The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


byThumdar, August 15, 2014
Responsive color google map
Absolutely LOVE this module! Works like a charm. The site I'm currently creating (as will all others in the future) are responsive and this module is perfectly responsive. Easily add your own map marker icons. Well done.
byThumdar, May 9, 2014
Shoutcast Radio Player
I used the free version and it worked as advertised. I needed the html5 functionality so I purchased the pro version which did NOT work at all. I submitted a support ticket and was simply told the pro version i purchased didn't have html5 functionality, even though their website says it does. I replied to their ticket response stating this and they never replied. Extremely disheartening. AVOID the pro version.
Owner's reply

We apologize for the inconvenience, but we hate untrue reviews and statements.

You purchased the PRO version and on the site it says that the PRO version includes more skins and displays the current track title.

But on the site there is another player named "HTML5 Player" and how the name says, it is based on HTML5 and works with iOS and Android, too.

We replied one day after submitting your ticket, so the statement, that we never replied, is untrue!

byThumdar, August 12, 2012
Zh GoogleMap
If you're looking for a Google map solution, this is the way to go. The truth is, it surprises me this isn't a commercial extension. The functionality is very thorough and works like a charm. I can see no reason why I would ever use a different Joomla map extension.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much.
I'm thinking of commercializing my projects, because donations are not cover just my hosting, but I don't decide to do that yet :)
I'm getting experience of web-developing, and while I have enough time to do it free - I'll do that this way.


byThumdar, April 12, 2012
I've been trying to accomplish one thing and it hasn't been easy: insert Google ads into the article content, float it right and have it only display on article view (not front page, featured or category). No code to manually insert, the plugin handles that. I've tried every extension here and this is the only one that gets it done. Bravo.
byThumdar, April 7, 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
SJ Content Category
For years I've been using the AlphaContent component to create Yahoo Directory style directories, but it isn't compatible with Joomla 1.7 / 2.5. So ~ after searching and experimenting with multiple components, I decided to spend the $10.50 and give this module a try. Voila! Works like a charm. I am very happy with this module. There's no importing or anything, it just works.
byThumdar, October 22, 2011
Saxum IPLogger
Great idea, but there is no ability to not log guests. My site gets thousands of visits per day and I'm not interested in logging guests. The log file is going to make my database size huge! Give us the option to only log registered users and I would rate this 5 stars.
Owner's reply

Disabling Saxum IPLogger - System plugin results not to log guests. (This is the default status of this plugin.) Please read documentation.

byThumdar, October 15, 2011
Azrul has never been my favorite company. They have the most strict support policy of any I've come across. Truth is, I think they're over worked and spread too thin. Still, they charge a significant price and should support their product (in my opinion). The software works great but once your subscription runs out, you're on your own ~ you can't even access most of their forums. On top of that, they won't let you buy a support package - you must pay the full amount for the software again! I've bought three of their products and it's always a tech support nightmare. Still....., the best community software for Joomla. Ugh.
byThumdar, October 15, 2011
XIPT for JomSocial
This software does the job and the support is quick and excellent! Note ~ it is a little complicated and the documentation isn't the best but it does all work very well and if you get stuck, their support will save the day.
byThumdar, July 18, 2011
JCH Optimize
I've tried all of the site performance plugins and this one definitely works the best for me. I would give it 5 stars if I could get the css minify to work on one of sites, which is extremely complex. Great work!
byThumdar, June 12, 2011
I use this plugin and really like it, but it has one flaw (in my opinion). With this enabled, the Joomla menu "Parameters (System) > Page Title" becomes useless. I feel the plugin should be overridden if this core Joomla functionality is used. I don't want all my main menus to have my site title included but do want my site title included after all other pages, articles, components, etc.

Other than that - excellent.
byThumdar, May 27, 2011
I've been creating websites for 16 years and I have to say, EasyBlog is one of the best Joomla software titles I've used.

One of my sites needed to be migrated to Joomla 1.5 and many changes needed to be made. With over 10,000 members and tons of member content, it's been a big job. Almost every piece of software I've integrated has given me grief ~ but not EasyBlog.

I began the rebuild of my site using Wordpress for Joomla and it was giving me way too many errors and support was sparse (although those guys have done great work). After having too many headaches I decided to purchase EasyBlog and give it a shot. I am truly delighted. There have been two slight issues but their tech support is 1st class and fast. Bravo.

Bottom line is - this software is extremely well developed and has all the features I needed. I am impressed and will sleep better tonight knowing my member blogs are in good hands.
Owner's reply

Thank you!

byThumdar, March 14, 2011
I have used this component many times over the past 4 years and it always ends up the same: uninstall. With my latest usage I used the latest paid version and I kept getting endless loops when I created new content. I would be forced to purge all my URL's and be forced to recreate custom URL's, only to have to do it again the next time I added content. I also continued to find incompatibility issues with addons like jcomments and plugins such as Facebook Like. Once I disabled the component everything worked fine.

Very, very disappointing because this is clearly the most powerful SEF URL software available. Now I'm back to core Joomla SEF with article ID's in my URL's and not happy about it.
Owner's reply


Sorry about such a continued bad experience. Redirect loops when editing is not something we have reports of, that would be a rather no-go issue. Usually a missing $live_site in Joomla! configuration.php file value can be the source of this issue.
It is also important to point that because you have a problem when an extension such as sh404sef is running, and the problem goes away does NOT mean in any way that sh404sef is having a bug. It just means the problem is revealed when you run sh404sef and that's quite different.
Lastly, you don't need to recreate custom urls when you purge, they are stored separately and are not deleted, so I'm not sure why you would that. I can only encourage you to provide us with more detailed report of your issues so that they can be troubelshooted.

byThumdar, February 3, 2011
I recommend this module 100%.

I was searching for an HTML5 video player and this one completely fit the bill! I installed and had the same issue others have had and had to be sure to include all versions of my video before it would appear. With the popularity of the iPad, this extension helps so much. Also, I had a problem with the main menu appearing behind the module video and sent an email to Alfred asking for help. He quickly replied with the answer and all is well.
byThumdar, November 21, 2010
I was running the CB Captcha plugin and it had completely failed. I then discovered this plugin but needed to have the public be able to register without me sending out invites. I just changed the "_UE_PASSPHRASE_Enter_Label" in the cb.passphrase.php file to ask a question and now everything works fine.

Thanks for the great contribution!
byThumdar, January 2, 2009
From what I've found, this is the best available gallery system for Joomla 1.0.15. That being said.......

Be for-warned - I just spent the last 2 hours deleting spam from the commenting system. I looked at my backend configuration and it was setup so that commenting was available for registered users but public commenting was set off. It didn't matter because the public was still able to add comments. By the time I came across the spam entries, I had about 5000 that needed to be deleted. This is a SERIOUS flaw.