The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Shinteetah

Reviews(11)
 
byShinteetah, December 31, 2012
Phoca Gallery
So far, so good -- some trouble with entering multiple new Images at once (upload lock, but I'm not sure whether that's the extension or the server, and I'd really like to be able to enter individual titles with multiple new images), but overall a MUCH better extension than the others I've tried.
byShinteetah, November 29, 2012
MailChimp2
Did everything I needed in moments. Clean and uncluttered. Recommended.
byShinteetah, September 17, 2012
Week of Words
I wanted this capability, and I was pleased to see the extension's high reviews. But images were frequently broken and I couldn't detect a pattern. I could find no fix on the documentation or Joomla forum, and I wasn't willing to pay $10 just to send an email question. (Pay to customize a free extension, sure! Pay to find out how to make a free extension do what it says it does, not so much.)

So if you have a text only insert, try this! But if you have additional content, such as photos in your articles, be aware they might not work.
Owner's reply

On the download page you will see it states you can contact me directly at this website, there is and never has been a fee for this.

re: Pay to customize free extension. I think you're confusing commerce with charity. Most companies would require a fee for bespoke work.

byShinteetah, August 30, 2012
WordPress Posts
Working in seconds. Took me a full two minutes to get it perfect because I decided I wanted to adjust the heading (and there's an option for that). Thank you!
byShinteetah, July 23, 2012
ITPSubscribe
A very easy-to-use extension which works exactly as advertised. I'd like to see a few more media options (YouTube, Pinterest) but it's very good. Only complaint is that icons naturally wanted to rub edge of module, no padding. But I'd definitely recommend it.
byShinteetah, September 23, 2011
Akeeba Backup
Just moved a 1.5.17 (don't ask) to 1.7 on a different host with minimal effort, using this software. Thank you!
byShinteetah, June 27, 2011
GoSquared
Good extension for a good service. Could use some additional documentation for installation -- with both 1.5 and 1.6 extensions packaged in download, I had to re-zip the 1.6 files to install. Simple, but one has to recognize the need. Overall, recommended!
Owner's reply

First of all, thank you for the kind words.
Secondly, your points about lack of documentation and difficulty installing have now been addressed in version 0.3 to allow for a universal package that installs onto Joomla! versions 1.5, 1.6, 1.7 and 2.5 all from the same zip archive without the need for unzipping first. Obviously this might not be of much help to you now, but for anyone in the future this has been changed.
Thank you for your feedback and I hope that the new universal zip archive installs easier for you and future users.

byShinteetah, March 28, 2011
Flexi Contact
Working in nd solved my horrific spam problem left open by another extension. Recommended!
byShinteetah, March 17, 2011
Mobile
This is an excellent extension and I highly recommend it. Worked within seconds of installation. I liked having several templates from which to choose.

I would have gladly given it 5 stars instead of 4, had it been disclosed that some templates would show ads (not my own, as my site is ad-free) on the page. Yes, this is a free extension, and the developers are entitled to compensation, but just let us know in advance rather than letting us find ads after the fact.
Owner's reply

Hi there, thanks for your review and we are glad to hear you like MJ!

Ads displayed on mobile version is totally voluntary to support our development, and we provide very simple way to remove them;

http://www.mobilejoomla.com/extension/advertising/remove-support-ads.html

We communicated this a while ago;

http://www.mobilejoomla.com/blog/62-new-look-and-extensions-directory.html

But you are right, our new users may not be aware of that. We will add a warning, so that this doesn't cause any inconvenience to any.

Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate!

byShinteetah, March 28, 2010
Find Us On Facebook
The only suggestion I have would be to include a gallery of images in the module parameters so that we could select an image without having to cycle through and reload to see them all. Other than that minor complaint, it's great!
Owner's reply

I like your suggestion, however, in order to keep this a simple and effective module, we have decided that the details on our website should be sufficient to show what each style looks like. Thanks for your feedback!
http://joomladds.com/home/1-latest-news/50-fuofb-module.html

byShinteetah, February 12, 2009
BibleGateway Verse of the Day
I would like to be able to edit the appearance and layout a bit more -- but I had everything downloaded, installed, and functional in less than two minutes. Quick and easy.