The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Joshlewis

Reviews(93)
 
byJoshlewis, March 24, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Vinaora Nivo Slider
At first glance this was perhaps my favorite jquery slideshow module. There were a few bugs in the older versions which they fixed which I was pleased to see it working almost perfectly.

But there is one big issue with this which is that it creates an extra slide in the slideshow that links back to the author. Normally that would not be a big deal, but I was using this extension to showcase websites I've created which hence would not honestly reflect my work. If the author very much wants a backlink, it would be better to put it at the bottom rather than add an extra slide.

I attempted to contact the author via a comment on the page (considering that it seems to be the only way) which someone else agreed that this addition is annoying.

I'm writing this review in hopes that the author would change this. Or if not, informing everyone else about this hidden addition. I do appreciate the work that the author has put into this extension.
byJoshlewis, February 25, 2012
CB AlphaUserPoints Activity
Does just what it says. Currently tested on CB 1.8 + AUP 1.7.1 + Joomla 2.5.1 which it works just fine. I would recommend an option to be able to control how many activity items display.
byJoshlewis, January 26, 2012
Article Categories for ContentBuilder
This is a must have plugin for ContentBuilder. This increases the searchability and allows you to place articles in the proper section. Glad this extension was made.
byJoshlewis, January 19, 2012
Insert HTML for the JCK Editor
After using this extension I am left asking myself why every editor doesn't have a plugin like this one. This takes out the hassle of going back and forth between html mode and editor mode.
Owner's reply

Thanks Josh for showing your support for this plugin. I am delighted that you like it.

byJoshlewis, January 5, 2012
News Calendar
I've used almost every calendar extension for joomla and this was by far the best one. It is light weight, speedy, good looking, and easy to configure. The support was great as well which they helped me with a customization.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants a mini calendar for joomla content. Thanks for your good efforts.
byJoshlewis, January 4, 2012
New Users for Community Builder
This is one of the best CB Modules ever created. For those who have used Aidanews2, this is like the Community Builder version of it. It allows me to show only people with profile pictures and control where things display (username, profile pic, ect). I'm very pleased to see it upgraded to work with joomla 1.7
byJoshlewis, January 1, 2012
What? Nothing!
This extension puts all others to shame. Joomla will never be the same with this extension installed. And who says an extension has to do a ton of stuff to be good?
byJoshlewis, January 1, 2012
Modals
I was digging though the Popups & iFrames section of the JED wondering which extension would be best to use. After doing some research I eventually stumbled upon another one of NoNumbers fabulous extensions that beat my expectations. What I love about Modalizer is it gives you many options of themes and pop up types. It even allows you do make beautiful popups for menu items and external links. This extension deserves 5 stars and was well made. Thanks again for your hard work!
byJoshlewis, December 27, 2011
To Here plugin for googleDirections
Works very nice like it says. The only two problems are that you have to have the other two googlemaps extensions which I try to have as few plugins as possible. The other thing is the user has to manually figure out the coordinates, if there was some sort of easy insert button this would be a stellar extension. But non the less this is the best joomla directions extension that I've used so far. I was able to nicely embed it into tabber making a nice tab for directions.
byJoshlewis, November 23, 2011
Read Less - Text
The original beta version of read less text for joomla 1.7 had quite a few bugs in it which one by one the bugs were fixed. They were very quick to response to my messages for help and helped me with a customization of my blog display. Now the extension is working just fine as it should. If your like me and want a extension that makes article blog display only a limited amount of text and resize the first thumbnail of an article, then this is the right extension for you. Thanks for your hard efforts!
byJoshlewis, November 20, 2011
read less title
The support is very nice, even when I once forgot to reply saying that a problem was fixed they asked me if their solution helped fix the problem. There are some very minor things to work out in the beta version, but for the most part it is working just fine. Thanks for making this extension joomla 1.7 compatible.
byJoshlewis, November 19, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Phoca PDF
Thanks Phoca team for brining back the PDF's. I see I have a little more control over the display of the PDF's which is very nice. In my case a template over write was necessary, but at no fault of phoca pdf. It was pretty simple, and instructions on how to do this is on their website. I would recommend this to anyone who wanted joomla content to be pdf's automatically with a simple button on the frontend.
byJoshlewis, November 18, 2011
Advanced Search for ContentBuilder
This is the extension that gives content builder a lot more power to it. This is the only free native content advanced search (required content builder) extension that I know of. But it is a very good one that makes finding specific content easier.
byJoshlewis, November 14, 2011
JCH Optimize
Excellent extension! I am very impressed. I was worried that it would conflict with javascripts and such which for the first few seconds it did. Then I found a option for disabling combining javascripts which fixed the problem instantly! This extension was more simple but highly functional that I had anticipated. This certainly sped up my site as it said it would. Tested it with internet explorer too which works just fine for viewing.
Thank you for this nice extension!
byJoshlewis, November 14, 2011
AJAX toggler
Wow! I'm used to ajax creating conflicts, but this one makes loading in the admin panel much faster and nicer looking. Thanks for making such a cool extension. I certainly would recommend this to someone else using joomla.
Cheers Josh Lewis
byJoshlewis, November 4, 2011
Tabs
The maintainer of this extension does well supporting it's users. I wanted a feature where the url changes when a user clicks a different tab, and sure enough they send me a custom version that suites my needs. The tabs look beautiful and allow for a few other different colors if needed. This is definitely a good tabbing system! Thanks for your support and good extension.
byJoshlewis, November 4, 2011
AiDaNews2
This extension is by far the best news display module I have ever used! It is very customizable, easy to use, and it even has an option to link to the author's community builder profile. It has dozens of options which should satisfy most if not all people who use this extension. Support is fantastic which they have worked with me to add a few features and support me. I've used many of the news display extensions of joomla, but this one is the most flexible. This is what one would call a true 5 star extension! Well done! And thank you for all the work you guys put into this.
Cheers Josh Lewis
byJoshlewis, October 24, 2011
J!Places LIGHT
Certainly seems like a really cool extension! I tested it out on my website which it has a few minor errors. One of them being that instead of showing the text "Description" it shows "_jplace_DESC" which I assume is the value field. Also this extension would be super amazing if it worked with joomla content. But the author is accurate when he says that it is really good at geocoding the content. Very impressive component that I would recommend to someone who wants to geocode simple pages and such. Well done! I know you work hard and update your extensions regularly! Keep up the good work.
Cheers Josh Lewis
byJoshlewis, October 14, 2011
Text To Module
Awesome! Been wanting an extension like this for a while. So basically this module gives not only the back end users convenience of not having to create modules for each position, but it also gives power to the frontend user. So if you have things like "External Links" that you want to show on a side bar (or anywhere else) you can use this extension to have it display. It even renders html just fine as it should and can be used to display mini content on the side. Now all we need is for it to be joomla 1.7 available. Anyways, thanks for making this cool extension.
Cheers Josh Lewis
Owner's reply

@Joshlewis:
thank you for your kind words. Due credit must be given to a friend of mine who is also occasionally a customer, who had the original idea and asked us to create this solution. P.S. i asked him permission to include his name in extension description.
About Joomla 1.7 compatibility, i am going to get some additional help in a few days and hopefully it will be released with only a reasonable amount of delay :-)

byJoshlewis, October 10, 2011
n3tTemplate
Excellent extension! It works very well and seems like something that could have been built into joomla. The only minor issue I had was figuring it out, I would suggest adding a documentary on how to use this. This is also great for wanting automatic text to appear and is a great for inserting templates.
Thanks for the great work!
Cheers Josh Lewis
Page 2 of 5