The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

MysticMedia

Reviews(14)
 
byMysticMedia, July 12, 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Kunena
Kunena is good, no doubt. And it's the best option for a fully integrated forum in Joomla (forget the totally worthless Agora!). But no WYSIWYG editor is a BIG BIG drawback. Like someone else said, in 2012, there is absolutely no reason why anyone should deal with tags when using a forum. This should be so standard it's not even funny. Members having to figure out tags is not acceptable.

C'mon Kunena, step up your game. A WYSIWYG should have been integrated a long time ago. Until this is standard, Kunena gets only an average vote from me. Kunena is old and should be much more advanced that what it is. It still has a general antiquated feel, for some reason. Not nearly as advanced as some of the stand alones, like SMF.

I have to add too that the support, mainly from three or four different staff members, is rude, abrupt and condescending. Support gets zero starts, while the software itself is average.
byMysticMedia, July 2, 2012
Logged in users
Another great extension from Carsten that does exactly what it says, and does it perfectly. This is really essential for staying on top of your site and knowing if the logged in users are actually still there or are just 'ghost' users.

This is another extension that should be core in Joomla!
Great job Carsten!
byMysticMedia, July 2, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Load module into article
An excellent plugin that does exactly what it says. This really should be core in Joomla because it is one of those plugins that you really can't do without.

Big kudos to the developers.... Great job!
byMysticMedia, May 30, 2012
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
cedTags
... it actually worked. First off, the download package is messed up. There's only the component, no plugins or modules. There's no button to add tags in articles. There's no modules for most popular, latest, random, etc.
It installs the component, and that's all.

Now that's not my only experience with cedTags: Prior to the update, everything installed, but gave blank pages where the tags were active. Also, when I tried to edit an article in the backend, it would blank out, meaning I just get a white blank page in Joom. I had to uninstall manually, and from the database as well, to get Joomla working again.

There are great features, and it will be awesome once it's ready. But for now... as much as I hate to, I have to rate it poorly based on what's available at the moment.

Also, I contacted support a few times with these issues. They responded once, with an updated version, which didn't work. I informed him of that issue, yet more than a month later, never heard anything back.

Like I said, I hate to rate, because Walter does great work. But this is what's available to us now, and it's not ready nby a long shot. Sorry Walter.
Owner's reply

Let me respond point by point

>.. it actually worked. First off, the download package is messed up.
> There's only the component, no plugins or modules.

Looking at the documentation (http://wiki.waltercedric.com/index.php?title=Taxonomies_and_Tags_support_for_Joomla) you will see that it install 5 modules + 4 plugins + 1 component

The installation process do not create default modules for you, you have to go to the module manager, and click new to create the 5 different modules available
* Module Latest Tags
* Module Popular Tags
* Module Random Tags
* Module Custom Tags
* Module Most Read Tags


>There's no button to add tags in articles.
It has been replaced by jquery ajax in the frontend: There are normally 5 ways to insert a tag after inputting some text: space, comma, enter, selecting an autocomplete option, or defocusing the widget.

>There's no modules for most popular, latest, random, etc.
>It installs the component, and that's all.
No can not be, see above


>Now that's not my only experience with cedTags: Prior to the update, everything >installed, but gave blank pages where the tags were active. Also, when I tried to edit >an article in the backend, it would blank out, meaning I just get a white blank page in >Joom. I had to uninstall manually, and from the database as well, to get Joomla working >again.
I use it on my server and always keep it up to date. I have no issues so far with more than 5000 tags and 3000 articles

>There are great features, and it will be awesome once it's ready. But for now... as much >as I hate to, I have to rate it poorly based on what's available at the moment.
>Also, I contacted support a few times with these issues. They responded once, with an >updated version, which didn't work. I informed him of that issue, yet more than a month >later, never heard anything back.

I am alone and get hammered by email, forums entries, features requests, skype call. You have to retry. I may stop some communications channel to be more focused

>Like I said, I hate to rate, because Walter does great work. But this is what's >available to us now, and it's not ready nby a long shot. Sorry Walter.

You're welcomed, any review is a review. I am sorry to hear it is not working for you.
Hope you will be better served with a commercial extension.

byMysticMedia, May 28, 2012
JW Player Advanced
I've been using JWAdvanced for awhile now, and never had any problem until a week ago. I contacted support and literally within 10 minutes, they sent a patch to solve the issue. It worked beautifully! The support from JoomlaRuelz is first-class!

The plugin itself is excellent! It is so worth the subscription for all it does. You can control everything with for the JW Player from a single point, including your Bits on the Run ads and extra flashvars. An it works flawlessly!

If you're using JW Player, you HAVE TO GET THIS PLUGIN! BIG thumbs up to JoomlaRuelz!!!
byMysticMedia, May 5, 2012
Access manager
Wow! After days of fighting with Joomla's built-in ACL not working right with Akeeba Subscriptions, I remembered Carsten's extensions so though I'd give this one a shot.
Man, what a lifesaver! It integrates perfectly with Akeeba Subs, sets the permissions perfectly and restricts access, just like it's supposed to.
I simply could not be any happier now.

If you need good ACL control beyond what Joomla's can do, and if you want to avoid some headaches, you better grab this jewel! It's just fantastic in every way.


Thank you so much for your hard work, Carsten! I'll be going Pro with Access Manager soon. You rock, buddy!
byMysticMedia, April 28, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
CKEditor
The editor itself is pretty good. Nothing special, works like other good editors.

