The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


showplus Popular Module

showplus is an eye-catching slideshow to display a set of images with user-defined transition between them. It is easy to get started with but offers a number of customization options for more advanced users.

showplus is powered by a slideshow script built entirely with the MooTools JavaScript framework that ships with Joomla, and uses no Flash technology. Having a showplus slideshow on a page incurs a footprint of about 30 Kb with only a single CSS file and a JavaScript file included in the page header. No jQuery or other libraries are imported, possibly leading to script conflicts.

Features:
* choose from six customizable transition types: fade, zoom, pan, Ken Burns effect, push, wipe
* attach captions to images with multilingual support using a labels file with fall-back to a default caption
* link each image to an arbitrary location
* order images according to filename or last modified time, shuffle images each time the page is shown, or specify custom order
* display horizontal or vertical navigation bar with small thumbnail images that allow for fast navigation
* set most important styles in the administration back-end

Required:
* Joomla 2.5 or later (including Joomla 3.x)
--OR--
* Joomla 1.5.19 or later with MooTools Upgrade system plug-in enabled and PHP 5.2 or later

Report Extension

 

 

2011-08-03
Reviews: 1
This was the kind of gallery I was looking for, It's very easy to set up.

You just create a module, link it to a folder with images, and that's it. You can even provide images description and external links as long as you provide a details.txt file in that same folder.

I have detected some minor problems, related or not to that extension. For instance, many large images will leave your page blank. I had to resize them. I also had a problem with the zoom factor, the 0 value was still zooming the pic, but the resize I made previously made that problem disappear.

Some improvement in adding new functionality might also be included, provided it doesn't collide with the philosophy the owners are trying to implement, such as creating thumb categories, to display several sets of images on the same module.

This is however a very good extension, a must to have on your site!
2011-07-28
Reviews: 2
Everything works fine except that occasionally the slideshow does not load in Chrome. I have to empty my cache and then it works again. Any suggestions?
I have different showplus slideshows on different pages. If one doesn't work they all don't work. If one works they all work.
Owner's reply

This phenomenon is most likely not specific to showplus but to particular versions of Joomla/MooTools or other extensions showplus is used in conjunction with; I am afraid it is not possible to give a simple "canned" suggestion that fits all cases. In general, it is best to contact the extension developer directly (see Support button), a review does not expose your e-mail to the listing owner and it is not possible to contact you for details. (As a bonus, you get a much faster reply by contacting the developer directly; it takes time before your review is approved and exposed to the listing owner, whereas an e-mail lands directly in the developer's mailbox.)

2011-07-26
Reviews: 5
OMG! Finally someone put together a 1.6 compatible rotating image gallery that has a simple "classy" transition instead of goofy, obnoxious flying squares or a set of images that frenetically rewinds the image set when it gets to the end. If you have more than 5 images that just looks awful!!! You can stop here. Trust me, I tested so many others.
2011-07-26
Reviews: 1
This was just what I needed for a new Joomla 1.7 site. I tried several of the 1.7 Non-Commercial slideshows and this one worked the best and met all my requirements - image folder based, adjustable effect and timing. I also appreciate that it uses MooTools rather than having the client load an additional Javascript library.
2011-07-24
Reviews: 2
I was looking for a fast slideshow to replace a slideshow on a live site that was causing conflicts. I chose Showplus and got it set up and in place in less than 30 minutes. Set up was pretty intuitive. There are a lot of options that gave me the flexibility I needed to put it into place with very little css tweaking needed. I had to do some tweaking to get it centered but that may have been the template.
2011-07-21
Reviews: 1
Having incorrectly read point 9 in the setup instructions, I contacted the developer who responded almost immediately and was very helpful. An excellent and free extension which I would recommend to anyone
2011-06-26
Reviews: 9
As a newbie this extension made an amateur web site look professional, easy to install with very good instructions.

Of course I made a mistake and asked the developer a question by email, I received a reply in few hours with a further offer of help if I could not get it to work for me.

A great product by an equally gratious and helpful designer who takes great pride in making this extension work for everybody.

