The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Earthson

Reviews(12)
 
byEarthson, December 19, 2013
Phoca Download
Phoca Download is a great product. I have been using it for years, and it is essential to my online business. I have tried many other extensions, but this is the one that really shines. Get it - you won't be disappointed.
byEarthson, April 16, 2013
JomSocial
I've been a paying member of JomSocial for years. Over that time prices have doubled, the support forum disappeared, and reappeared, and noticeable upgrades were implemented in their software. Some of these were frustrating changes; some were nice to see. But, I'll tell you one thing - I'm still a paying member - because they clearly are working hard, trying their best to improve the product and support, and I know that they will always be around (and that means my community will be as well).

Price: I was a member back when plans were 1 year long. Now, the plans are the same price, but only good for 6 months. So, essentially, the prices have doubled. It is quite a steep increase, but I still feel it is money well spent. If you actually stop and imagine all the coding that goes into this product, it'll make your head spin. It is a monstrous project. It would take you years and years to develop it yourself, and it wouldn't be nearly as nice. Again ==> $$$ well spent!

Support: I'm very pleased with the support. I've seen a noticeable improvement since the price doubled. I'm not sure if this is just a coincidence, or not, but it is great to have such dedicated people helping you out. They really go above and beyond.

Learning curve: like any great product in Joomla (including Joomla itself), there will be a learning curve. JomSocial has a tonne of settings, which can appear daunting at the beginning. But, once you work with it for a little while, you come to appreciate all the thought that went into it.

One word of advice - if you are using sh404SEF, turn it off for JomSocial. They are slowly working out their issues and better together, but I found that 80% of the "glitches" I found in my community were all due to conflicts with sh404SEF. Both are great products, but they do not play together as well as they could.
Owner's reply

Thank you for the great review! One thing that is incorrect, the price has not doubled because renewals are 40-50% off. The cost of this operation is huge, employing 16 full time professionals, that is why the cost has changed. The price you pay is just a tiny fraction of what it cost us to develop and support. I hope this makes sense!

byEarthson, July 8, 2012
Bad Word Filter
I found this plugin after trying out Re-Replacer. Re-Replacer was also great, but it doesn't work with AlphaUserPoints (AUP has setup roadblocks if you use re-replacer)

Anyway, within two minutes I had it up and running. It replaced the words I asked for, and basically works like a charm. Thank you Bad Word Filter!
byEarthson, February 25, 2012
Sourcerer
Come over here for a BIG KISS!

Thank you,Thank you,Thank you,Thank you,Thank you,Thank you,Thank you,Thank you!

I just can't say it enough. After weeks of scouring the net, and trying to figure out why Joomla 1.7 wasn't honouring my settings in the Article Text Filters, I was ready to give up.

Then I found Sourcerer, and all of my headaches went away! Thank you so much :)

I will definitely be donating!
byEarthson, February 15, 2012
EasyBlog
I've been running Joomla websites for about 5 years. I've dealt with all sorts of extensions, and support. Most are ok, some are bad, but very few are amazing. EasyBlog is one of the amazing extensions. It is a rare gem.

I had never blogged before, but new it was necessary to build my website/business. So, I looked over a few extensions, and finally settled on EasyBlog. With a 30 day money back guarantee, what could I lose?

I could rave and rave about the product...but I would eat up too much space. There is so much going on with the software - it does EVERYTHING! Every time I go back to their website I discover a new feature that I didn't know about. I am constantly learning about new tricks and settings in the admin area. It you want it, it will do it! And, if it doesn't yet, then they will probably work their butts off to make it happen.

That leads me to the next point: Support.

I am always happy to pay for extensions, because it usually means that they will have good support to back up their product. Sadly, that is not always the case. Some support is slow, rude, or non-existent. That IS NOT the case with EasyBlog. Their support is one of the best I have ever come across. They are fast, knowledgeable, super friendly, and ALWAYS ready to bend over backwards to solve a problem. I can't even count the number of times they have gone above and beyond to help me out.

Sure, there have been some conflicts. I've had some issues with JomSocial, sh404sef, etc. But, they have come to the rescue each and every time, and solved the issues. They really stand behind their product, and are constantly working to make it better.

