The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2009-11-27
Reviews: 4
I've tried quite a few galleries and there are some very good ones but the options available in this one far surpass the others.
Installation was easy and so was an update to the software. I had to edit nothing to get it working just spend a bit of time learning what all the options did before going live on site.
Also has a module that shows slideshows or thumb size images…so many cool options.
Highly recommend joomgallery!

Thanks to all the developers!
2009-11-25
Reviews: 1
This component does everything I need. I was looking for an easy way to upload, resize, and watermark images and it does them all. This will save me so much time!
2009-11-01
Reviews: 1
The Pros
This is nice once the images have been reduced and published. The modules (especially joomimg)are great for teaser display throughout the site and the plugin to in include a gallery image into articles is very useful.

The 'Motion Gallery' beats CPG (Coppermine Photo Gallery) static thumbs. Modal window for detailed image view is to die for. The comment system, BBcode share system, Image rating and image details are just perfect.

The admin... ideal! Well explained (for those who read) and easily tweaked to suit.

Styling is quite simple too (of course with knowledge of)

The Cons
Unlike CPG, when using FTP upload I expected to be able to FTP large image files to the server then Joom Gallery in combo with ImageMagick or GD2 would resize the images as set in config. Not so! A file at 2mb could not be processed and even with debug on I never got a clear msg of what the problem was. CPG processes any file size once it is on the server. I expect and error when using php upload if php.ini is set to 2mb but FTP should not have this issue. Atleast it doesn't with CPG. Also when I uncheck 'Delete pictures after upload?', Joomgal still deletes the originals.

The category system should be labeled 'Galleries' or 'Albums'. I take pix weekly at events and need to label each week and venue. With CPG I had category then Albums in categories. With JoomGal its just unending categories. I suppose I could just change the label. So no big deal.

The 'Motion Gallery' while a great function, is uncontrollable. No means in admin of speed adjustment. While one is trying to move to another image the thing just runs the list and it's like playing a video game to catch the image you want. This means then digging in and editing the javascript that executes the action.

But overall I likes. Great job!
2009-10-27
Reviews: 4
installs with no problems.many options in the configuration settings.it does whatever a gallery is supposed to do and with a lot of styling.only faced problem with image uploading.with the support i was able to figure that and is working like charm for me.thanks for the extension
2009-10-06
Reviews: 1
Awesome extension. Been looking for a gallery with various settings and this is the right one! It has so many user settings you can set it to your needs in few minutes. No problem during the installation,upload, view. A++
2009-10-05
Reviews: 6
I wanted for a component to replace using a bridged Gallery 2.3 installation that I used for several years because of its comprehensive customization features. JoomGallery turned out to be a fine choice for my sites and my clients' sites. I am currently working with JoomGallery 1.5.0.3 on Joomla! 1.5.14 and it integrates well with my CB 1.2 -- all in full Joomla! Native Mode. Installation was a piece of cake. Beside the Component there are several Modules installable from the Extensions manager and one Community Builder Plugin installable from the CB component panel. The JoomGallery component panel is chock full of options. Though it takes time to sift through all of them, the fact that they are offered means this component allows heavy customization where some others seem to take a one size fits all approach. I love options and so do my clients. And unlike what I've been using for all this time, this is in fact a true Joomla native component requiring no bridges or file hacks, so my Joomlapack one button backup now protects my photo galleries, too. Nice job on this one!
2009-09-28
Reviews: 14
I was looking for an image handling, image-sharing component, which can be attached to the Community Builder. Long time, much like I tried, but I've found the right one. This is the best on the market. Easy to install, manage, and still look beautiful. Thanks for the sharing!
2009-09-11
Reviews: 1
I've been designing Joomla sites for over 3 years now, and tried over a dozen different gallery solutions in that time, including some "wrapped" external scripts.

JoomGallery is one of the easiest I've found to use for a basic gallery. I haven't had the need yet to get into all of the features, but for a simple gallery it has worked as advertised.

One missing feature is the lack of a menu-link for individual categories. The solution of creating an external link to a specific page won't work either - something about having to log on to view a public page (?).

Hopefully the developer will get around to adding the Category Link in order to make this extension more adaptable to general website needs.

Regarding the reported permissions problems, I have often found with Joomla that problems are usually not so much with the component as it was written and intended, but more often with the way someone is trying to use it - a way the developer may not have yet considered.