Regards,

Andy
2011-06-26
Reviews: 1
Great module, but I have to modify it for myself, because I need to use images from random pic-folders each loading of the page. So I've added a few lines of code. I wish you were added this option in future. Many galleries lack of the 'random folder src' option.
2011-06-21
Reviews: 4
This is a superb module.

Written with Mootools, so there is total compatability with the latest Joomla 1.5

The module is extremely easy to configure and you can specify parameters in a text file so that your images can have a link and/or a caption and you can display them in the order you placed them in the text file.

The transitions are many and varied and look great.

Thanks to the Developer for all this hard work - a quality module.
2011-06-06
Reviews: 2
I use this extension in a Public Greek High School site (non commercial). It is very good. I have not any difficulties installing or using this.

Thanks the author for his generosity.
2011-05-30
Reviews: 9
Big job.
I hope that's work fine in Internet Explorer 6 and 7. If not, you will see me again later.
Thanks to developers.
2011-05-30
Reviews: 2
Showplus has come to replace some other solutions I have had in the past, and I am much obliged, especially for the generosity. However, I have not figured out how to get links from a labels file to open in a new window. ( Though this may well be a inability to spot the obvious on my part ).
2011-05-29
Reviews: 1
Overall this is a very simple, effective, and professional looking extension.

I did have one problem--editing the .css files to expand the caption space allowed (I'd like 3 text lines instead of just 1). After editing the height on .showplus-captions-visible to allow for more space, this didn't seem to work.

I'm sure the developer can be contacted, but I could not easily find contact info on the site. Still trying to figure out how to make captions work for me...
Owner's reply

You are on the right track: modifying the CSS rule for .showplus-captions-visible is the key to changing the height of the caption. However, there are two separate stylesheet files: slideshow.min.css (a bandwidth-efficient version, used in the default production mode) and slideshow.css (used in debug mode only). You must update both files for the changes to take effect (in both modes). The simplest approach is to modify slideshow.css and overwrite slideshow.min.css with the updated file.

2011-05-24
Reviews: 1
I used this extension for a wedding planner's website as the main banner image and works perfectly.

Had a slight glitch but support from the developer was second to none.

Would definitely recommend this extension.
2011-05-20
Reviews: 3
This was my first choice for my site, downloaded installed and worked great - with a couple of e-mails to and from the developer. (Check the FAQ - I should have done!)

I had a glitch when I then installed 8 instances on my site. While waiting for the developer to reply to my support request, I had a look at a few other slideshow extensions, thinking if the glitch couldn't be fixed, I would use one of them.

Boy, am I glad that ShowPlus was my first choice. And even happier that the glitch was sorted. (Turns out it was a problem with my server, not ShowPlus - developer found this out for me!)

Seems to me that ShowPlus is the simplest, most configurable slideshow extension out there. And support is quite frankly, exceptional. Don't forget though, that the developer has a life, and might take overnight to reply!
2011-05-19
Reviews: 2
Slideshow overall is easy to install and get up and running. However slideshow does not work in IE9? Is there a solution for this, I need it to work in all browsers.
Owner's reply

It does work. If you do not believe me, check out a review below by another user, or visit the showplus demo site with IE9. Some versions of the MooTools script library shipped with older versions of the Joomla framework have trouble working in IE9, see the showplus FAQ for a proposed solution on how to get around this. (Alternatively, you should upgrade to the latest version of Joomla.) I am afraid the particular problem is outside the domain of showplus.

2011-05-18
Reviews: 1
The extension itself is very good within it's class but the service from the developer was excellent!
I had a small problem, emailed them and received a reply within minutes... and a solution later the same evening!
2011-05-17
Reviews: 1
This imageslide is as I like to call: Easy, Fast and most important Clean.

Just make shure that your images folder has read permission :)

Keep the good job!
2011-05-08
Reviews: 4
you need only 5 seconds to install. everything is clear. I love it!!!!
2011-05-05
Reviews: 1
I needed a simple but solid image gallery function and this one did the trick. Unfortunately for myself, I needed a small bit of customization - so I emailed the developer who got back to me within about 3 hours with concise instructions on how to to what I needed to do.

I have a hard enough time getting such prompt service for paid extensions, this was just above and beyond. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Page 4 of 5