The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2010-02-21
Reviews: 1
I only registered to submit a review for this component, i'm THAT motivated!
After almost 2 years of search for a script/extension/you name it , to create a custom covers site i found the PERFECT one.
It is really easy to install , it has configuration for just about ANYTHING , a wide range of possibilities and works flawlessly in my 10.000 unique guests monthly site.
I can't really believe this software is free.. its exactly what i wanted.
Only thing i haven't figured out and i need some help on it, is if i can have a gallery slideshow with some selected pictures (like promote some pictures) . Other than that its PERFECT i 100% recommend it
2010-02-14
Reviews: 1
JoomGallery was extremely easy to install and offered the integrated, full featured, photo gallery I was looking for. I was amazed at how many configuration options were available.

Some configurations took more time to figure out what they affected than others, and, being completely new to the software, it seemed to me that a couple of settings had to be changed in two places and I wasn't sure why, although they were not hard to find.

One item that was not obvious, and undocumented, was how to change the display name of the Gallery page, which needs to be edited in the global Joomla language file. That information was gleaned from the forum pages, and is new with the introduction of Joomla 1.5.

I'm ecstatic about this component, and highly recommend it!
2010-02-13
Reviews: 4
This is definitely the most complete Joomla Photo Gallery component I tried!

It has a lot of parameter! Really! But you can't do without any one of it! Everyone is worth, because they let you manage the gallery at various levels.

Besides, this extension updates itself with a simple click on a link in the backend! Amazing!!! I would like that Joomla core had a link like that to update so quickly!

I know that i'm forgetting something else great that I note about it.

Anyway..

Great developer. Thanks for it.
2010-02-10
Reviews: 15
This extension is absolutely awesome -- installs without any grief, gives you all kinds of ways to get your pics online, including FTP if you have a lot of them -- so easy to use! There are a lot of config options so it does take a little while to get it set and displaying just the way you want, but it's definitely worth spending the time. You can even edit the CSS file right in the interface, if you just need to make a quick change, or edit in your own editor and upload -- no attitude problem from the software either way, or you can go with the default settings, it's fairly slick. This might be the best photo gallery I've ever tried, both of the CMS-extension and stand-alone variety -- just unbelievably good.
2010-01-29
Reviews: 2
I was specifically looking for a nice looking photo gallery that allowed special members to upload photos from the front end and this module was exactly what I was looking for. There are many configuration options to customize how you want to display your gallery and I managed to get the look I wanted in minutes. This is an excellent photo gallery module. Highly recommend it!
2010-01-23
Reviews: 14
Works great, simple to install, and has a plethora of options. Absolutely incredible gallery system.
2010-01-20
Reviews: 1
After years of bridging Gallery I decided to go for a native Joomla solution. After trying several of the top downloaded galleries I choose JoomGallery.

The installation and initial, basic setup is quick and fairly standard. It is in the detailed configuration and complete control you have over every aspect of the user interface and rich set of features that makes this component stand above the rest.

Also a standout is the support supplied by the developer. I had a minor issue getting my gallery to look a certain way and over the course of several days I was in communication with the developer via his support forum and he explained to me how to accomplish what I set out to do. As far as I'm concerned, this is better support than what you normally get with even commercial products.

Highly recommended.
2010-01-19
Reviews: 1
This image gallery pretty much does everything that one could ask for, except for taking the photos for you!

There are a huge amount of options to customize things with, practically everything can be changed around.

5 stars is not enough.
Criticism - humans made this, that is all I can say - what we are getting is way too huge to be expressing any puny pity thing in return..

Guys .. Seriously .. THANK YOU
2010-01-09
Reviews: 1
Thanks for the component is very good and I am going to use it for my sites.
Pro
2010-01-06
Reviews: 4
That is one of the best if not the best Joomla gallery component on this planet!
It offers a very wide range of parametering possibilities! That is a high end work from developers! Besides that! Languages files are available and great! I love the fact that it integrates flawlessly with CB.
Again! A must to have in a joomla website!
Professional from all sides!
Thank you!
2010-01-05
Reviews: 3
I vote for this extension because of its usability at the point of a non-commercial one. Frankly speaking, the backend interface is complicated and takes time to learn how to customize its functions. Some newbies may be confused with the tabs and supporting functions. Overall, it is an excellent extension!!
2009-12-29
Reviews: 4
I wanted to let users upload there own pictures on my website and I thought that I will not find something like that until I came across JoomGallery. This component is simply the best gallery plug-in for Joomla,it is fully packed with all kind of features with a easy interface that allows you to configure everything there is to configure.All I want to say is thank you very much for letting us use such a great component free of charge,it is simply amazing and it works flawlessly!
Best regards
2009-12-22
Reviews: 2
I couldn't be more thankful for this component. Everything works great.

