The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


showplus Popular Module

showplus is an eye-catching slideshow to display a set of images with user-defined transition between them. It is easy to get started with but offers a number of customization options for more advanced users.

showplus is powered by a slideshow script built entirely with the MooTools JavaScript framework that ships with Joomla, and uses no Flash technology. Having a showplus slideshow on a page incurs a footprint of about 30 Kb with only a single CSS file and a JavaScript file included in the page header. No jQuery or other libraries are imported, possibly leading to script conflicts.

Features:
* choose from six customizable transition types: fade, zoom, pan, Ken Burns effect, push, wipe
* attach captions to images with multilingual support using a labels file with fall-back to a default caption
* link each image to an arbitrary location
* order images according to filename or last modified time, shuffle images each time the page is shown, or specify custom order
* display horizontal or vertical navigation bar with small thumbnail images that allow for fast navigation
* set most important styles in the administration back-end

Required:
* Joomla 2.5 or later (including Joomla 3.x)
--OR--
* Joomla 1.5.19 or later with MooTools Upgrade system plug-in enabled and PHP 5.2 or later

Report Extension

 

 

2011-12-22
Reviews: 10
Small and fine w3c valid slideshow which is very easy to install.
Also the settings are easy to make. Works fine with browsers IE7 +, Safari, FF3.6 +, Chrome and Opera.
Unlike other funky slideshow stuff with lots of effects, Showplus captivates slideeffects with some simple but very nice slide effects that are completely sufficient.

Very nice and fast contact with a problem that I had with a solution within a day.
2011-12-16
Reviews: 5
Easy to install and easy to use. Very usefull. Thank you so much... :)
2011-11-28
Reviews: 1
The module installed and works with no problems. But what I don't like in the module is the navigation, the navigation is so confusing and you cannot disable the (Last, First) buttons. Hope this will be an option in the next version.
Owner's reply

The most recent version of showplus (at the time of writing) uses Slideshow2 for JavaScript slideshow animations, which is a third-party project hosted at Google Code. As a developer, I do see the merits of Slideshow2 but understand its limitations, and have already contributed several enhancements to Slideshow2 in showplus. The ultimate solution, however, would be to replace the third-party product with a slideshow implementation written from scratch that best accommodates to user expectations. There have been plans for this but it is undoubtedly a time- and resource-intensive project, heavily in need of funding.

2011-11-24
Reviews: 1
It appears to be a good module, but it didn't work well on Safari.
Owner's reply

Such problems are best reported directly to the developer rather than written as a negative review. Getting in touch with the developer, he can request additional information on the problem (a one-liner is seldom useful in this respect), and eventually fix it, which benefits both you and the community. Do not forget that this extension is completely free, the developer gains nothing from the software but a good feeling that he has done something valuable for others. A negative review is no great encouragement for the developer to continue working on the project or solving your specific problem (not that he could contact you via the review interface anyway), and eventually neither you nor the community benefits in terms of better software.

2011-11-02
Reviews: 11
Downloaded, installed and used it witl all options in 5mins. Good job !
2011-10-22
Reviews: 7
it's very good slideshow module,fast and have many slideshow options
2011-10-15
Reviews: 19
I use about 6 different slideshows, galleries and carousels but needed something that was elegant, crisp, and had an easy to load gallery from directory. This one did the job nicely and worked with zero hassle. Gave me a number of very useful transitions too... the Ken Burns effect can be pretty dramatic for some sites. Loaded even a large gallery of big images quickly. I recommend this one.
2011-10-07
Reviews: 6
Install, setup and it works!
2011-10-07
Reviews: 2
Very very good! Easy and functional, perfect!
2011-10-05
Reviews: 54
I looked through many extensions here that could do what i needed and although i found some that met my purpose and requirements, they contained forced links and i was very disappointed as it was not noted in the extensions description.

I finally stumbled across showplus after hours of searching.

It was very easy to setup! It does not contain any sneaky hidden links and it 100% met my requirements.

100% Perfect and HUGE Thank you for the developer!
2011-10-05
Reviews: 1
I'm glad I found this module. I have however faced a problem and it's not going away !
Although I can see my images, thumbnails etc... and everything working perfectly, i still see error messages right under the gallery saying :

There are no images to display in the slideshow.There are no images to display in the slideshow.There are no images to display in the slideshow.There are no images to display in the slideshow.

I'm not sure what happened, I was adding and removing modules to different sections and playing around and it broke on me...
2011-09-12
Reviews: 3
Excellent!
2011-09-03
Reviews: 3
I was searching an slide show module for my website.
I had a lot of troubles because most of this modules are using jQuery. Some times Mootools had have conflicts with jQuery.
Showplus was the solution. It's works fine. It is easy to use.
It´s an excellent extension.
I apologize about my poor English.
2011-08-29
Reviews: 4
Excellent Just what I required. Thanks transco
2011-08-26
Reviews: 1
Excellent!!! slideshow. Thanks!
2011-08-10
Reviews: 4
It just works exactly as it should do. Lots of customisation. No messing about. A lovely perfect plug-in and worth 20 euros of anyone's money. Except it's free! I hope the developer goes on to make a lot of money because he understands how to make a good fuss free plug-in.

Thanks!
2011-08-08
Reviews: 3
Great extension. I've only found a small issue that I could not solve: is it possible to stop or pause the slideshow in the last image? Sorry cause of ask this question here, but I was not be able to find any kind of contact way in the developer website.
2011-08-07
Reviews: 1
This is the best Gallery/Slideshow I've found for Joomla. Super easy to install and setup, and fully customizable via css.
2011-08-07
Reviews: 8
The best non-commercial slideshow I have seen yet, thanks a lot!
2011-08-03
Reviews: 1
This was the kind of gallery I was looking for, It's very easy to set up.

You just create a module, link it to a folder with images, and that's it. You can even provide images description and external links as long as you provide a details.txt file in that same folder.

I have detected some minor problems, related or not to that extension. For instance, many large images will leave your page blank. I had to resize them. I also had a problem with the zoom factor, the 0 value was still zooming the pic, but the resize I made previously made that problem disappear.

Some improvement in adding new functionality might also be included, provided it doesn't collide with the philosophy the owners are trying to implement, such as creating thumb categories, to display several sets of images on the same module.

This is however a very good extension, a must to have on your site!
Page 3 of 5