The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Quickheads

Reviews(2)
 
byQuickheads, November 14, 2012
Force Complete Profile
I wanted to try out this extension because my site is getting a lot of SPAM registrations where the USERNAME equals the NAME.

It was not clear from the description but my hope was that this forces compliance (form validation) during the registration process.

However, this plug-in, waits until the user is registered, activated, and logged-in, before it asks the user to edit their profile to meet the requirements you set.

It took me a while to figure out exactly how this worked since it didn't seem to work while I was registering. (As I falsely expected.)

So to sum up, this plug-in DOES NOT prevent a user from registering on the site. It merely prevents them from seeing anything on the site EXCEPT the profile edit page once they log-in (if they are not in compliance.)

It even prevents them from logging-out! They MUST get their profile in compliance before doing ANYTHING else on your site!

The developer is NOT kidding when he says FORCE complete profile! LOL!

Overall a very neat plug-in, but unfortunately, it doesn't prevent SPAMMERS from registering. (It just frustrates the heck out of them when they do!)
byQuickheads, November 15, 2010
JoomListings
I bought version 2.1.5 of this software back in December of 2009 right before 2.1.6 came out.

The developer offered to upgrade the software to the new version and promptly deleted all of the current ads on my live site!

Once we got that sorted out, and I manually added all of the ads back in for my users. I was unhappy with the way that I was forced to navigate through "Regions" before I could get to the ads. In addition, there was no way to link to an individual ad. I was assured that these features would be available in "The next release"

So I waited. . . and I waited. . . and I waited some more. Very patiently, all the while dreading what might happen if the upgrade ever did happen.

When version 2.1.8 came out I decided it was time to give it a try. I spoke with the developer, I backed up my site and database, and attempted to run the upgrade on a test site. It didn't work.

I spoke with the developer and he assured me that he could have it updated within an hour. I gave him back-end Super Admin rights, my FTP account info, and MySQL access. (All of which scared the crap out of me since I have several parked domains at the same root!)

He was not able to upgrade the software either. After, two more weeks of waiting, I was finally able to upgrade the MySQL tables on another server. However, the listing descriptions were not showing due to a bug in the new version.

The developer had "his guy" look at it, all the while with unprecedented access to my site. After another few weeks, I got a short e-mail stating that the problem was fixed. I checked, it still wasn't working.

I sent the developer an e-mail but I have not heard back from him, in several weeks. So to make a long story short, after almost a year of struggling to get this to work, I ended up deleting it all together and switching to another solution.

This has been, by far, the worst experience I have ever had with a Joomla! component. (Especially for a commercial component that I paid for.)

The developer seems VERY conscientious, and wants to help you get your problems solved, but ultimately he seems unable to deliver the goods.

In fact, I think most of the features that have been added to the software are requests from individual users with individual needs. 90% of the features will need to be “turned off” for the majority of users, making the front and back end very cumbersome to navigate. If you can get it to run at all, and if the there is a way to “turn off” the unwanted “feature” to begin with.

The developer needs to work on making software upgrades easier, and eliminating major BUGS, before attempting to add new features. I wish him the best of luck in the future, but me, I’m finished messing around with this. I’ve wasted WAY to much of both his and my time! (Not to mention my money.)
Owner's reply

I bought version 2.1.5 of this software back in December of 2009 right before 2.1.6 came out.

The developer offered to upgrade the software to the new version and promptly deleted all of the current ads on my live site!
[JC] This happened year back, I accept this. But it was not because of the upgrade it was because of re-install the component on his site. The way he stated problem to us and he mentioned he is just setting up the new site. We re-installed the component. We shouldn’t have done that on the first place. I acknowledge this as our only mistake with this client.

Once we got that sorted out, and I manually added all of the ads back in for my users. I was unhappy with the way that I was forced to navigate through "Regions" before I could get to the ads. In addition, there was no way to link to an individual ad. I was assured that these features would be available in "The next release"

So I waited. . . and I waited. . . and I waited some more. Very patiently, all the while dreading what might happen if the upgrade ever did happen.
[JC] This is how product JoomListings 2.1.6 was designed. We were not selling the product with this feature year ago. Yes now in version 2.1.8 we have removed the requirement of selecting the region. It’s very simple and straight forward. Since day 1 user didn’t like this requirement of version 2.1.6 and wanted to move to different solution and based on his requirements we change this requirement in version 2.1.7.

When version 2.1.8 came out I decided it was time to give it a try. I spoke with the developer, I backed up my site and database, and attempted to run the upgrade on a test site. It didn't work.
I spoke with the developer and he assured me that he could have it updated within an hour. I gave him back-end Super Admin rights, my FTP account info, and MySQL access. (All of which scared the crap out of me since I have several parked domains at the same root!)

He was not able to upgrade the software either. After, two more weeks of waiting, I was finally able to upgrade the MySQL tables on another server. However, the listing descriptions were not showing due to a bug in the new version.

The developer had "his guy" look at it, all the while with unprecedented access to my site. After another few weeks, I got a short e-mail stating that the problem was fixed. I checked, it still wasn't working.

I sent the developer an e-mail but I have not heard back from him, in several weeks. So to make a long story short, after almost a year of struggling to get this to work, I ended up deleting it all together and switching to another solution.
[JC] I know this user and we have been supporting him for last 12 months now. I have offered him custom development, phone support and dedicated developer support but to make this particular customer happy is impossible. This review is more a revenge then actually a product review. I have asked customer to provide details of his site and we will upgrade the component for him. After 2 weeks’ time he provided the information when I started the update process I came to know the MySQL server version user has is not capable of running stored procedures with IF NOT EXISIT clauses. I have requested him to get the version of MySQL upgraded but he was not able to get it done from his hosting company and then further he got frustrated with us. To prove to him, I purchased a godaddy hosting account and showed him how easy the upgrade process is and if he had the correct MySQL version. I am not the kind of person who blames customer but issue with this customer from word go was he doesn’t want to listen and come to the conclusion by himself.

This has been, by far, the worst experience I have ever had with a Joomla! component. (Especially for a commercial component that I paid for.)

The developer seems VERY conscientious, and wants to help you get your problems solved, but ultimately he seems unable to deliver the goods.

In fact, I think most of the features that have been added to the software are requests from individual users with individual needs. 90% of the features will need to be “turned off” for the majority of users, making the front and back end very cumbersome to navigate. If you can get it to run at all, and if the there is a way to “turn off” the unwanted “feature” to begin with.
[JC] Our product is versatile and made to cater different types of small business so that they can customize and run professional classified sites. Please have a look at following comment from another customer regarding our features and flexibility. “Joomlistings was a great purchase. It has a remarkable level of flexibility - From expiration dates, pricing, file uploads, and categories beyond belief!

Among the features, the multiple modules included in the download really make a classified site on a much better level. As you may want featured ads 'up there' and newest ads 'right about there'
I've tried other classified components before. But they did not offer the flexibility and PAYMENT integration that Joomlistings does. Overall a great purchase!” – This review is posted below.

The developer needs to work on making software upgrades easier, and eliminating major BUGS, before attempting to add new features. I wish him the best of luck in the future, but me, I’m finished messing around with this. I’ve wasted WAY to much of both his and my time! (Not to mention my money.)
[JC] Our upgrade process is simple and straight forward, end user is misguiding here. The reason his upgrade was an issue because MySQL version was not updated as per Joomla! requirements to begin with. Here is our upgrade process
1- Overwrite the files /component/JoomListings
2- Overwrite the file /administrator/ component/JoomListings
3- Run the upgrade mySQL script in the phpmyadmin