The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

TheScifiGuy

Reviews(19)
 
VideoWhisper Live Video Streaming Integration
I really wanted to like this extension. We bought the software and also purchased the recommended WOWZA live streaming hosting which the company provides to ensure as little headache as possible in getting the software working.

It is now almost 1 month, about 10 support tickets and STILL, no live video streaming working on my end whatsoever. When you send a support request, expect to wait anywhere from 24 - 48 hours for a response and when they do respond, it's a complete disregard for any of the specific questionss which you ask.

I've sent my Joomla admin details but still the live video streaming is not working for me. I offered to share my desktop with them via Skype/Teamviewer and they've completely ignored this request. I'm not liable for $100 web hosting for a media streaming system that is simply NOT WORKING.

The WOWZA hosting that they provide includdes a dizzying amount of settings, URL's paths, etc...with almost no documentation to guide you on what to put where and why.

I am EXTREMELY frustrated with this as I've been playing back-and-forth tag with support trying to get the software working, but to no avail. I'm on the verge of scrapping this entirely and using a service like UStream.com or similar. I'm a reasonable person who spends a large sum of money every month on Joomla extensions, services and support, I'm afraid the support provided by this company has failed to impress and is harming what is otheriwse a potentially very powerful and solid software solution.
byTheScifiGuy, May 18, 2014
POWr Price Table
Firstly, I really appreciate the contributions of developers who publish modules free of charge for the community, but I found this extension cocmpletely unusable. You install the module and then you need to activate the plugin in order to create the tables...it all became too confusing and elaborate for me.

I was unable to achieve what I wanteed to achieve as the functionality is obscured behind layers of complexity really unnecessary for such a fundamentally simple extension like this. I'm going to build my table using good 'ol HTML and not rely on an extension as the free extensions in this category are simply not up to the task of providing basic functionality to get this task accomplished.
byTheScifiGuy, June 23, 2013
Core Design Petitions
This extension is really fantastic and does exactly what it says, it's just that it lacks a critically important feature...the component is not mobile-friendly or responsive in any way and this is a serious problem in generating activity in countries where mobile is the primary way for people to access the web. If the developers could make this extension mobile friendly and with SMS integration support like Clickatell, then it could very easily be commercial and I foresee a great future for it amongst activists in developing countries. Thanks for an awesome extension though, very useful and functional.
byTheScifiGuy, November 28, 2012
Custom Unit Converter
This is the only conversion module you'll need. Does the job perfectly.

Thanks to the developers of this awesome, useful and highly functional piece of software.
byTheScifiGuy, November 28, 2012
MultiTrans
If you need a comprehensive translation solution for your site...look no further than this. This module turns your website into a multi-national, globally-relevant, easily-accessible website of wonder in a matter of minutes. Thank you to the developer for this one...it's GREAT!
byTheScifiGuy, November 12, 2012
KISS GooSence
I had a bit of difficulty adding the Google AdSense code to my sites, I did some searching, found this baby and within minutes...I was up and running, serving ads like a champ. Thanks to the developer of this...works wonderfully, is easy to use and has more than enough options for the basics.
byTheScifiGuy, October 17, 2012
moJOOM
Good effort from the developers, but they seem very recalcitrant and obstinate. If you only want to run Jomsocial, then this extension does the job very well. If however you would like to have MobileJoomla with its Mobile Kunena extension co-exist with this extension, then GOOD LUCK! The extension simply does not play nicely with Mobile Joomla...which is a crying shame seeing as it does its job very well as a mobile extension for Jomsocial.

Support flatly refused to consider providing support for multiple templates whereby the entire Joomla website should be able to run with MobileJoomla and its default templates, but only once the "Community/Jomsocial" link gets ticked, then the MoJoom template should load. This for me makes supreme sense and failure to allow this prevents this extension from truly shining.

Unfortunately, when you go for MoJoom...then you have to say goodbye to MobileJoomla and run their extension in the MoJoom template exclusively.
Owner's reply

Thanks for the constructive comments. We have already mentioned on our site that it doesn't support third party extension like mobilejoomla.

Will take care of your suggestions and implement the mobilejoomla compatibility in next version.

byTheScifiGuy, October 9, 2012
Does exactly what it says on the box...provides a simple way to backup and zip your website's files and database for speedy download via HTTP. Thank you to the developers...this is a wonderful and very helpful extension. Much appreciated.
byTheScifiGuy, September 5, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Joomgalaxy
Two very enthusiastic thumbs-up from my side for JoomGalaxy. While some directory solutions seem to have stagnated (wink-wink in direction of Mosets Tree), this directory solution blows everybody else completely out of the water. It's slick, powerful, jam-packed with features and the support is quick and helpful.

I had a few issues with importing data from Mtree and the developer contacted me and added importing tools to the next feature-list...eagerly awaiting the next release so I can migrate my data. It's this keen support, CONSTANT and rapid improvement of the product and attention to detail that makes this extension really shine.

With a number of migration tools being added, Alphauserpoints integration, Jomsocial activity stream integration being added, mobile-friendly support being added...this is the one directory component you CANNOT afford to ignore.

Great support, great product, great roadmap for the future.
byTheScifiGuy, August 29, 2012
Trendy Devices Image Rotator
A HUGE heartfelt thanks to the developers of this for creating this awesome extension and then gifting it so graciously and generously to the community. An awesome way to show that your site is mobile enabled, particularly on sites that use MobileJoomla.

