The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomGallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

JoomGallery is a gallery component completely integrated into Joomla!, with support for Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 2.5.

Features include, but are not limited to:

- Three image sizes: Thumbnails - Detail images - Original images (thumbnails and detail images are created automatically out of the original images)

- Fullscreen animated JavaScript boxes (Slimbox or Thickbox3), other possibilities of opening the detail or original images may be: A clear new window, JavaScript window, DHTML container or any other method added by additional plugins (there are already some available for Shadowbox, Highslide JS and RokBox)

- Manifold possibilities in the detail view: Voting, commenting, BBCode for external linking, "Send to a friend" feature, adding nametags ("That’s me!" and also adding nametags for other users), Slideshow with several transition effects, mini thumbnails of category in a motion gallery

- Configurable watermark

- Exif and IPTC image data support

- Access rights for categories according to Joomla's user groups

- Fully implemented ACL of Joomla! 2.5.x

- User-created uploads and categories

- Password-protected categories

- Time span for upload limit in frontend

- Favourites: Users may store and download their favourite images (in a zip archive)

- Option to download single images

- Counting image downloads

- Cooliris support

- Google Maps support (GeoTagging)

- Search function in gallery

- Configurable view of toplists (top rated, last added, last commented, most viewed)

- Possibility to exclude images from toplists and the search

- Several upload possibilities from backend and frontend: Single upload, Batch upload (Zip), Drag'n'Drop-Upload with progress bar, Java upload, FTP upload (last one only in backend)

- Image processing using GD, GD2 or ImageMagick

- Afterwards resizing of detail images and thumbnails

- Square thumbnails possible

- Possibility of using content plugins in image and category descriptions

- Possibility to explicitly reject images and to send message about rejection reason

- Expand Joomla-Breadcrumbs

- Unlimited nested categories possible

- CSS-based layout (table-free, wherever possible)

- MVC structured code, template overrides possible for every view

- Module positions inside the gallery

- Several plugin events triggered by JoomGallery on certain events in order to interact with third-party extensions

- An interface class (API) gives other extensions (Plugins, Modules, ...) the possibility to integrate JoomGallery content

- Huge third-party support: There are JoomGallery extensions available for many third-party extensions: Community Builder, Community Builder Enhanced, JomSocial, Kunena, AlphaUserPoints, JComments, JomComment, XMap, sh404SEF, Artio JoomSEF, SEFAdvanced, JoomFish, reCaptcha.

- Plugins for displaying or linking images in content articles or for automatically creating user categories

- Update-Checker and

Report Extension

 

 

2008-12-17
Reviews: 1
Everything I have read tells me this is the program for me! I can't however get the user galleries tab to work. When I click on it I get this

Error: No config file of supported galleries found. Is the component Ponygallery or Joomgallery installed?

I have tired to get support from the forum but no luck (
Owner's reply

You are using the wrong version of GalleryTab. Try the newest one from our web site, that works fine with JoomGallery 1.0.

Support for 1.5 is coming soon.

2008-12-12
Reviews: 8
Well! Im shocked!! Really.

Ive tried too many galleries in the last days (or weeks)and spend so much time trying to find solutions for bugs.. and ways to add more features for my needs!

This wasnt possible so the only solution was to try even more till the end ;)

Went for JoomGallery.

Installed in a minute!!
Set in 10 minutes! (there are really too many options in the settings area and this is very very good as you can config anything you want in a very simple way)

After config you are ready to go!
No hacks, no messing up with the code, nothing!!!

Clean CSS, clean fronted 'look', votes, comments, email to a friend, share to forums etc are only some of the features.

I cant believe that what i tested is a beta . I mean what will the main version have more? (i cant think of anything)

Also i cant understand why this component is not on the top of the galleries list! It is not fair.

A big thank to the developers with much love and respect!
I made my job as i wanted to (and more) safely, fast, steady, free with no problems at all.

