The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

DaveOzric

Reviews(24)
 
byDaveOzric, February 20, 2014
JUX Social Gallery
After looking at all the options to display Flickr Sets I found this to be the most effective and best price. It was easy to set up and the developer was quick to help me make it compatible with my template.

It has a handy custom CSS sytle option to match my color scheme.

It works great and the support is very helpful and prompt. Another thing to note is the documentation is very thorough which is always a huge bonus!
byDaveOzric, August 22, 2013
DJ-Catalog 2
First off, the support is some of the best. Above and beyond what most extensions offer.

The program is well developed and they are receptive to suggested improvements.

The component is very useful for displaying products or what have you. It was the best I could find for my clients needs and when they added frontend editing/adding products it was perfect.

Well done
byDaveOzric, April 9, 2013
CDN for Joomla!
Dead simple to install and setup. Helped me increase a large sites performance. Support is fast and knowledgeable.
byDaveOzric, February 21, 2013
EasyDiscuss
I recently bought this extension for a client group that needs a communication type setup. I looked at forums but that was overkill for my needs. This fit my requirements nicely.

EasyDiscuss has many many options but is also fairly simple and straightforward to setup. It has a very pleasing interface on the frontend and I liked it from the moment I started using it.

The most notable part of the extension is the support. They are excellent and respond lightning fast. The really nice thing is they also respond and you know they read your question thoroughly.

Highly recommended for a discussion group or simple forum. I know I will probably buy more subscriptions for other clients.

I also may try their other extensions.
byDaveOzric, July 31, 2012
ACL Manager
If you have Joomla users on your site that need any type of permissions tweaking, I mean any, this is the bomb. Without this extension it's like wandering around in a cave without a flashlight trying to find the settings, then find your way back again.

As of version 2.0 you can just click in the control panel to make changes instead of opening up the category for each one. Unbelievably easy now. Brilliant!

This will save huge amounts of time. Bravo
byDaveOzric, July 24, 2012
Disqus Comments
This is great someone integrated this into Joomla. Disqus is the best comment system and this extension works great. I hope they continue to develop this.
byDaveOzric, April 6, 2012
ValAddThis
I have switched to using this on all my websites for article sharing, etc. It has been stable and has loads of settings. I hope the developer continues to update this.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your donation Dave and the review as well.

byDaveOzric, March 29, 2012
SmoothTop
This is a great light weight plugin for those sites with long scrolling pages. Like the description says "No anchor tag in the URL" which is great.

I was using JBlibrary plugin but that was causing conflicts with templates,etc.

The support is excellent as well.

Highly recommended for a simple solution that works perfect.
byDaveOzric, February 13, 2012
Simple Facebook Like
This is just what I was looking for. A simple way to have someone like organization without having use any effort.

Occasionally the number of likes doesn't show up until you click the like button. I haven't done any troubleshooting so it may have nothing to do with the module. Probably some cache issue.

It was the only thing I could find like this and it works well and is easy to customize.
byDaveOzric, January 23, 2012
DPCalendar Lite
I use this on sites that want to incorporate a Google calendar. It is Google calendar on steroids. The modules are a good addition to display upcoming events across the website and look good too. The support is very good the forum is very active. The only thing that is kind of a pain to configure is the times and dates. All based on the PHP strings. On the up side it makes it very customizable. The popup map feature is really cool. The new version 2.5.1 hides the map if the location is not entered. This is perfect for events without an address. The previous version showed it regardless. There is no other extension for Google calendar like this.
byDaveOzric, January 19, 2012
Easy Folder Listing Pro
I needed a simple way to display a PDF that would force a download. Besides Docman this was it. Installing Docman for a single download is like building a bridge to get across a puddle. Besides that it has tons of options for configuration and multiple downloads/folder listings.

The most impressive thing is the support. I had a problem that was preventing a interactive PDF from working and the developer was immediately working on fixing it and wasn't giving up until it was fixed.

