The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


BK-MultiThumb Plugin

BK-Thumb is a multi-purpose image plugin for Joomla that can automatically create thumbnails and popups of the original images, as well as resize the full-size images or add a watermark to them. It can even scramble the images names so that people cannot guess their original non-watermark locations.

For articles shown in blog mode, it can create a link from the first image to the full article for better user navigation.

It can also create a simple photo gallery from any folder by just including one of the images from the folder and give it the description (alt text) "mt_gallery" (or using the new tagging feature).

See the examples and how-to's below for inspiration and instructions!

Please note that when you use BK-Thumb for the first time on a given page, the server has to process all the images which might take quite some time. The same applies when you clear BK-Thumb's cache.

For upgrade install a new version without uninstalling the previous one.

Release 2.5.0:
iLoad gallery
prettyPhoto slideshow
Image grouping for slideshow
Resizing images to user defined size
More watermarking control
Gallery image caption control
Leading images size

Release 2.4.3:
Shadowbox support was added.
thickbox no more supported.
prettyPhoto support was added.
Configuration for blogs and articles was separated.
Transparent color support was added.
Support image type of generated images was added.
IPTC Caption support was added.
Slimbox, prettyPhoto and ShadowBox full control was added.
Watermark article category parameter was added.
Bug fixing.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-01-31
Reviews: 6
This is one of those must-have pluggins, I use it on all my joomla sites. It is very versatile, though there is a learning curve with all the options it offers. It does everything it says it does.

I have only one request for the developer... can you make a version for j1.6? Preety please.
2010-11-13
Reviews: 8
The author really thought of just about everything when developing this plugin. It solves a multitude of problems faced when trying to manage images on a Joomla! web site. It's easy to enable to disable features by category, to change the styling and even to control how images are watermarked. On a scale of 1 to 5, this gets a 10!
2010-08-25
Reviews: 4
This extension is excellent and it is free, but pls next time also put a previous and next button, or menu where user have option to choose what news/articles he or she like to view again or skip.

Keep up the good work!
2010-08-04
Reviews: 2
Fantastic application because it works perfectly and it's more customizable than others plugins. Thanks a lot
2010-07-27
Reviews: 8
I was going to use a CCK just to get all my images to have thumbnails and popups.... but this simple yet powerful plugin does what I need, perfectly.

The developer is easy to get in contact with via his forum and is very professional and knowledgable.

The plugin is constantly being updated with minor fixes and tweaks. I posted on his forum and within 1 day it evolved into a "feature request" and finally an update to the plugin. It now works with FJ related extensions.
2010-07-13
Reviews: 2
Setup was simple, intuitive and fast. Solved my needs with a professional output - highly recommend this plugin.
2010-06-23
Reviews: 1
Finaly it works with firefox. Thanks
2010-06-08
Reviews: 1
Congratulations guy, that is an excellent plugin, exactly the way I was needing. Thanks a bunch!
2010-05-19
Reviews: 9
This plugin makes working with pictures so easy! Good alternative to Fboxbot - another great image resizing plugin.
2010-05-08
Reviews: 1
I specially registered to leave a comment for this plugin, because this really the best! You forget forever about the need to scale images, the need for watermarks, manualy choosing popups, and much more very useful pics ops. You can even choose separate autoresizing for blog format and showing full articles. You do not even need to have a separate gallery plugin, because BK-thumb can do that such as many other things.
"Must have" staff, no doubt. Very thanks for that!
2010-04-19
Reviews: 2
Hi,
after trying some other plugins to insert images in my articles, I've found BK-Multithumb withs is doing exactly what I wanted...
Easy to install, easy to configure, easy to use...

Thanks a lot!
2010-02-10
Reviews: 5
I was looking for something like this for long time. but this was the only one work well without any obligation. Thanks to the Developer.
Cheers
2010-01-27
Reviews: 1
I love this for the reason that it supports external images, and not just those based directly from your site.
2009-12-29
Reviews: 54
Let me just sum it up in one sentence.
Simply the Best Joomla Article Image Plugin in my Book! Ability to make configurations to suit your needs is superb!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH AAAAAAAAA++++++++++++
2009-11-26
Reviews: 2
that is what i searched for... thank you very much...
2009-10-12
Reviews: 5
For months I've been searching a plugin that could do everything this plugin can. I'm really grateful for this tool. It's the best thumbnail/gallery/image crator/administrator ever made for joomla 1.5!!!

Congratulations for such an excellent job!
2009-10-09
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best image plugins for Joomla! 1.5 right now. It works great. It works right after installing. Its easy to use. The documentation is easy enough to understand and will have you using the plugin easily.

I've tried a bunch of other image plugins for Joomla! 1.5, this is the only plugin that didn't have problems generating thumbnails.

It has some flaws though. In my case, the Web Links and News Feeds components won't work with this plugin enabled. Its not that big a deal for me though, that's why this plugin still deserves 4 stars.
2009-09-15
Reviews: 4
I required the ability to have images with thumbnails, captions on the thumbnails and the images, and a simple gallery in content articles for a website I'm building.

Another important feature is the ability to set the size of thumbnails individually, and to control the setup of a gallery independent of the other image thumbnails in the article.

I started out looking for image extensions that worked with EasyImageCaption because that appeared to be the best way to get everything I needed. EasyImageCaption works great! But, I was having a problem finding an image extension that handled the thumbnailing and galleries the way I needed them handled.

After reviewing all that was available, in desperation, I decided to try BK-Thumb because it was the only extension I could find which met all of my requirements. -- Desperation because I needed the functionality, I couldn't find anything else, and BK-Thumb is a three-day old beta release.

Well, it turns out that BK-Thumb worked perfectly. The documentation is complete, helpful, and accurate. When I had a problem getting it to work, there was a statement in the documentation that said, "If you have a problem, try this first." I tried that solution and it worked!

A couple of comments:

1. It is much easier to get BK-Thumb working than it looks from the documentation.

2. Pay attention to the documentation and the excellent examples will lead you through setting it up.

3. I suggest that you start with the "Standard Pop-up" and once you have it installed and working, switch to the pop-up style you want. The popup libraries are dependent on your individual Joomla installation. In my case, the pop-up I chose was the ONLY one that didn't work without doing something special to make it work. Once I knew BK-Thumb was actually working, it about two minutes to get the pop-up I wanted to work. In fact, the instructions told me how to fix it.
Owner's reply

For the first we have to thank Martin Larsen for his excellent Multithumb that is base of BK-Thumb.

2009-09-14
Reviews: 3
Great to see this back. I've tried the others but always found issues like having to resize the image in the edit area first or having to use 3rd party captions but this fits the bill.

Some small issues I will email the developer about but otherwise great!
2009-09-14
Reviews: 1
In my opinion this was the best plugin to do that work by far!!!!!
Page 3 of 4