Let's just say that this one works out of the box for basic requirements, and that future development will hopefully take it closer to becoming 100% stable.
2009-09-10
Reviews: 13
The promise of this extension -- as with many Joomla extensions -- simply does not manifest itself in practice. It's a fine idea, but I've just spent an afternoon struggling with this, and for no apparent reason, it just breaks on me.

I'm no newbie. I've been dealing with the ups and downs of Joomla and its various extensions for well over a year. I know my way around unix servers, FTP, permissions, and all that.

I installed this extension, and it immediately reports that I have permission problems in directories that it must access. Never before have I had to manually set directories to 766, but for whatever reason, Joomgallery wants this. Strike one.

So, I go an set all the directories thusly, and I get green OKs from the configuration. Then I try uploading with Java. No go. Long error message that is also reported to no avail on the JoomGallery forum, but the developer has no idea what's causing it. Strike two.

Then I try to upload a single image. More errors. File uploads, but does not populate into the the thumbnail and detail directories. And worse, the images that used to appear in the slide show disappear. Strike three!

Finally,the back-end UI is clunky and awkward with a bazillion options that would confuse a shuttle astronaut, never mind my clients.

The extension seems hopelessly broken and I'm afraid I'm going to have to look for another solution.
2009-09-06
Reviews: 1
Even if i'm new to joomla, i can say that this extension is really great if you want a clean and nice gallery, especially if you have a lot of photos, its really "user-friendly" for a open-source product, i can say that it is a bit hard to find help on the forums, but i really didn't have much problems which i couldn't solve myself.. so my sincere congratulations to the team who worked so hard for this wonderful extension
2009-09-03
Reviews: 8
Brilliant gallery, it can be as complex or as simple as you like.

You can enable and disable HEAPS of options to craft this gallery category exactly as you want it. Very nice. Don't be scared to give it a try. The back-end is pretty easy to understand and there are heaps of options for uploading (single, bulk, ftp... etc).

I was looking for something fairly simple, at first I thought this would be too complex -but I am very happy with it and recommend it to anyone.

Only thing I have yet to do is figure a way to have a menu link that will open just a single category instead of going to the categories view list (as I only use one category) -worked something out using a "External Link" to the page. Perhaps this could be added later.

Clifton.
2009-08-31
Reviews: 9
This is really a nice gallery component that is very clean, intuitive and well thought out.

Unfortunately, some of the configuration parameters simply do not work for existing categories, for example, disabling hit counts. There is no way to disable voting or control the display dimensions of images in detail view (or thumbnails for that matter).

I am a professional photographer looking for a simple gallery component with SEF links and photos with title, description and keywords that will be mirrored in the HTML meta tags. JoomGallery does not foot the bill, but should work well for most users..
2009-08-25
Reviews: 1
i hacked this w/"Custom Properties" extension so i could have a specific tag taxonomy to tag the pictures with and it works great. it has a lot of useful features, and their forum support is good enough. it does not render perfectly in ie6 with some joomla templates.

still waiting for Cooliris-enabled search results and frontend java uploading capabilities!
2009-08-14
Reviews: 16
I joined the Joomla site just to write this review. This extension answers most of all my concerns with having a gallery on my site. This is an exceptional extension and should be given consideration by all. The developers are well versed in programming and their Support staff immediately answered a question I had. I have paid for extensions and have not that level of support. I wish this group well and I look forward to future releases.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 2
Best gallery for Joomla at this time! Automatic integration with Jcomments component, Coorilis support is really great! I really hope, all existing problems (not all modes suppot Jcomments) be fixed soon.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 1
installed no problem, runs fine, some issues changing page title, but will be resolved I'm sure
2009-08-05
Reviews: 2
I'm only writing rewiew when a extention is amazingly cool.

Settting in the back-end are totally configurable, almost bit by bit :)

Thanks al lot for making such a great extension!
2009-07-24
Reviews: 1
Easy to install,adjustment.We like our gallery very much.
But we have a problem at CPanel link at the upper right corner,not work.
Thanks very very much. 5 stars gallery
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
I did have an issue and after a bit of research i discovered it was an error caused by a line of code missing in the joomla .12 update, not the extension itself.

You can find the fix which is provided ny joomla here
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=199&t=416166


other then that, its been great
2009-07-17
Reviews: 1
In my opinion this is the best gallery for Joomla!
Easy to install and customize... I give this a maximum rating!
Page 6 of 10