Highly recommended and perfect for offering files up on your site. Also worth more than the asking price.
byDaveOzric, January 12, 2012
Simple MP3 Player
I was having problems with JCE and needed a easy way to put a single mp3 file on my site. This was super easy and works great. 5 minute setup. Bravo!
byDaveOzric, December 2, 2011
Ultimate Site Tools
This guys description is exactly correct. "Sick of umpteen plugins" This is really cool. Everything I need for every site. Plus it has extra features like removing space in the code for each page. Dead simple to setup too.

I used to have to install 2 or 3 things to change or remove the generator tag, give the homepage a custom title and add the site name with custom separator at the end of each page.

Then install a Google Analytics plugin for tracking.

This has some really cool features on top of that. The redirect to non www is something I had to do manually. Right on!

There is a bunch of site security settings too, I haven't needed yet. Right click disable is interesting.

Plus more. Oh yeah, it's like dirt cheep too. Again, finally all these things in one plugin!!

Thanks for being a Joomla programmer.
byDaveOzric, October 6, 2011
AiDaNews2
The new version is awesome on J1.6/7 sites. It is truly one of a kind. There is no other extension that does what this can do!!

Thank you very much, it's people like Danilo that make Joomla so great to use.
byDaveOzric, August 2, 2011
SP Upgrade
I have used this on 2 sites so far and have had excellent luck with it. Not to rip on Jupgrade, but that broke many parts of my site. SP Update does not. Because it migrates your information not 3rd party extensions there is no conflict if you forget to uninstall something not compatible with the new version. With that in mind you will have to reinstall your extensions, but fresh installs are much better. I would rather have the peace of mind that some weird issue won't come up after I spend hours and hours getting the new site reconfigured.

As for support, it is like other have said, excellent. I was working on a weekend in the US and it was night time in Cyprus and I was still getting support! I had a couple questions, because I didn't understand, not because of the component and it was resolved quickly.

My question was with MySQLi, which is recommended when preforming the migration with SP Update. Some websites that had posts on using this said to install the new J1.6/7 using MySQLi which I never heard of. Long story short it is a server side component and if available can simply be turned on in the Global Config b4 migration. I had to call my hosting company to see if it was on. There is some way to check it yourself too.

Overall I will be using this for all sites. Thanks for creating something that works.
byDaveOzric, May 20, 2011
pPGallery
Needed a simple gallery for articles that displays images from a folder. This is it. Super easy to use. Some of the other ones your adding so many parameters in the html code to get any output. This is folder name and your set. The setting are in the plugin so it's set it and forget it.

Thank you
byDaveOzric, May 16, 2011
Joom Donation
The added features to a PayPal donation process. Customize your collection info and give the donor a customized thank you, etc.

I had a problem and the support was excellent.

Very good extension.
byDaveOzric, February 18, 2011
BIGSHOT Google Analytics
I saw some of the reviews saying the tracking code should be in the head. According to Google it's not. This is from their analytics help section.

"We generally recommend that you place the Google Analytics tracking code immediately before the closing tag of your pages in order to avoid any issues with page loading delays for visitors with slow connection speeds. However, there are several situations where it might make more sense for you to install the code in the head:"

The reason to put it in the head are only for 3 custom situations.

So I have had great luck with this and it's dead simple to use.

Thanks
byDaveOzric, January 21, 2011
Art Data
After installing this I became aware it was something I needed help with. I contacted them via email and almost thought it was an automated message they responded so fast. Wow!

I really was having problems and must have sent 2 dozen emails, they kept at it with me until it was working just like I wanted.

Good value and great service. I haven't tried all the plugins yet, but the sortable table is very cool. With a little customization it was very much what I set out to find initially.
byDaveOzric, December 15, 2010
EasyCalcCheck PLUS
I was having a huge problem with spam in Phoca Guestbook. 100+ per week. Found this, installed it and stopped all spam completely!

Very nice, I even donated to the cause.

Thank you very much for creating this!
Owner's reply

You are welcome. Thank you very much for the donation and the review!

Page 1 of 2