The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


mavik Thumbnails Popular Plugin

Editor's Note
  • The additional script Highslide JS is not free for commercial use
Simple plugin for automatic creation thumbnails. You need only insert original image to article and resize to necessary size.

Features:
- create thumbnail and replace original image to thumbnail;
- add link for pop-up window: Slimbox, Highslide (for non-commercial sites - http://highslide.com/#licence) or Joomla Modal;
- add link to full text for blogs and frontpage (Compatible with: native Content, MyBlog, IdoBlogFree. It's easy create adapters for others components.);
- default sizes for full text and for blogs (and frontpage);
- proportions: keep aspect ratio, cut to fit, keep area, stretch;
- include/exclude images with the specified classes;
- works with remote images;
- show magnifying glass (image or cursor) at thumbnails;
- compatible with Mootools 1.1 and 1.2;
- compatible with Joomla 1.5 and 1.6.

Languages: English, Germany (Alexander Bredo), Russian, Ukrainian, France, Serbian (Latin and Cyrillic, Nikola Arezina), Bulgarian (Alexandr Sidorov), Turkish (Burak Güner), Spanish and Catalan (lluis Jaime López), Greek (George Betsis), Estonian (Rivo Zängov), Italian, Polish (Paweł Zaremba).

Requires: PHP5, GD2.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-11-19
Reviews: 5
So very easy, I even have my end users creating their own lightbox images! I have always had to have my users upload their images then tell me and I would encode them. This you just upload and insert image, then size the thumbnail. Major time saver.

My own wish is to stop it from interfering with the Google Maps plugin.
2008-11-19
Reviews: 16
This plugin is superb. I had no issues using it. If you already have rel"lightbox" it will use those. It reads and displays "captions" if you have any set when inserting your images.

Note: This is only for individual images, I have yet to figure out an easy way to make a gallery from it.
2008-11-14
Reviews: 5
Excellent plugin, the kind I was looking for quite some time!

Another review mentioned conflict with some photo gallery - well, I'm using Morfeo show gallery - no hiccups there at all.

Keep up the good work!
2008-11-09
Reviews: 101
I can't believe that this small plugin (only 17KB) can do such a fantastic job!

It offers another feature for thumbnails generating, since we can set different size for each single thumbnail.

Thanks to the author.
2008-10-31
Reviews: 3
If your images have then extension in uppercase, for example image.JPG instead of image.jpg, then, the plugin doesn't work.
To solve this, you need to change 2 lines of code in the plugin.

You need to open the file /plugins/content/mavikthumbnails.php with the eXtplorer, and modify the lines 169 and 189, this is the code that you need to change:

switch ($ext)
change to
switch (strtolower($ext))

then save and then bug was solved!

Thanks to share!!!
Owner's reply

Thanks, it's fixed in current version.

2008-10-27
Reviews: 1
I just have to comment... So simple and so elegant!! I've been searcing for this plugin for long, long... It's so elegant that it should be incorporated into Joomla core.

Since there is no user interaction to make the plugin work I don't know if this suggestion is possible to implement, but anyway: It would be really perfect if the article author could choose that no link shall be created at all, only the thumbnail.

Btw: I use FCKeditor and it works perfect.
2008-10-27
Reviews: 2
Vitaliy has produced an excellent plugin that does what it is supposed to do. What more needs to be said except, "Thanks"!
dch
2008-10-26
Reviews: 1
That´s a fantastic plugin but I can´t use it on one side, because the plugin is making trouble, when I use the Gallery2 Image Chooser Plugin for the JCE. When I put a thumbnail as a link to my G2 album and the mavik thumbnails is active, the article doesn´t work.
2008-10-25
Reviews: 3
This extension is amazing !!! It's very easy to use. I have noticed that while resizing the big picture, it does not keep aspect ratio. I hope the developer will add this feature in the future version.
2008-10-23
Reviews: 4
... but it appears to conflict with the YooGallery plugin so I can't use it on the site I wanted to. Top marks for this though if you're not using YooGallery, very easy to install and use. Am sure this will be a VERY popular plugin.
2008-10-21
Reviews: 1
Install and publish plugin... when you insert the images in your article (or content) select the displayed size (example 150 x 150). This plugin in automatic create a image's thumbnail with size selected, and link this thumb at your original images!!!

Independent by editors (work perfect in JCE) !!!

For standard user this is a marvelous plugin!!! No more attention at image size...
2008-10-19
Reviews: 4
Flawless. Couldn't be easier to implement. Works well in both Slimbox and Joomla Modal. Thanks!
2008-10-19
Reviews: 1
Great plugin! No doubt about it. Just installed it and it actually works just fine. Not much to configure.
I would appreciate some more scripts for diffrent frameworks, maybe something for Prototype, and a version with comments in English, but still this the best Article Image extension that I know of.

Thank you!
2008-10-19
Reviews: 1
I've registered just to say how much I apreciate this plugin.
It's a must have.
2008-10-18
Reviews: 6
Just what I was waiting! Easy to install and easy to use, it does it everything on it's own! Thank you very much for this!
Page 8 of 8