The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Tom Hammond

Reviews(7)
 
byTom Hammond, May 21, 2012
JFBConnect
JFBConnect does just about everything that you need for Facebook integration into your website. I used it to allow users to login to my website with their Facebook accounts, automatically connecting them to their user accounts in Community Builder. JFBConnect also makes it easy to add "Like" and "Send" buttons to each page, show recommended pages from other FB users, subscribe visitors to your own FB page, and much more.

The amazing thing about JFBConnect is its flexibility. You can add its functionality via plugins, modules, and tags.

The documentation is good, but the online technical support (via discussion forum) is excellent. You will get immediate responses from a skilled technician to get all of your questions answered. That alone is worth the price of the product. This product is somewhat complicated to install (because of everything that it can do), but it is well documented and supported. A+ product!
byTom Hammond, October 26, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
JEvents
JEvents does just about everything that you need out of a free calendaring system for Joomla. The calendar is clean, colorful, and effective. Lots of addon modules for displaying event information, such as a mini calendar for the front page, a list of "upcoming events" for showing teaser dates, etc. Lots of flexibility in everything. My only gripe is that you can't easily link calendar event content with existing content pages, although there are workarounds. Also, it doesn't support e-mail reminders of upcoming events, which is sorely missed. Other than that, a fantastic calendar system!
byTom Hammond, October 26, 2007
Google Maps by Reumer
I have tried all of the Google Maps extensions currently and this is the easiest to use. It does the job and does it well. Lots of easy-to-follow examples on the author's website. You can even do driving directions from the maps it generates. One small bug, though, where it does not display your map on content pages with a Read more... link and the map is on the second section of the content page. Other than that, highly recommended!
Owner's reply

Hello Tom,

Thanks for your review.

I've tested my plugin in Joomla 1.0.13 and Joomla 1.5 with the read more.. link and it works allright.

Can you please send me more information or example where it doesn't work?

Regards Mike

byTom Hammond, October 26, 2007
eXtplorer
Very clean and high-tech interfaces, makes browsing the file structure of your site fun! The best file editor out there out of the current bunch. My only gripes is that you can't perform operations on multiple files at once, nor does the FTP "mode" work. But still a great way to access the innards of your site.
byTom Hammond, October 26, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
JCK Editor
FCKEditor is by far the best Joomla! content editor. Toolbar looks clean and has lots of editing features. What you see is really what you get, which isn't the case for most of the other free editors out there. Documentation is sparse, but the technical support is excellent. The only minor complaint is that the "insert picture" from browsing the server doesn't preview the pictures as you click on them. But other than that, I highly recommend this text editor to anyone!
byTom Hammond, October 26, 2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Community Builder
Community Builder is a must for any serious Joomla! designer. It expands the user database to include fields for anything and everything you can dream up. Many, many modules on this site are aware of CB and tie into it. Easy to setup and use.
byTom Hammond, October 26, 2007
Akeeba Backup
JoomlaPack is very easy to use, easy to configure, performs backups without any problems. Backup files can be stored on the server or easily downloaded. Documentation is good, too. I haven't tried restoring a backup, but am confident it will work admirably.