- This extension requires registration to download.
- Ability to sell photos directly from the gallery via PayPal
- Ability to translate title/description of categories/images directly from a component "Good-bye Joomfish, hello native language translator!"
- Unlimited categories/subcategories
- Joomla! ACL support
- Members categories (users can create their own categories in front-end)
- Custom color management
- Auto meta generator
- Jomsocial Integration
- Jomsocial avatar support
- Community builder avatar support
- Kunena avatar support
- Gravatar support
- EXIF support
- IPTC/XMP support
- SEF URL's Advanced (Native)
- Social Bookmarking
- Block by IP
- Rating by IP
- Organization of competitions
- Email notifications
- Recommendation to email
- Search by image author, name and description
- Image downloads (Original and different resolutions)
- User front-end uploads
- Multiple front-end uploads
- Multiple back-end uploads
- Chunked uploads front-end / back-end
- Back-end batch FTP import
- Multilingual support and more...
The one caveat that needs to be addressed before I go into detail is that this extension is probably best for the following users: 1. People who have a decent understanding of styling if you want to make it one of a kind. This can be said for ANY large gallery component, most of which (e.g. Phoca, JoomGallery, etc.) terribly ugly styling out of the box. 2. People who want to integrate their gallery w/ JomSocial, Kunena, or Community Builder.
If you meet these two criteria, then this component is second to none.
The uploading is fast and flawless. It is handled automatically based upon the user's browser compatibility. It will use Google Gears, HTML5, or Flash. You can also batch import by zipping a whole directory of images, and uploading to FTP (which, is SIGNIFICANTLY faster than just dragging those files and having them upload individually, as FTP is suited for larger/fewer files)
The back-end is much simpler than other galleries.
Nested Categories, many sorting options, category access restrictions, upload restrictions, etc.
Picture management is great. The structure is similar to Phoca/Joom, but the image previews are shown onmouseover, which makes for a more pleasing management IMO. Thumbnails, and different image sizes are generated seamlessly without you ever knowing, and there is never corruption or memory errors. This in stark contrast to Joom/Phoca. Pictures can be sorted in many ways: by category, # of hits, # of downloads, rating, order, date, status, price, etc.
Fantastic and simple integrated comment system! Comments can be managed via the backend easily.
Ability to vote on images, save them a favorites, download them at full resolution, edit (for uploader/admin). All of this is customizable.
Original images can be protected by .htaccess (good for people who aren't familiar w/ this). Can be downloaded w/ watermark, or can be sold.
Built in sales! I haven't tested this functionality, but I will soon be deploying this on a client's site (it's 95% finished), but even the fact that it exists is a big plus. Options like this usually have to custom built or at least custom adapted.
Several useful modules included. Ultimate module allows many display options. The new slideshow module is not living up to its potential, but it has a lot of promise.
Active development. This component is being actively developed. New versions and features seem to be added at an impressive rate.
Competitively priced. For the site I am implementing this on, I originally tried SimGallery. While SimGallery is great code, it doesn't have many of the features that I needed, especially the ability of users to upload into a series of set categories. SimGallery is basically a knock-off of Facebook's photo sharing. Albums have no categorization nor the ability to do so. SG is also NOT GPL in any way. It's ionCubed, which is a pain (it's also why you don't see it on joomla.org). So it does less, it's more restrictive and it costs more.
The new (1.9) templating system is a big addition. Although I developed a custom template before this upgrade, I wish I hadn't. This update changed many of the elements, separated all the core elements into a base CSS, and broke off all the main styling attributes to a separate stylesheet. This is a better use of styling, but more importantly, it allows for much easier creation of custom themes.
The claim that this component cannot be styled is demonstrably false, and I can only assume that the user who posted this simply does not possess the knowledge to do so. I created a fully custom dark/semi-transparent theme for every aspect of this component in about a day.
Now some cons.
First, most of it is table-based. This is not divergent from other galleries, and the reasons are obvious. Dealing w/ positioning things like a large custom grid of pictures and text is very challenging w/ div-based setups, especially if it has to be dynamically controlled. I don't take off points for this.
A really stellar component should have a class or id on nearly every element, and this component leaves a number of them out. The solution is to wade through the PHP and add your own element ids/classes to allow for better styling control. Some things use inline styling, which, obviously is not good practice.
On the comments page there is built-in functionality to click on the image-submitter's name/avatar and go to their Kunena (via backend setting) or JomSocial (default) profile. Strangely, although there is a nice CB plugin to show the user's uploads (My Gallery tab), there is no built-in functionality for it to link to the user's CB profile from Datso Gallery. This effectively makes Datso a one-way street w/ CB. You can get from a user's profile to their images, and then to datso, but you can't browse datso, and get to the CB profile.
I am in the process of modifying/coding this, but it should be a built-in function, without a doubt.
The only thing SimGallery has on Datso is Ajax. The Datso experience, especially on the details page, would be stunningly seamless with the addition of ajax browsing.
