The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2009-04-15
Reviews: 3
This Gallery is everything it says it is on the box and more! The default demo link above doesn't do it justice! You can make it look however you want, and it integrates with the standard J1.5 Mootools library, so no conflicts with Joomla.

The configuration is a bit overwhelming when you click on it for the first time, but it just gives you so many options and layout, you can't ask for anything better! The upload is a breeze, and has several options including images in a zip, single images, a javascript upload as well as FTP upload that let's you choose the files in a category from a specified FTP folder on your server. There's custom titles and descriptions as well as options for voting and comments! Or turn it all off and make a clean thumbnail gallery with slimbox for a stripped down version that's easy on the eye!

I recently tried another free gallery component on a client's site, and I think I'm going to go back and switch to this one for him too! This thing just ROCKS!

I will definitely be keeping this one in the 'heavily used' folder of must have components!

Thanks so much to the developers for your time and commitment to making such a wonderful GPL component!

I love Joomla! And I just met JoomGallery, but I think I love it too! lol. Thanks again!
2009-04-10
Reviews: 1
I needed a simple gallery to enable users upload pictures. Tried Phoca but it's upload function didn't work.
Two minutes after installing JoomGallery the upload function is ready, WORKING.
Many thanks for the JGallery Team!!!
2009-04-01
Reviews: 30
I had very specific parameters for my Gallery, and I wondered if it was possible to do what I wanted. I needed it to allow user uploads, with a number of restrictions. JoomGallery blew me away! The configuration is so very detailed (and yet so very easy to do). Within a few minutes I had it all working, and tested, the way I wanted it. I work with a lot of scripts and software, but this one really amazed me. Very flexible, very easy, very attractive! If I could give JoomGallery more than five stars, I would.
2009-03-27
Reviews: 13
Ohh my god, I needed something fast, quick does and says everything I need. Its awesome. It does so much more then the others I dont know why this isnt higher up on the list.
Ne0
2009-03-21
Reviews: 1
Very good gallery!
The JAVA upload is great!

Thing I would like to see in a future update:
Resize of the original image (in filesize and pixels).
Search Engine Friendly urls.
Make the titles like Gallery and Category editable.

Thanks and keep up the good work!
2009-03-04
Reviews: 1
This is a very heavyweight gallery, many useful configurable options, and its core function (category based photo gallery)is achieved perfectly.

The only flaw I can see so far is customising the CSS. A category page calls 5 (!!) CSS files, and I've spent hours in Firebug trying to find out what calls what, and which sheet is over-riding the other.

Using the joom_local.css over-ride isn't ideal, so i've actually emptied every style sheet and put it in joom_local.css.

My view is that 1 long stylesheet is better than 5 short ones. Great work otherwise
Owner's reply

Thanks for your feedback! We plan to combine all stylesheets into one compact file for the next release. The joom_local.css file allows your adjustments to persist throughout updates, which might overwrite the default files.

2009-03-01
Reviews: 4
I used Gallery2 so far, outside Joomla, no integration with 1.5 (at least not one that actually works), but was not satisfied.

Along comes JoomGallery. There is room for improvement, nice-to-have-stuff. But it works, it looks smart, it integrates nicely with my CSS. I'm just happy and eager for it to come out of beta.

Support: I had a few itches, they got answered. I got one real problem, they answered immediately and solved the problem.
2009-02-28
Reviews: 4
This component met my expectations this is exactly what I needed for my non-profit site.

Some of the features I like.

It has comments system integrated for each picture.
It has a wide variety of options for your pictures.
Watermark really works on this component.
SEF friendly.
Compatible with CB
Easy update through Control Panel.

I love it and I highly recommend it!


I can't wait to
2009-02-27
Reviews: 2
I give this a maximum rating.
Installed easily and did everything I wanted (well almost), one minor problem that I hope the forum will answer.
Bit difficult, not having a manual, but 30mins experimenting and I had my photo galler up and running nicely.
Well done on this gallery!
2009-02-20
Reviews: 5
Exactly what I needed, installed without a hitch.
2009-02-09
Reviews: 2
I'm running the 1.5 legacy version and wanted to update to 1.5 native. Avoid the update version from until the kinks are worked out. The update totally hosed my gallery. Luckily I only had a couple hours of time invested in it but still...

Support is lacking. Legitimate questions posted to their support forum get read but unanswered.

Even so I'll start over and give the 1.5 native version a try. I liked the first install that much.
Owner's reply

From your review it sounds as if you tried to upgrade a JoomGallery 1.0 to the new JoomGallery 1.5 RC. We explicitly warned not to do so in the download and upgrade instructions. An upgrade will be possible once JoomGallery 1.5 (stable) is out.

2009-02-06
Reviews: 1
1.5 component is quite good but cb plugin isn't working now. these types of galleries are nothing without cb integration, you must reaach the gallery owners profile from gallery pages and reach the galleries of the person from his profile via versa. this is the biggest lack of this component. Also avatars of commenters could be nice
Owner's reply

1.5 Beta is a development version not intended for production use. If you rely on the CB plugin, use the stable 1.0 version. The next release of the 1.5 branch will support the CB plugin.

2009-02-03
Reviews: 2
I grabbed this extension a few days ago and must say I am quite pleased. Installs without a hitch and looks great "out of the box." There are a LOT of configuration settings, but I think that is a good thing, it allows you to tailor your gallery to your needs. In fact, I would like to see more. Easily able to edit css from backend and usercontrol seems pretty straightforward. I have yet to find an error, although it is still a new install. I have not tried any external links, saw some complaints about that. I rate this above RSGallery2, Gallery2 bridge, and most of the other galleries that are currently available for Joomla 1.5.
2009-01-24
Reviews: 10
No hitches with instalation. Works well. No need to register (that really irritates me because I do not want to be registered on so many sites!). Thanks guys.
2009-01-21
Reviews: 7
Can't add url (to link to an external website) for an image.
Can't upload images through public url, only can do from local machine.
No custom fields
2009-01-21
Reviews: 7
I have been using this for ten minutes and already see that it is far superior to morfeo show. I love that it is simple to make galleries visible to registered guests only and the bulk upload feature is a real asset. I cant wait to install cool iris!!
2009-01-16
Reviews: 2
Hi, great thing for Joomla.
The only thing I can't figure out is, how to upload from the frontend?!
Owner's reply

You need to enable Frontend User access and enable at least one category for user uploads - it's just two clicks away!

2009-01-13
Reviews: 10
Hi..I have used the extension and it is very useful. Just what i was searching for since long, very easy to implement and great results..!!!

Good work.
2009-01-11
Reviews: 52
I have gone through a lot of galleries on Joomla looking for the right one. I tried to like Phoca but could never figure fully figure out the process for creating user uploads areas.

With Joomgallery, it was a breeze and now it even has Piclens support!

Keep up the great work!
2009-01-09
Reviews: 1
Pros:
- Very clean design
- Easy to upload photographs
- Easy gallery setup and structure

Cons:
- CSS modification not easy and time consuming
- Frontend gallery layout poorly designed and could benefit from addition of tables or more advanced CSS - lots of thumbnails out of alignment in category page
- No option for square thumbnails
- Comment tags in Php/Html are in German - difficult to understand if not a german speaker

Overall:
Not as polished or powerful as Gallery or Coppermine, but bridges much more easily to Joomla than either of the previous two (Gallery Bridge is woeful). This has lots of potential and look forward to further updates.
Page 8 of 10