Workds out the box and works well at that.
byTheScifiGuy, August 27, 2012
Tabs GK4
A HUGE THANK YOU to the developers of the GK5 tabs module. It's beyond AWESOME in its features, options, functionality, ease-of-use....WOW! You guys REALLY helped me out of a jam with one of the projects I was working on. This module is the best free tabbed content module manager. With options for putting tabs at the top, bottom, left or right...what more can you ask for. Hats off to the developers for making this such high-quality and for making it free. It really solves an important, fundamental problem for displaying content...and it does it with find style.
byTheScifiGuy, August 2, 2012
Very Simple Image Rotator
No fancy gimmickery, just install and works wonderfully. I've been looking for a good image rotator and this did the job perfectly. Just resize all your images to the same size and have a nice image rotator in any module position you like.

Thanks to the developer for doing this.
byTheScifiGuy, July 14, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Opening Hours
Thanks for this great little extension.

I'm giving this 4 stars because it lacks a feature which should state "we are currently open" if the time a person is viewing the module falls within the specified open times...also, "We are currently closed" if the opposite. That would make this perfect.

Otherwise, great little extension, works well. Thanks.
byTheScifiGuy, April 6, 2012
Micro Deal auction Factory
For starters, this extension is NOT cheap. I purchased the "Club" membership about 3 months ago which apparently allowed me 12 months of support and updates.

I spent easily an hour TRAWLING the site trying my utmost to find the download link...after about 20 support tickets back and forth (their support department routinely closes support tickets that are clearly not resolved).

I installed the Joomla 1.7 version on a bog-standard site but I was unable to add it to the menu...it just wasn't there...not available...not even in the Components menu in the backend.

I let it slide because my client decided she wanted to go with Joomla 2.5. I visited the site again today, logged in and to my dismay, there is NO Club membership link anywhere and finding the download link for software you've paid for is like doing an Easter Hunt.

Dealing with this company has been unpleasant...while they do respond to support tickets, they often refer you back to the site, expecting you to psychically work out where links are...nothing is easy or intuitive on their site and everything is obfuscated in complex layers of applications, groupings, clubs, deluxe and other such fluff as to be annoying to say the least.

I'm still eagerly awaiting to download version 2.5, but so far I am very disheartened.
Owner's reply

Support and updates are granted according to our terms and conditions presented on our web-store site.

Most of the issues were not generated by our component, being caused by 3rd party applications.

After sorting everything out, the customer placed the following post in our forum:

- "Yes I did, thanks. All sorted. The software is working fine now...finally. Thanks for your detailed response...any way I can post a follow-up review on Joomla Extensions?"

Also, please note that the software is already available for Joomla 2.5!

byTheScifiGuy, April 5, 2012
JForce
I bought this component about a year ago and I ran into some serious challenges with it. I recently visited the site while researching a Joomla CRM solution and much to my surprise, JForce had been thoroughly overhauled. I tested my login and it was active so I downloaded the latest version for Joomla 2.5.

I recall my dealings with David the project lead on this extension to be very pleasant and informative, he made no qualms about the support and development challenges he was facing back then and I appreciate his sincere honesty.

He definitely seems to have hit a home-run with this version and I am thoroughly impressed. As far as project management for Joomla goes, this is in a class of its own...forget ProjectFork...seriously...it's archaic, awkward and the interface a serious challenge to get used to...we tried it for a while last year and promptly abandoned it after too many user complaints.

I'm currently giving JForce a THOROUGH testing and so far it is working flawlessly. Hats off to David and his team, this is an extremely valuable component that could revolutionise small business CRM...would be nice if there was an API doc to integrate with. This is the kind of component that could easily spawn a vibrant 3rd party extension community. Think integrations with Clickatell for SMS, integrations with ACYMailing, integrations with Virtuemart and MobileJoomla, etc...

I'll be deploying this on a live customer-facing site next week after putting it through its paces and I'm confident that it will hold its own as it has in testing.

This is GOOD value for money and it WILL help you get better organised.
byTheScifiGuy, March 25, 2012
Nice Social Bookmark
For starters, most of the extensions in this category are plugins and I REALLY needed a module solution. This one was the best of the bunch, nice big colourful icons, works out the box and works WELL. Thanks for this! ;-)
byTheScifiGuy, January 17, 2012
sigplus
I trawled the Joomla Extensions Directory trying to find a half-decent article gallery and I tried almost every one. Some had difficulty finding the image folder when I know for certain all settings were 100% working. This extension stands head and shoulders above the rest, it has numerous options; is easy to configure; IT JUST WORKS; it's free and it looks GOOD!! Hats off to the developer. Much appreciated.
byTheScifiGuy, November 29, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
InviteX
I was interested in the InviteX component, but I had a few technical questions. Parth in tech support was beyond helpful and it has been nothing but a pleasure dealing with the company. I am impressed with this company and product without even purchasing it yet...
byTheScifiGuy, April 29, 2011
Mobile
As somebody who lives in the 3rd world of Africa, I have to say that this component has the potential to put Joomla light-years ahead of any other CMS in the market. This component is powerful, feature rich and gives you extreme control over the different phones and their templates.

I just wish they had an API so that
I could integrate their mobile functionality with other components I'd like to mobilise. Other than that though, works out the box, works WELL and will DEFINITELY add real value to your site.

Well done guys!