
I have just installed JoomGallery on my site and have uploaded a couple of photos, but have tried the demo on their site, and would like to say that this is one of the best Joomla components I've used. The layout/design looks great and it is very user-friendly. I recommend it to others as an excellent addition to their sites, and can't believe it's a free extension with many great features. Thank you very much JoomGallery, you've done a wonderful job!!! :)
2011-01-15
Reviews: 7
This extension is impressive, hard to believe it's free because it is actually better than any other even paid for gallery. It's many features and it's not hard to set it up, although it might seem at the first impression. One has to play with it a little to find how everything works - but it really works. The BEST gallery on net!
2010-12-03
Reviews: 2
Highly configurable. The only thing that annoyed me was that I would need a module to get JComment to work with this application.
The component is well written, so it was easy to implement native JComment support in this component. Right now I don't need the module anymore.
I tried phoca and I have to say, it felt a bit 'hard' compared to this component. The Zip-upload is a nice feature that's missing in a lot of other apps.

The code is inspiring to see... well written, well thought out. Just what we needed: the component currently suits my every need.
2010-12-01
Reviews: 1
First of all... this is free? This is an incredibly well done, well organized, easy to use, feature rich photo gallery component. Best photo gallery component I've ever used. Thank you!

Best Regards,
A Joomla Pro
2010-11-25
Reviews: 4
I have been trying a few different gallery plugins, and yours is the first one, that does EVERYTHING I want!

It does take some tweaking to get the layout right, but it has the options to make it all work, with good information provided, and loads of features.

The key for me was the front end ability to allow a person to upload to a gallery of their own without special permissions! Or to FTP the files!

Quite clearly one of the best gallery solutions for Joomla on the planet.

Well done for the design and thought that went into it!

If you are looking for a great gallery - this is the one for you!
2010-11-19
Reviews: 1
Have been useing JoomGallery for quite some time now, and finally I have nothing to complain about.
Clearly the best gallery module for Joomla and should be an Editors pick as well!

Easy to install. Lots (!) of functions and configuration options, but also works perfectly "out of the box".
My highest reccomendations!
2010-11-16
Reviews: 4
It increased visit length on my social website by 200%. I just wish there was a way to notify when a user tags another user on the photo. Very cool, though. And it's free! I donated.
2010-11-07
Reviews: 3
Thanks. I looking for while now.

I spend for long time. but Today I found!!

o_0 /
2010-11-01
Reviews: 5
Images make up about 95% of my site's content or more, so naturally I have tried all of the more feature-rich Joomla galleries available. I have found this one to be the best. It's easily customizable & has tons of configuration options. It's easy to organize images with subcategories and categories, the links can be made SEF, easy integration with jcomments... the list goes on. I also asked for support in the forum once and received a fast response.

The only issue I've encountered is that the pages make a LOT of mysql queries; combined with the other queries on my pages, some pages are making 80-100 queries (and yes, I've checked that the majority are from Joomgallery). So if you have hundreds to thousands of images and several thousand visitors a day, the number of queries may become a problem, as they have for me. But my solution was to re-code some of the gallery pages myself to be specific for my site. My pages now make 1/8th of the queries, but I still get to enjoy all the wonderful benefits of JoomGallery :)
2010-10-25
Reviews: 4
I have been using JoomGallery in its various versions for a few years, and have never found a full-on gallery system which equals its ease of installation and adaption, not least because of its integration with CB.

Having delayed the upgrade of a server full of sites as long as possible, recently I found time to upgrade and transfer all my old J!1.0 ones to J!1.5.

At first I was concerned of the lack of a migration script for joomgallery, but the process is as follows. Upgrade your Joomgallery to the latest 1.0 build. Install the same build on new server with legacy on, and copy all the Joomgallery SQL tables via phpmyadmin. Check it works and then install the newest version (1.5.x) over the top.

At this point I hit a snag with my config, but Andreas at JoomGallery went out of his way to help and fix the problem himself. This is the sort of support you would expect of an expensive component, not a free download.

If you are looking for a gallery which members can upload to simply, which has many features and modules, which is community focused and which you have no worries about getting support if you ever hit a problem then this is the one to have.
2010-10-22
Reviews: 7
After using another gallery extension and having many layout issues with templates designed using Artisteer 2 I started looking around for something easier to work with and that I did not have to do so many modifications to the templates to get everything displayed properly.

What used to take me hours configuring and modifying a new gallery took minutes with JoomGallery. All I had to do was install, add a category, add menu items, and upload pictures.

JoomGallery worked fine with Artisteer 2, no CSS modification needed. I did have an issue with the buttons when I turned on the accordion option for the detailed view. This is still not a big problem as the default layout still looks good.

The JoomImages module exceeded my expectation. Only wish I could link the photos in the slideshow to the detailed view instead of the category view, but still outstanding.

Configuration, yes there are a lot of options, but I like how all the options are grouped together in a Tab format. This format made it very easy to see all the groups and quickly locate the options I needed to modify.

I’m not using SEF for this evaluation but it works fine on a production server running Windows 2003 Server, IIS, MySQL, and PHP. Not sure about the support as I have not needed to reach out for help.

Overall outstanding job!
2010-10-21
Reviews: 15
A boatload of functionality. Nametags on images, integrated with CB - Wow. By integrating with CB, JComment, JomComment, and many others, JoomGallery itself becomes part of the Who's Who of Joomla Extensions, a Must Have if you Must Have a gallery.

The autoupdate function worked for the module and plugin, but not for the component - likely an issue with my server. Kudos to the team for this functionality.

Don't forget to donate- Even free beer must be purchased or brewed.
2010-10-01
Reviews: 7
Going through their forums, none of their fixes worked, and I meet or exceed all the requirements of this script. I really liked the "standard" format and layout of this script, but it just didn't display resized or full sized images. Looks like an SEF/Path issue.
tez
2010-09-07
Reviews: 5
This is a very well constructed component. Uses MVC and looks like it is managed by a group of experienced Joomla devs.

No core hacks needed, template overrides and a lot of configuring are all that you need to do.

I would have like to be able to turn off a few of the menu options using Config. I wont ever need Batch upload, FTP upload, Migrator, Comments, Image Upload (I only use Java Upload).

I really love how it removes ALL the files which are not needed and allows you to never worry about 5meg originals persisting forever, because you can set a max pixel limit and auto delete originals.
2010-08-31
Reviews: 5
I just wish all Joomla components were this slick.
I have installed this on over 50 customer sites so far without a hitch.
I notice someone complaining about lack of support, I can't comment as in over 50 installs I've never had a problem, I can't understand why anyone would need support, They couldn't have made it any easier!!
Thankyou very much for an excellent gallery.
2010-08-30
Reviews: 10
Thank you so much,

I use this component for 2 years already and developers work hard all the time to improve the program!

Many improvements since the beginning.

This component is safe, powerful, and easy to use!

Cant imagine my websites without!

Thank you!
2010-08-10
Reviews: 4
The best and most complete photo gallery of the Joomla!
Congratulations on the excellent work with this component!
2010-08-06
Reviews: 1
Never saw an other component with so MANY confuguration options!
GREAT Work! ty
Page 4 of 10