Hope this site to give me some money ... then Joomgal will be the first on my donation list! Absolutely!
2008-12-12
Reviews: 8
This component is great! No registration required to download, worked first time I attmepted to install it and you would not believe the intuitive, well thought-out options! Everything you could want with a price that you can't beat!!
2008-11-28
Reviews: 1
The features of this extension are great, and it is a very sleak interface. However, it is missing two features that keep me from rating it higher - you can not change a picture's category without deleting it and re loading it. The second missing feature is that you can only load pics individually from the front end.
Owner's reply

The first features is already available, even for multiple images at the same time! Just mark them and click "move" in the picture manager!

About the second: You can upload multiple pictures at once from the Frontend, if you set this up in the backend (with the same description / title).

2008-11-24
Reviews: 2
Without doubt, by far the best photo gallery on offer for Joomla users. Plenty of configuration options to really fine tune things. Individual galleries can be shown/hid according to user status and the user panel allows your visitors to upload, comment and rate etc. Thumbnails, regular and detailed image sizes can all be set. Upload options include multi-image, ftp and .zip batch. Quick and easy to install (note, system-legacy plugin needs to be active).
It would be nice to be able to run the detailed images as a slideshow as well as regular images (currently only previous and next buttons are available). Also the ability to add/edit image info from the front end would be helpful.
2008-11-21
Reviews: 1
If you need user created galleries and image uploads from the front end, this is really your only choice period. Yes, there are gallery extensions that are a little more visually impressive but they often lack the community upload capability.

Users can leave comments, rate images, add nametags, copy/paste the image location into other content areas like forums, etc and yes, the slide show looks pretty good too.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it other than the fact that IE6 and lower doesn't work too well.
2008-11-15
Reviews: 2
Has Everything I was looking for in a gallery component and tons more!

Tons of options and super easy to install and configure!
2008-11-01
Reviews: 1
Why isn't this an editor's pick? It's phenomenal! I had some pretty extreme requirements for a Photo Gallery, and expected to have to modify an existing GPL'ed gallery to achieve the functionality I need. I was wrong! This does everything I could ever ask for and more!
2008-10-19
Reviews: 3
Have tried the main gallery components and chose this one for the following reasons -


1. Easy to set up and really nice aesthetic layout (plenty of options to play around with)

2. Several modal window viewing options

2. No bugs so far and its still a beta version!

3. Multi-user gallery and categories with rating and voting

4. Good module support

5. Excellent CB integration with no need for a separate profile gallery

6. Good support forums with quick responses

Obviously not in the Flickr league but the closest thing to it ... and the best part is its free

Thanks!

Philip
edk
2008-10-05
Reviews: 3
Great gallery! I use CB 1.1 and the gallery just plugged straight in. Lets your users see all their image contributions in their own control panel, and plugs straight into the CB profiles.
2008-09-22
Reviews: 9
Nothing to say more. Just try this excellent extension.
2008-09-11
Reviews: 19
Just plain and simple, the best gallery for Joomla. I was looking for an integrated gallery to let registered members create and maintain their own galleries and let's just say that this one worked right out of the box! ;) Many settings in the backend, cb integration, stats mod and the images mod (also with a wide range of settings) just make this the best solution for my needs. As for support, I can't comment on this as I haven't needed any yet but taking a look at the forums most of the posts were answered within a matter of hours. Great component guy's. Thanks for this one and keep up the good work!
2008-09-08
Reviews: 8
Even though this component is still in the beta phase, it is still far superior to most of the other galleries out there. I've tried just about all of them. While some of them lack the frontend functionality, others lack the ease of use and finesse that JoomGallery has.The frontend screams professional, with its slick look and clean interface.
Uploading photos, and creating galleries (categories) couldn't be easier! I've been using the latest beta for about 30 days and haven't hit any snags yet!

Keep up the excellent work guy!
2008-08-21
Reviews: 4
best gallery component in joomla.

Best Regards.
2008-07-25
Reviews: 5
It's great to see Pony Gallery live in Joomla 1.5, the best gallery for 1.0 so far. I wasn't satified with the galleries available for Joomla 1.5, and i was hoping someone gets the PG ML proyect back to life and for the latest J! version, so these are great news. I hope the project keeps updated with new features and switch to a native Joomla 1.5 component. Congratulations to the Joomgallery team!
Page 9 of 9