You will never regret this purchase. Get it, love it, and forget about all other blogging extensions. EasyBlog has the market covered!
byEarthson, December 7, 2011
JEXTN Testimonial
I used to use Ninjamonials, which was a nice component...but, when the time came to upgrade my site to J1.7, they weren't ready to go. So, I made the switch to JE Testimonials. I've been very happy. Easy to use, lots of options, nice to look at.

NOTE: The only reason I'm not giving it full stars, is because they desperately need to improve upon the avatar feature. It feels so clunky that people need to find and upload an avatar...it is inconvenient, and offers lots of room for crappy images to go along with your testimonials.

I would LOVE LOVE LOVE it if they could make it work with CB, Jomsocial, etc, so that it simply populated the field with whatever avatar people are using on the website. It would be awesome!

Please develop that feature :) Thanks!
byEarthson, November 27, 2011
Akeeba Backup
This is perhaps the most important extension in Joomla. It has saved my website so many times! This should come standard with all new versions of Joomla. Trying to build a website without it is SUICIDE! And, best of all, it is FREE!
byEarthson, November 27, 2011
Xi Registration Redirector
Thank you for this excellent plugin. I am running Joomla 1.7 and JomSocial. I was baffled why the JomSocial registration process was working sometimes, and not at other times. JomSocial recommended I try this plugin, and I'm very happy I did.

Note: I see where ddt4ever might have had his problem. The first time I installed, I somehow downloaded an older version of the plugin. CRASHED my site completely. Luckily, I always backup before installs. Of course, this was not the plugin's fault...just my own silly error. So, I restored, found the correct version for 1.7 and installed with no problems.

Now it works perfectly :)
byEarthson, November 14, 2011
JFBConnect
I can't say thank you enough for JFBConnect. It is a great product!

I'm rebuilding my company website for Joomla 1.7, and it included Jom_Social. I heard from everyone that their Facebook integration was buggy...and that I should try JFBConnect.

Install was easy, and when I ran into weird quirky errors(not their fault at all), JFBConnect was their to hold my hand. They were very patient as I requested constant assistance.

even as I post this, one of their guys is going above and beyond to help me do 'just one more thing' to my site.

Pay the money - get the extension - it is worth it. And the benefit received by letting people connect so easily through Facebook is priceless!!!
byEarthson, November 14, 2011
EasyTable Pro
Easy table pro, is an awesome extension. My company website now completely depends on it, and we find ourselves in a bit of a bind...we're upgrading to Joomla 1.7...and the extension doesn't support it yet.

If I could find another table extension that worked even half as good as this one, I might justify jumping ship...but, that is not the case. These guys have worked hard to build the best table extension out there.

I guess I'll just have to wait patiently until they get around to it...if a donation would speed it up, let me know!
byEarthson, November 9, 2011
JEXTN FAQ Pro
I looked for a long time for a FAQ extension for my website. All seemed to be lacking something. Then I came across JEFAQ pro, and couldn't be happier. Nice layout, easy to use, and lots of options to customize!

Some people don't like commercial extensions, 'cause they hate to pay. I used to have that opinion - then I realized the error of my way. Paid is the only way to go. You know they take their work seriously...they will be there for support...they will be making updates/fixes...and MOST importantly, they will work hard to build a new version that is ready for the latest Joomla version (now 1.7). Nothing sucks more that upgrading to the new Joomla, and realizing that the "FREE" extension that you desperately need, isn't working.

Anyway, quite a rant...the point is JEFAQ Pro is great - worth the money - I've had awesome support - GET IT! You won't regret it :D
byEarthson, February 11, 2009
ReReplacer
What an awesome little component. I installed it as a word blocker for my forum. There were other options out there, but this is by far the best one I've seen. And the beautiful thing is that it is fully customizable. I needed something that could replace words, not just mark ****. I needed to block some company names from appearing, and this is just the component!

Of course, I'm selling it short...I've only mentioned one feature...there are so many things you can use this ingenious component for. Look at some of the other reviews for ideas.

The support is awesome. I emailed the company with a quick question, and they wrote asap with advice. Truly awesome.

And I can't believe it is free! A+++
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. Also, if you run into any bugs, please let me know. ReReplacer is made by me, and seeing I'm still not perfect, there are bound to be some glitches...