The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2009-07-17
Reviews: 1
In my opinion this is the best gallery for Joomla!
Easy to install and customize... I give this a maximum rating!
2009-07-15
Reviews: 7
Looks as if it should do everything I need and everybody else seems to be marking it highly (always assuming they are not sock-puppets), but gave up in frustration as I could not get it to work.

The main problem is there seems to be no documentation at all and no replies in their forum (except from other users).

Might be good for you if you have the time and patience to figure it out. I don't. There are fully-documented alternatives out there.
2009-07-11
Reviews: 1
If you are looking for an image gallery that will allow you to define subcategories within your gallery, and do batch upload of a large number of images without any problems, prevent the right click save as so people cant save your images, as well a million other configurable display options this is the best image gallery by far. I was building a professional photographer website with 200 - 300 photos per category and needed something to upload the photo collections quickly and effortlessly, the main thing too was that I could show the photographer how to do the uploads himself. I tested 5 other image galleries and all of them had trouble with batch uploading, it was a nightmare. I am so glad I found this component, the guys have done a fantastic job it is a very well designed component and it works great!
2009-07-10
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best component. It gives you complete control of your gallery.

good job guys :)

thanks
2009-07-10
Reviews: 1
First rating I've ever given as excellent. I've been using and testing this component from the beta stages on a live site. Better than most i've galleries out there by miles. Thumbs up guys. Don't give up. Lets kick menalto off the radar
2009-07-02
Reviews: 1
Thank you so much! I am a new hand of Joomla. I am building web site for my teacher an artist. I need a good gallery to show oil-painting. I found so much gallery.All of them are not very good. JoomGallery is the best one. Since I find it, our web site have some energy. That's the best gallery I found. I love Joomla and JoomGallery!^^
2009-06-28
Reviews: 1
Props to the guys who built this. Easy to install and customize.
2009-06-23
Reviews: 3
I was very excited when everything worked together as it should! :) The seamless integration with CB was most welcome and I was extremely impressed with the depth of control the administration side has. I didn't expect as much for the price tag!

Good job! I look forward to seeing future releases!
2009-06-22
Reviews: 16
Had to play with the css a bit to make it look right but all in all a wonderful extension with LOTS of functionality.
2009-06-18
Reviews: 3
Wow, most free gallery components do not have this granular level of control. I really enjoy using this component. Configuration made sense, and allows for granular control of user access and participation. Also uses EasyCaptcha and integrates with Community Builder, though I am not using it in my current implementation of JoomGallery.
This component is a REAL image gallery for Joomla! 1.5.

Thank you ever so much!
2009-06-15
Reviews: 1
The idea is great, and overall it looks good when implemented. I was able to change the look and feel without too much trouble.

One large bug: it won't let non-registered users view detail images, even when that choice is set to "yes" in the backend.

No support: Despite numerous requests, my questions on the JoomGallery forum have gone unanswered. And there doesn't seem to be any documentation, at least not in English.

Conclusion: This could be one of the very best Joomla! extensions if the bugs can be ironed out. Until then, just mediocre.
2009-06-05
Reviews: 4
This is a fantastic extension width a lot of features. It’s simple to configure and intuitive to use. The modules and the plugins are very useful and look nice in the website. The code is clean. In my opinion one thing is missing. A better image tagging system that allows user to navigate through tags freely.
Nice work. I will use this component and I will donate to “the cause” for sure.
Sorry my English
2009-06-03
Reviews: 2
Oh my god, so many congratulations, the best joomla photo gallery, with no doubts!!

I have searched for a gallery that fits my needs, then I follow a link to a gallery that I don´t recognize the name. When I viewed the features I decided to install, then I was stupid, so great, so many many many features and very configurable!

Another Joomgallery addicted :)

Cheers!
2009-05-22
Reviews: 3
This is the best free gallery for Joomla! but need some improvement.
There is not possible to attach the same picture to different categories. So, if you want one picture for example in 3 categories, you need to upload it 3 times. :(
Owner's reply

Thank you.
You have not to upload 3 times the same picture to refrence it in 3 categories. Have a look at Picture manager->New

2009-05-12
Reviews: 2
My sites are such that there is a central gallery with public categories and members-only categories. And users need a simple front-end mechanism for uploads, edits, and comments.

JoomGallery has been the answer since Day #1 when it was but a release candidate. Would a fancy Java-based front-end upload screen be nice? Sure. But the extension is free. And each user has access to a nice panel with all his or her photos that he or she can add descriptions and titles to later.

And JComments fits in real nicely.
2009-05-01
Reviews: 4
Installed flawlessly and up and running in no time. Easy to figure out and works perfect for me. Users can add/ edit photos no problem, all around fantastic extension.

Highly recommended.

Users that are complaining of IE6 woes (no problem here) fail to realize that IE6 is outdated and has been replaced... twice, by IE7 and now IE8. Any that are foolish enough to still be using IE6 are asking for considerable problems security wise and rendering websites correctly. I add an IE6 warning to my sites that explains the problem and links to update IE.
2009-04-29
Reviews: 1
I found this extension very easy to install and configure. I had a full featured gallery (with user uploads) in about 5 - 10 minutes.
2009-04-28
Reviews: 1
While the gallery is an excellent plugin the ie6 css problem slightly disappointing.
The fix I figured with the ja_purity template is to include a css selector and then

.ie6 .jg_row {
overflow:hidden;
height:auto;
width:99%;
margin:0em;
}

while with this fix there will be a little space on the right. IE6 tend to drop below the layers when it owerflows in with (even known it shouldnt, because 100% is just as it says, full width but not more than that)
2009-04-17
Reviews: 9
I have had JoomGallery for some time now. Overall yes it looks a nice extension. However, myself and several other users have expressed a problem with the detail view when viewed in Internet Explorer.
I have posted numerous times on the support forum, as have others, but this subject just gets ignored. Why? Is it a bug? Once again, a great looking extension ruined by support. I so wanted to give this five stars, but if a problem keeps cropping up, and it is ignored, that must say something. Sorry guys...
2009-04-16
Reviews: 3
Great work, great extension, but it's not supporting cyrilic... And I'm finding out that tooooooooo late!
Page 7 of 10