Now my major beef with CKEditor is having to install CKFinder in order to use the upload and file browser. This is really annoying. I don't understand why it can't be integrated into the install package like Joomla CK Editor. I end up having issues every time with CKFinder, and end up spending an hour trying to figure out where the problem lies. To add to this, the free version now displays an annoying large banner in the backend boldly saying 'You are using a demo version...' Annoying. Editors should be free, in my opinion.

I've since moved on to Joomla CK, which works perfectly, and with file browser and uploader, right out of the box.

In the end, it's still a very good editor, and I'm very familiar with it, having used it since it was FCK. But given the problems and having to manually install and configure and fight with CKFinder, I would consider trying other alternatives.
Owner's reply

We're afraid that there is some confusion here and you are not, in fact, reviewing the version that is available in the Joomla! Extensions Directory (i.e. this site).

Let us explain briefly.
There are two versions of the CKEditor for Joomla! extension:
- The Open Source one, available at http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/edition/editors/12821, that does not include or require CKFinder.
- The commercial one, available at http://ckeditor.com/ckeditor-for-joomla, that comes with CKFinder already licensed and integrated and also includes enterprise-level support.

As mentioned above, the Open Source version that is available for download and review on this site does not include CKFinder and does not require it for file upload functionality. You can easily upload your files in the CKEditor for Joomla! extension without CKFinder by using the built-in Joomla! functionality. Additionally, we are unable to publish CKFinder in the Joomla! Extensions Directory since it is not an Open Source product and it requires a separate license.

The message about using the demo version that you are getting results from the fact that you *did not use* the Open Source version, but instead tried to use the commercial one downloaded from http://ckeditor.com/ckeditor-for-joomla without obtaining a license. This was not really needed -- you are free to use the Open Source version that is available at this site and use the Joomla! upload functionality for file upload. And you are of course also most welcome to use the commercial version, too, with all its benefits (i.e. CKFinder license and support channel), just please buy a license first :-)

We are sorry about any inconvenience caused. We do hope that with the confusion cleared you will be able to choose the version that you prefer and give CKEditor a(nother) try!

byMysticMedia, April 24, 2012
Agora Pro
almost no mod control. Lack of themes. Bad integration, no Jomsocial. Lots of things missing. It leaves a lot to be desired. And the support and documentation is absolutely terrible.

I can't believe they moved from non-commercial to commercial, yet you don't even get perks you do with free extensions. At least they'll refund your money, eventually.

Don't walk.... RUN from Agora! I'll stick with Kunena. Agora isn't anything nearly as good s Kunena. An the 'Discussions' free component is better too!
byMysticMedia, April 18, 2012
Scontent
I can't say one bad thing about SContent (well, other than it's totally in the wrong category).

I had been looking for a plugin that offered a way for users to report problems with our videos.. and finally foun it. And I was very happy to see that it not only does that, but incorporates voting and tagging. What a blessing!!

A million thanks to the developer. This is a fantastic plugin with not one single thing wrong with it. Great job!
byMysticMedia, February 27, 2012
J2XML
The component does a good job at what it's suppose to do. BUT... the documentation is absolutely horrible, both for this and the Joomla 2.5 version.

Thanks to the developer, but please, add better docs.
byMysticMedia, January 30, 2012
Akeeba Subscriptions
We're already using Akeeba Backup, which is perfect, so I thought I would give this a shot.
WOW, I'm glad I did! It delivers just what we needed: A simple subscription system. So many subscription components try to throw nearly everything in there, and in all reality, what most of us need is just a basic, simple subscription system... that works! I don't need all these useless add-ons. Just for them to see the subscription, the price, and pay... that's all.

Akeeba Subs does just that, and works flawlessly. It's so easy to set up, and looks great on the front-end. It returns the correct information from PayPal (many others don't). It "just works".
We bought AEC last year, and it was nothing but a tremendous headache, and always seemed to not work properly. Members were always complaining... and it was expensive!

Akeeba Subs is THE BEST subscription component available, by a mile! Best of all, it's free! I applaud the team for creating this, and am supporting them any way I can.

If you need a sub add on, you need to grab this one. You will not regret it, I promise!
byMysticMedia, October 2, 2011
sh404SEF
I was hesitant about purchasing, not because of it's reviews, but because I've been burned on so many commercial extensions in the past. But it offered everything I needed, and excellent control of aliases... so I bit the bullet.

"WOW" is all I can say! I should have purchased sooner. This is BY FAR the best sef/seo component available for Joomla. It does everything! There are endless configuration options, excellent alias control, and phenomenal handling of 301's. It couldn't get any better!

Don't do like I id, and put it off due to it being commercial. The $39.00 price tag is WELL WORTH IT! Having sh404sef is not an option for any developer; It's a MUST! Trust me, get it. You need this extension!!

Excellent job guys. I'm VERY happy!!
byMysticMedia, August 14, 2011
Flexi Contact
I've used Flexi Contact for years, and am still impressed at how wonderful it is. Site after site our company produces, we always stick with Flexi. Never a single problem, always works flawlessly. Flexi is by far the best contact forum, non-commercial AND commercial! Love it!!!
byMysticMedia, August 13, 2011
Testimonial Fader
I needed a simple testimonials add-on, without having to go through tons of settings in a component, multiple modules, plugins, etc., and Testimonial Fader fit the bill.
I initially had an issue with it on J 1.7, but submitted a support ticket and in less than 24 hours, they updated it and viola! It now works like a charm.

Excellent module, does exactly what it says, and does so perfectly. Support is phenomenal! Would highly recommend to anyone!! Thanks guys!
Owner's reply

Thank you so much for your support and review regarding this module.