The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


mavik Thumbnails Popular Plugin

Editor's Note
  • The additional script Highslide JS is not free for commercial use
Simple plugin for automatic creation thumbnails. You need only insert original image to article and resize to necessary size.

Features:
- create thumbnail and replace original image to thumbnail;
- add link for pop-up window: Slimbox, Highslide (for non-commercial sites - http://highslide.com/#licence) or Joomla Modal;
- add link to full text for blogs and frontpage (Compatible with: native Content, MyBlog, IdoBlogFree. It's easy create adapters for others components.);
- default sizes for full text and for blogs (and frontpage);
- proportions: keep aspect ratio, cut to fit, keep area, stretch;
- include/exclude images with the specified classes;
- works with remote images;
- show magnifying glass (image or cursor) at thumbnails;
- compatible with Mootools 1.1 and 1.2;
- compatible with Joomla 1.5 and 1.6.

Languages: English, Germany (Alexander Bredo), Russian, Ukrainian, France, Serbian (Latin and Cyrillic, Nikola Arezina), Bulgarian (Alexandr Sidorov), Turkish (Burak Güner), Spanish and Catalan (lluis Jaime López), Greek (George Betsis), Estonian (Rivo Zängov), Italian, Polish (Paweł Zaremba).

Requires: PHP5, GD2.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

ilw
2009-11-04
Reviews: 1
It addresses one of the main joomla lacks of image inside content clickable without of doing it manually.

The support from the developer its excellent and he sent me special version within hours upon my request!

Great Job!
2009-10-28
Reviews: 1
This is a really great extension!

Thanks for uploading it!

This is one of the few extensions that adds nice 2.0 visual effects without affecting usability.
And, of course, it is extremely useful too.
2009-10-28
Reviews: 1
100% recommend extension and also developer. I had a little problem, answer was fast, easy and helpful. Thank you
A.
2009-10-25
Reviews: 1
Great extension. I save me a lots of time in inserting images into my article. And great support too. He responses to me quite quick.
2009-10-21
Reviews: 1
When I create a smailler image with this plugin and after that I save the page, I have a problem. The changed page blanco. HELP!
Owner's reply

What is "page blanco"? Write me by e-mail.

2009-10-21
Reviews: 3
I'm soooooo happy! It really worked!
The only problem I had was it gave me the error (mavikthumbnails.php line 256...) when I uploaded a big size image (taken with SLR camera). So I have to resize it first with photoshop.

Gazillion thanks!
2009-10-19
Reviews: 1
After trying to implement a half dozen extensions for thumbnail use, Mavik was my final stop. It is easy to implement and will provide great image enlargement. No need for extra code! This should be your first stop for blog images.
2009-10-15
Reviews: 18
Very easy to use, does what it says. Up'n running in no time. Thanks :-)
2009-10-15
Reviews: 1
It does exactly what I needed. It sould be integrated in joomla core, as I don't understand what website could allow himself to use large image with small width and height attributes.
2009-10-08
Reviews: 7
It worked immediately and is perfect for allowing quick and easy adjustment to the size of thumbnails and then zooming as required. This is definitely a 'should try first' extension. Pity the demo button takes you to the website which is in Russian; I couldn't figure out where or what I should be clicking to see the demo in action and was initially reluctant to use it!
2009-10-06
Reviews: 1
This is the BEST Extension I ever seen.

Just one thing. I link a lot of external images and it very slow, I think, because it will load all image to check width and height before check existing thumb img.
If possible can it check (isexist)thumb cache image before load external images by using _attribute name, width and height.
It will solve very slow from very larg external images.
Owner's reply

I know about this problem. It will fixed in future versions. Now you can uncomment fragment from line 169 to 183. And create directory "remote" in directory with thumbnails.

2009-09-29
Reviews: 3
This does exactly what it says right out of the box and looks and works great on the front end. After enabling the plug-in, activating it is as easy as grabbing the corner of an image (on the back-end) and resizing it slightly. That's all there is to it!

I did a page load comparison without the plug-in, and with each of the 3 choices of pop-up boxes. Assuming a 56k connection, enabling slimbox added 2 more seconds, and Joomla modal added 5 more seconds. However enabling Highslide added 19 seconds to the page load time. (Highslide only added 3 seconds of load time for a T1 connection).

Although different web pages will vary in these results, this comparison should help you when making those all important decisions between aesthetics and load times.

This is one of those great products which should satisfy the needs of both the experienced and novice Joomla user.
2009-09-24
Reviews: 2
This is a really great extension. It does exactly what it promises without long configurations.
It is easy to install and very reliable.

Thanks for very quick and helpfull support.
2009-09-18
Reviews: 2
I needed it quick ... and this is as quick and easy as it gets. A top notch tool.
2009-09-15
Reviews: 1
I like this extension a lot, the only thing I am missing is automatic JS resizing of the Slimbox. Besides that, great plugin.
2009-09-15
Reviews: 1
This is a plugin you'd really expect to be a core feature in Joomla. Highly useful.

One thing I find missing though is ability to do simple direct linking to the source image, or plain pop-up without any of the flash/javascript gimmickry, which I generally find quite annoying.

As quick hack you can comment out addheader function from modal.php file and use joomla modal as pop-up method.
2009-09-01
Reviews: 1
I love this Plugin. It has been no difficult to set it up. It's very easy to use. It works like I expected it to work. Only one little thing is not working on my side. The thumbnails are not created automatically. If I do it manually it's all perfect. Maybe any Solutions to that.
2009-08-24
Reviews: 1
Simple, works, easy to use and does exactly what it says on the tin.
2009-08-20
Reviews: 8
I also created account to be able to vote for this extension, and for the rest I also completely agree with previous review:

"Excellent, simple, elegant .... I am not finding word to describe this extension.... I created account just to write review about this ....
Its simple simple...
Just add image, resize it and that's it you are done.... no issue at all ....
A Must Have Extension For Joomla Users.... I Recommend It For Default Joomla Extension simply superb guys, don't think, just download it.
2009-08-19
Reviews: 1
Excellent, simple, elegant .... I am not finding word to describe this extension.... I created account just to write review about this ....

Its simple simple...
Just add image, resize it and that's it you are done.... no issue at all ....
A Must Have Extension For Joomla Users.... I Recommend It For Default Joomla Extension simply superb guys, don't think, just download it.
Page 5 of 8