The slideshow module that was just release is poor. There are plenty of models out there to build a slideshow on, and I can only assume that this (being just released) is in a budding stage of development.
In summary, this gallery has a ton to offer, and the polish and feature-set continues to grow. I have deep experience w/ many galleries, and this one is by far the best for a social experience.
What isn't clear about this product is that any customisation is not accessible as the template and style sheet is not editable on your own host. The downloaded product is just the coding.
The latest version 1.9 allows backend multply choice to change colours but that is ALL.
Support for the product is near none exist and difficult to get. No forum, no ticketing system, only email.
Its a great native joomla gallery, but if you are interested in templating it or customising it then you'll be quite disappointed as it is not possible.
However if your happy with the general greys and white then its perfect for a site that just wants hassle free photo management.
Thank you for your review, but with some things, I must disagree with you. Customer support was, is and will be. Most of the customers are very satisfied with the support and products, and you say the opposite.
Probably you have never treated to Support Center at Datso.fr, based on ticketing system and/or you do not know about its existence, or are you referring to the support via email, that is ignored. So please, do not mislead others regarding support, because it is not true.
Mr. Andrey Datso should consider 'Resolution/sizes' in the next coming-up versions of Datso Gallery. I'm looking forward to it. It will be very useful for a photo(stock)/wallpaper/Poster sites and it will boost the sales. Thanks. =)
My main reason for choosing this gallery over some of the others out there was the uploading interface - it's nice and simple but has some powerful features (like uploading a single zip file full of images) and can be used from both frontend and backend.
The support I have received has been great with my questions being answered well within 24 hours - I even received a reply with an updated file on Christmas Day (not sure if developer celebrates though).
The main con for me is that it is hard to template with the design buried inside the code but the developer has assured me this is being addressed in an upcoming release.
There are lots of other features that I have requested - tags, person tagging, google maps, custom fields etc which would benefit me and probably some others but the basics are there which is the main thing.
Moving album categories is a basic function which should be working as promised in the initial delivery of the software. The developer has a responsibility to deliver a fully functional and working copy of the software on delivery.
You paid for a subscription to premium account for one month, which include the following:
- 30 days full access to download commercial products and updates, if they are released during your active subscription
- 30 days access to the center of the individual customer support based on ticket system (24/24 & 7/7)
- lifetime license to use all downloaded products without restrictions to domains
All above listed for 20 euros only. Is it really so expensive?
My English is very bad, so I use all tools available to me to clear out with customer to ensure he remained satisfied with the products and support. To give an answer to one question, I takes an average of 15-30 minutes, because the translation tools are not perfect, like everything else in our lives and I need to make additional adjustments to the translations that the client was able to understand what I say. I hope you understand now that this is a difficult and I want to receive compensation for my work. For this reason, dear, I say to you via email, that you should renew your expired subscription to get support, as well as dowload new products again.
Let me remind you, you had 30 days to identify problems in the products, though, mainly because of problems in different servers settings. You have asked a questions and I solved it for you via ftp that you gave me to not bother you.
In short, yesterday you wrote a second letter and I, having access to your FTP, corrected SQL query in the corresponding function. Immediately after, I answered to you.
It's a very simple to use and the upload-functionality is very great. It has all, what good gallery nees.
But still, there are some little useful things missed, like menu-functionality to set up menu-links to every gallery and the use of the itemid for active menu-highligtening. Some seo-optimization. Template-based modeling.
The support is very fast and proffesional.
Then I found DatsoGallery.
This gallery and its modules have a clean, elegant and easy to use layout. It's updated often, and is constantly improving and adding new features. Plus, I use this on more than one website and, so far, it's liked all of my templates.
Currently, the only front end function that it is missing is user album creation (which must be done in the back end). However, Andrey Datso has assured me that this will be implemented in the future as the component is made to be fully MVC compliant.
Anyone who says this component lacks support clearly hasn't used the system in place. Submit any issues that you have on the DatsoGallery website through a simple contact form. I've rarely ever had to wait more than one day for a response. And if you think about it, that is a faster turnaround time than getting a reply on a support forum for a free product. Plus, any bug reports I've submitted have often resulted in a new release within that very same week (as opposed to what usually happens, someone gives you a snippet of code and expects you to patch it yourself).
My latest experience, which prompted me to post this review, was a DatsoGallery navigation issue. But in reality, the problem was with my site template. Andrey made a fix to my template the very next day and the problem was solved. Not many devs will go to such lengths to make sure that their customers are happy. Most will tell you that if it's your template, it's your problem. But that's not the case here.
DatsoGallery is a paid component, but the price is reasonable and you actually get good customer service. I see myself using this gallery for a very long time.
From my personal experience the support isn't well and isn't responsive, way to expensive and unfortunately you just can't publish these days a commercial component and don't do effort for your customers.
I recommend checking Phoca, ignite or JoomGallery.