Except... Everybody is promising support for 3rd party extensions, but it is always a half-support.

I am angry these days about those half-integrations.
Azrul's JomComment, Joomlapolis Community Builder, UddeIM PMS and this component... Every one of them - great stuff... But, integrations or support between them is poor, in most cases just a nice goodnight story.
2009-12-11
Reviews: 3
this is the most advanced gallery component I've had the pleasure to use. it takes time to go through the endless configuration options but you can use it for anything from a simple gallery with large versions in lightboxes to an advanced one with ratings, comments, slideshows, favorites, integration with other components, etc. several options of pop-ups/lighboxes, several ways to upload images (up to 10 single images, batch, FTP, java), you will rarely think of a functionality that this monster doesn't support

feature request - could handle audio/video as well as currently it's impossible to find a component to handle all the 3 media types that isn't trapped in a tight unfriendly flash interface

congrats on a solid reliable application!
2009-11-27
Reviews: 4
I've tried quite a few galleries and there are some very good ones but the options available in this one far surpass the others.
Installation was easy and so was an update to the software. I had to edit nothing to get it working just spend a bit of time learning what all the options did before going live on site.
Also has a module that shows slideshows or thumb size images…so many cool options.
Highly recommend joomgallery!

Thanks to all the developers!
2009-11-25
Reviews: 1
This component does everything I need. I was looking for an easy way to upload, resize, and watermark images and it does them all. This will save me so much time!
2009-11-01
Reviews: 2
The Pros
This is nice once the images have been reduced and published. The modules (especially joomimg)are great for teaser display throughout the site and the plugin to in include a gallery image into articles is very useful.

The 'Motion Gallery' beats CPG (Coppermine Photo Gallery) static thumbs. Modal window for detailed image view is to die for. The comment system, BBcode share system, Image rating and image details are just perfect.

The admin... ideal! Well explained (for those who read) and easily tweaked to suit.

Styling is quite simple too (of course with knowledge of)

The Cons
Unlike CPG, when using FTP upload I expected to be able to FTP large image files to the server then Joom Gallery in combo with ImageMagick or GD2 would resize the images as set in config. Not so! A file at 2mb could not be processed and even with debug on I never got a clear msg of what the problem was. CPG processes any file size once it is on the server. I expect and error when using php upload if php.ini is set to 2mb but FTP should not have this issue. Atleast it doesn't with CPG. Also when I uncheck 'Delete pictures after upload?', Joomgal still deletes the originals.

The category system should be labeled 'Galleries' or 'Albums'. I take pix weekly at events and need to label each week and venue. With CPG I had category then Albums in categories. With JoomGal its just unending categories. I suppose I could just change the label. So no big deal.

The 'Motion Gallery' while a great function, is uncontrollable. No means in admin of speed adjustment. While one is trying to move to another image the thing just runs the list and it's like playing a video game to catch the image you want. This means then digging in and editing the javascript that executes the action.

But overall I likes. Great job!
2009-10-27
Reviews: 4
installs with no problems.many options in the configuration settings.it does whatever a gallery is supposed to do and with a lot of styling.only faced problem with image uploading.with the support i was able to figure that and is working like charm for me.thanks for the extension
2009-10-06
Reviews: 1
Awesome extension. Been looking for a gallery with various settings and this is the right one! It has so many user settings you can set it to your needs in few minutes. No problem during the installation,upload, view. A++
2009-10-05
Reviews: 6
I wanted for a component to replace using a bridged Gallery 2.3 installation that I used for several years because of its comprehensive customization features. JoomGallery turned out to be a fine choice for my sites and my clients' sites. I am currently working with JoomGallery 1.5.0.3 on Joomla! 1.5.14 and it integrates well with my CB 1.2 -- all in full Joomla! Native Mode. Installation was a piece of cake. Beside the Component there are several Modules installable from the Extensions manager and one Community Builder Plugin installable from the CB component panel. The JoomGallery component panel is chock full of options. Though it takes time to sift through all of them, the fact that they are offered means this component allows heavy customization where some others seem to take a one size fits all approach. I love options and so do my clients. And unlike what I've been using for all this time, this is in fact a true Joomla native component requiring no bridges or file hacks, so my Joomlapack one button backup now protects my photo galleries, too. Nice job on this one!
Page 5 of 9