The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Ringo7

Reviews(13)
 
byRingo7, July 4, 2014
Search Source
This tiny extension makes finding ANYTHING on our Joomla sites a breeze. Has allowed us to locate and fix problems that would otherwise be a royal pain.

This is a MUST have for any Joomla devs out there.Great extension!
byRingo7, May 22, 2014
RSEvents!Pro
Using RSEvents Pro, you cannot do some very simple recurring events. For example:

Town Hall Meeting, every 3rd Wednesday of every month.

or

Budget Meeting, every 2nd Friday of every month.

Since some months have 5 weeks, it completely throws off the scheduling and you wind up with almost random event days scheduled in the calender. Not good!

Yes, believe it or not, this is the "Pro" version. Support told us to "manually enter those kind of recurring events" because they cannot be done with RSEvents Pro.

One other difficult issue is setting the time of events. You have to click and drag left or right on the time setting to adjust it. No manually entry of the times. Took our office manager ten minutes to figure it out. If it took HER that long, users on the front-end adding events are going to get a little frustrated setting the event times as well. Very difficult.

The support is good, no complaint there. But this recurring event issue needs to be addressed. Apparently they are not interested since the component hasn't been updated in a long time. We had to switch to another component that actually DOES do recurring events accurately.
Owner's reply

I can assure you that RSEvents! Pro is updated constantly:
http://www.rsjoomla.com/support/documentation/view-knowledgebase/177-changelog.html

The bug you've mentioned was being worked on (not something you can solve in a few minutes), thus the reason why support told you which workarounds were available.
I'm not sure if you can classify an entire extension including its support based on a single feature.

byRingo7, May 14, 2014
GTranslate
Works perfectly. And seamlessly with all the browsers we tested (IE8,9, FF29, Chrome and Safari.

Great job on this module guys! Thanks.
byRingo7, March 10, 2014
Slideshow CK
Broken in 2.5.19. We tried everything to get this working even on one of our simplest Joomla sites. If the problem is not specific to 2.5.19 then it's just a bug in the latest release. Also it is NOT really free. If you want any standard functionality (like loading images from a folder like all the other FREE ones do), then you have to cough up some money.

Unfortunately, we couldn't get it working at all.
Owner's reply

Hi
Slideshow CK works on joomla! 2.5.19.
I have tested myself and many other users use it without problem.
I have a forum where you can ask for support before telling that something is not working
CEd

byRingo7, March 31, 2013
Mobile
While Mobile Joomla does have some nice features, we noticed a considerable slow down for every site we installed it on. Not just the mobile site but even the load time of the desktop site is hit. Also, our database size went from 1.2mb to 38MB! That's a LOT of data added to our sites. When we uninstalled Mobile Joomla, the sites speed pick back up to normal again.

We understand that the PRO version does remote data loading (to reduce the local database size) but that means our sites would then rely on a 3rd party remote site to load template settings?? And it that any faster? I don't believe it would be. Plus the PRO version is very expensive. Nice component but not worth the slow down for us.
Owner's reply

Hi there, thanks for reviewing Mobile Joomla! We are sorry to hear, you experienced some issues.

Large database tables you mentioned belong to a 3rd party product Scientia Mobile, which is an optional, advanced add-on device database that is not a a part of core Mobile Joomla! package and optionally installed by user. Our main device detection mechanism is very fast and requires only 5Mb of database space. If you try installing Mobile Joomla! with default settings, you'd be able to see the performance difference.

Mobile Joomla! Pro on the other hand, caches remote data locally and fallbacks to local device database in the case of connection problems. In this way, we make sure your site works with 100% uptime, without depending a remote connection.

Hope helps.

byRingo7, January 28, 2013
Excellent!
Works great and has a tiny footprint. If you don't need all the bells, whistles and heavy load of GCalendar (and the spinning cursor that is a common problem with GCalendar), then this Extension does the trick.

Could not be easier to setup with either the module or the plugin. We use the simple plug-in. Just copied the embed code from our Google Calendar and pasted it into the plugin setting. Then we just entered the specified tag into an article and boom! It just works! Plain and simple. You can customize the embed code from your Google Calendar account.

Great Extension - Thanks!
byRingo7, September 18, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Akeeba Backup
This is the first Component we install for each of our Joomla sites. We back up all our sites regularly with this extension and it has paid off big a few times already. This should be in every Joomla webmasters toolbox.
byRingo7, September 17, 2012
Flexi Custom Code
We couldn't get this working at all in Joomla 1.5.26. When pasting a simple HTML block which contained a form, half the code went IN the box, the other half actually drew the page right over the Admin screen. Very funny!

So we tried something easier (no form) and it broke the template. This needs some work.
Owner's reply

Hello,

I'm not sure what happen with you.
But many people use this addon, they just said it working properly. I also tried again after you send the "black review", but there is no any trouble in my Joomla 1.5.26 also in my Joomla 2.5.7.

And i also tried to contact my friends to check at their site, all of them said, there is no trouble with their sites. so, i think it just "Black Campaign?" :D

But no problem, great thanks for your respond and attention

Good Luck

byRingo7, January 19, 2011
HikaShop
After following the tutorial for the Hikashop cart, we were unable to get ANY products to show up under any category. The support guys are their but not sure how to correct the problems other than asking to go through the tutorial 3 over and over again.

Probably just the latest version of this cart is broken. If you have a working install, DON'T UPDATE!

Would like the last 6 hours of our life back please! Off to find a cart that works.
Owner's reply

I understand your frustration, but you don't answer to our questions. I asked you several times the URL of the page where you have the problem in order to see what is the problem, but you never gave it to me :/
Please understand that we can't solve problems we can't reproduce without information about the problems.

I hope your find an extension that better suits you.

We will look at improving the creation of menus and modules for next version as apparently some new users have a hard time with it.

byRingo7, August 5, 2010
Shaper Carousel
Same old horizontal image slider. Not a carousel.
byRingo7, July 12, 2010
Nice PayPal Donations
No instructions in the Plugin itself like the others have. Need to go to the Website to get the parameter details for the plugin. Button does not open Paypal in a new window which is bad. Need to have that so visitors still have your site open in the background.
byRingo7, June 5, 2010
RSMonials
Displays incorrectly in IE7.

You can only show ONE testimonial at a time in a module. We wanted to show a couple of brief testimonials for example on the home page (with the View more... feature). You have to refresh the page if you want to see another testimonial. The docs don't tell you that - Only that you can select "Serial or Random". No option for showing two or three at once, each with the "View more... option"
byRingo7, September 28, 2009
JCE
Very buggy interface. Especially editing and formatting text. The cursor vanishes constantly in the editor window and unless you click within a word, you never know where you cursor is. Must be my stock installation of Joomla 1.5 but other editors I've tried have this issue.

Also does not play well with the Linkr extension. I've uninstalled JCE and re-installed it three times with the same results. Very buggy. Even on a completely separate Joomla site it's has the same issues. My favorite is when it intermittently highlights the entire contents in the editor when I'm trying to highlight a word! I love that! Again, buggy on both Joomla sites so I know I'm not the only one who had issues with JCE.

Switched to JoomlaFCK (only Editor I hadn't tried before) and like the other editors - have had no issues at all.