The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Vampy

Reviews(11)
 
byVampy, April 4, 2011
HOT Login
Very good plugin. No fuss, no unwanted settings, no headake. Install and enable. If you could develop a register form like this, it would be great! Thanks.
byVampy, April 3, 2011
SmartResizer
Fairly good extension, but lacks one aspect. No mootools support for image pop-ups.
byVampy, June 16, 2009
ajaxSearch
A very good module and a very helpful one!

I, for one, have no complaints!
byVampy, May 20, 2009
JCrawler
This seems like a very useful extension. I have only one problem / question.

Is it normal for my sitemap.xml to have just 7-8 URLs ? I mean, I have a lot of articles on my website but only a few URLs.
byVampy, April 5, 2009
Music Collection
We all remember the MusicBox component I guess. Music Collection is far more better and has a lot of WORKING functions that MBox didn't.

Installs in a second and you can learn how to use it in two. So, you all are three seconds away from having a perfect music based web-site !
byVampy, December 26, 2008
JFusion
I usually do not rate Excellent, but really this one deserves it.

Before JFusion, I tried 2 or 3 extensions. I don't want to nominate them now.

So, finally I got over this one. At first I thought it was a complicated and painful process. I went on reading the documentation. It was all clear from the first lecture, and decided to try it.

I have tried it on two phpBB3 forums : one with 2000 users and one with ~3000 users. It worked. No bugs in the sync process as I expected.

It was a little hard to visual integrate the forum in my website.. but with the great support on the forum I've managed to merge the two user databases and also visual integrate Joomla! with phpBB3.

I was really amazed! I advice all of those who want to synchronize phpBB users with Joomla! users, to give this one a try.

I don't know if JFusion works that well with VBulletin or other boards, but from my point of view it deserves 6 / 5 stars rating.

Cheers, and thank you for this one!
byVampy, December 26, 2008
Simple Image Gallery
It is my pleasure to rate and review this incredible plug-in.

I have to tell you that I have tried all the extensions in the gallery, before using Simple Image Gallery.

They all were buggy, did not install correctly, impossible to customize and so on.

I'm pleased to have this plug-in on my site. It is so simple to install, configure .. and to post galleries with it.

THANK YOU!
byVampy, December 17, 2008
Simple Review
I have been using this component for a year now and I've never had any problems with it. Nor me, nor my users.

It can be fully customized, it is easy to install and configure and it works flawlessly!

It also can be used for a lot of things. I for one have been using it to review new metal albums on my webzine.

The only bugs you're going to find in this component will be the ones that you create yourself.

Cheers! .. and thanks for this marvelous piece of software!
byVampy, December 15, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
yvComment
Hi!

I am awful disappointed in this component.

First of all, it needs three archives to work (com,plg,mod).
If it takes all of three things to work, why not make them install automatically?

I'm not happy with how the component needs a section/category to work.

The plug-in and module, each have a ton of configuration that blows you out of track.

Reading the documentation is like reading Karl Marx. (a novel full of information with little chance of gettin' it right for the first time )

I, personally get the "Section is not set. Please configure Section for yvComments" info-box, everywhere in the backend, although I have set one.

I have done every step by the book, and still it does not work.

It may work, it may be good, it may be clean.. but not for me it isn't. (And I am not really a newbie in Joomla! )

I rated it 2 stars just in case it's my mistake!

One thing it's sure. The install/configure process is painful.
Owner's reply

Hi, Vampy!
Of cause, you're not the one, who don't get, why there are so many configuration options in yvComment, just like there is a lot of users, who ask for MORE options and more modules for yvComment...
And I agree with you, that reading (and trying to understand) long documents and searching support forum is not for everybody.
In order to skip this boring steps you may try something like 'Intellispire Software Installer - com_updater', that advertises ability to "install a variety of Joomla! software with just a single click" (that one has free version...).

byVampy, December 5, 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
JEvents
Ok, so here it is:

5 stars for the component. It is simply great and the fact that it's free makes it better!

0 stars for the support in the forums. NO SUPPORT WHATSOEVER!

(5+0)/ 2= 2,5 ~ 3

3 star rating from me.
byVampy, November 15, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Modal Popups
I've been looking for this one for ages.

I came across only over infobubble-like or onloadpopup-like plugins, and none of them helped me in my work.. and was amazed when I found this one.

I'm beginning to wonder if you made it for me.. hehe. :)

It is perfect, just perfect.

Best regards !!