The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


showplus Popular Module

showplus is an eye-catching slideshow to display a set of images with user-defined transition between them. It is easy to get started with but offers a number of customization options for more advanced users.

showplus is powered by a slideshow script built entirely with the MooTools JavaScript framework that ships with Joomla, and uses no Flash technology. Having a showplus slideshow on a page incurs a footprint of about 30 Kb with only a single CSS file and a JavaScript file included in the page header. No jQuery or other libraries are imported, possibly leading to script conflicts.

Features:
* choose from six customizable transition types: fade, zoom, pan, Ken Burns effect, push, wipe
* attach captions to images with multilingual support using a labels file with fall-back to a default caption
* link each image to an arbitrary location
* order images according to filename or last modified time, shuffle images each time the page is shown, or specify custom order
* display horizontal or vertical navigation bar with small thumbnail images that allow for fast navigation
* set most important styles in the administration back-end

Required:
* Joomla 2.5 or later (including Joomla 3.x)
--OR--
* Joomla 1.5.19 or later with MooTools Upgrade system plug-in enabled and PHP 5.2 or later

Report Extension

 

 

2012-06-12
Reviews: 5
Works as expected and now features on most of our websites.

Well Done Levente!
2012-06-07
Reviews: 2
Great extension, works as expected. Great support from developer also.
2012-05-17
Reviews: 3
There may be fancier ones out there but this one was a mach for my criteria:
No use of Flash
Ready files from a folder
Needed to be best at fading effects without looking glitchie
Had a preference for Mooltools (which this uses), but jQuery would have been ok

I really appreciate that this one is non-commercial, not just for the cost, but the commercial ones tend to be overkill on features and complexity. This one is "just right"

Developers: Thank you! You are appreciated.
2012-04-27
Reviews: 2
This module behaves as expected:
It is customisable and straightforward.

As I heavily use motools in my web sites, this is a quick and nice solution for me.
2012-04-16
Reviews: 2
Hi
i chose this extension because it's the only one i found to use kenburns without flash.
Sadly, like i noticed nearly a month ago already, the kenburns is almost impossible to use as it is so much ressource hungry.
may it be on firefox or chrome, on a brand new site, so not bloated, it uses between 30 and 50% of my cpu on a clean, new computer. (dual core 8 gig ram)
and on older computers, it uses almost 100% of cpu.
so for kenburns effects, there's no way to use it at all (i found none actually)
Owner's reply

As explained in reply to a similar comment below, most dynamic features including the Ken Burns effect are part of third-party code built into showplus and not showplus itself. Even while the developer has already gone a long way in improving the third-party code, the best solution would be to replace it entirely. My opinion, even if biased, is that showplus is a great Joomla extension despite a few limitations, especially in the light that it is completely free. "Below average" ratings are certainly not sending a positive message to the developer to spend time and effort on improving the software; on the contrary, they cast a shadow on 95% of the other features that work as intended with absolutely normal resource consumption. Also, do not forget that dynamically rescaling an image (e.g. as part of the Ken Burns effect) is an expensive operation and will likely never fall into the same category as a simple fade or cut effect.

2012-04-12
Reviews: 4
Simple, clean and no errors! I'm very happy with this tool, especially with the thumbnails disabled. With dj-slider I had blank.gif errors on every page; 404 errors in my statistics.
One thing for improvement: some nicer navigation on the side of the slides would be better than in the middle of the pic.
2012-03-22
Reviews: 4
Great script. Worked perfectly without any problems. Many configuration options but easy to configure. I'll be using this on any site that needs a slideshow. Thanks for contributing.
2012-03-21
Reviews: 4
very good slide, many options and very easy to use. Ken burn effect alone does not display correctly with Opera.
Owner's reply

As the showplus documentation points out, "the majority of client-side browser code has been taken from the project Slideshow2", which is third-party code. Even while the developer of showplus has no influence over the course Slideshow2 takes, he has already contributed several patches and improvements to Slideshow2 in showplus. The long-term plans are to replace Slideshow2 with a much more robust and flexible slideshow implementation. Unfortunately, negative reviews are no big encouragement to the developer to spend time and effort on future improvements.

2012-02-25
Reviews: 1
It's to be good if I could in "Link target window" choose: none.
One problem in reload page it brings the same one picture and this picture fades in another, it is always do the same in reloading page.
2012-02-24
Reviews: 43
Rockettheme haven't updated RokSlideShow for Joomla 1.7/2.5 so I went looking for an alternative simple slideshow extension and ShowPlus is it!

It has a small footprint and because it uses MooTools, there's less chance of conflicts with other extensions.

I have installed it on a few websites now including some customisation on one website and the available documentation was clear enough for me to do this without help from the developer. Thank-you!
2012-02-23
Reviews: 2
easy and stable, I recommend.
Just a question : how to have the thumbnails at the top ?
I try to override it.
best regrds
2012-02-20
Reviews: 2
Thank you so much, this is exactly that I want :)
2012-02-19
Reviews: 3
This is really by far the best slider I've seen yet. Considering its completely free I am amazed at the customizations Levente Hunyadi has included in this slideshow. While there may be better effects out there from commercial extensions I was still impressed with the effects and options that ShowPlus included.

Keep Up The Good Work!
2012-02-11
Reviews: 4
This slideshow works as advertised but...it only has two sequences, ascending and descending. There is no random which is a deal-breaker for me. :(
Owner's reply

Unfortunately, this is not factually correct. There are several sort criteria in showplus, and random is indeed one of them. Please check out back-end configuration settings "Default sort criterion" and "Default sort order".

2012-02-09
Reviews: 2
Downloaded, Installed, bam. Nice display, good loading, nice thumbnails options, etc. In order to make a label for an image you need to create a text file and type in each label for each image to be loaded. This was the only reason why I am not using it.
2012-02-07
Reviews: 3
Its serving my purpose very well as an intro for my news on the home page. Good Work guys.
2012-02-07
Reviews: 2
This is a great extension.
I'm new to website development and Joomla, therefore, I always look for the simple and easy until I can get up to speed.
I tried a couple of other image sliders without much luck, I was most likely the problem and then I tried ShowPlus.
It work well right out the box (I guess that's a good way of saying it). No problems with the install, the set-up, or the performance.
I upgraded to J1.7 and a problem getting it to work (I did say I'm new at this).
When I say it as a J2.5 version, I decided to give it a try again. I couldn't get the tgz file to install, so I sent an email to the developer and requested a zip file. Guess what, you are right he sent it, now get this, within an hour.
GREAT EXTENSION, GREAT SUPPORT. THANKS
2012-01-26
Reviews: 2
I was looking for an image slider for my site and this extension appeared to fit the bill very well. It installed and behaved without any problem. However, I believe it is causing a very long load time for my site (slider is on the front page) as it appears to load the entire image folder on startup. Thus many images = long load time (this appears to be acknowledged in the FAQ pages for the extension).
2011-12-31
Reviews: 4
First discovered this module about 30 mins ago, and it's alreday configured and up and running. It gives me exactly what I need - a simple flash-like inline slide show. It's simple to configure, with exactly the right amount of modification potential, and not too mnay irrelevant options. Extremely satisfied - thanks guys.
2011-12-29
Reviews: 2
Does exactly what I'm looking for, Ken Burns effects without Flash. Easy to install and with a little coding knowledge, easy to change the CSS files for label styles.

Many thanks and all the best for 2012!
Page 2 of 5