The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

aklisiewicz

Reviews(18)
 
byaklisiewicz, April 25, 2013
Google Analytics Dashboard
This is very good extension, site downloads are easy to find. Works like a charm! Great job - developers. THANK YOU
byaklisiewicz, February 7, 2013
Modules Anywhere
Easy to use, excellent support and probably one of the most wanted extensions. Thank you very much for the god work! I really love it!
byaklisiewicz, February 6, 2013
ZOO
Tried this extension, but it is poorly documented. No Forum and no support unless you pay. Worst of all the extra plugins (i.e Blog) which I tried did not work for me (or at least I could not figure out how to make it work. I tried Joomla Forum support but no one could point me to the information on how to setup a Blog plugin. The interface looks good, the installation is simple but in general I would say this extension need much more documentation and examples on how to use it.
byaklisiewicz, January 30, 2013
First of all let me point out that extensions which are language specific should not be on this list. I do not speak Spanish and don't want to browse the developer site with the Spanish dictionary in ma hand. Even if this is the best Joomla extension ever it should be on the website which is in English. English is not my native language but one should realize that it is an international language for computers, internet and many other fields. Their website doesn't even have any translation tool, so my conclusion is: if I cannot read thir website I would not be able to communicate in English with the developer, so the bottom line is - it is not worth my time even to try it.
byaklisiewicz, January 14, 2013
Kaziblog
Nice idea, but this product seems to be unfinished.
1. After adding Blog Categories they do not show up on the category list when Adding New Blog (from Admin back-end)
2. On the front-end when adding New Blog there is no drop down list to select a Blog (but rather text field to type the category name), which makes no sense (nobody would remember several categories, and how to type in exact Category Name).
byaklisiewicz, October 20, 2012
osTicky (osTicket Bridge)
I really recommend this extension!
The only reason I did not give it all stars is that it needs some minor touches. For example there should be a CANCEL buttons on the New Ticket form, so the user can easily close it down. The docuemtnation should be improved. I would like to see mlike step by step scenario, as I have had some problems understanding how the other (than main) plugins work. I was not able to find a download links to extra plugins. anyway - it is still great! Thank you!
byaklisiewicz, September 22, 2012
Jtouch
This extension is exactly what so many people wanting mobile sites were waiting for. Installation takes just few minutes, the interface is very simple and Docs are very god. There is even an option to disable a developer logo in a free version. I'm testing it only for 1 day, but I think I will be strong supporter of this extension and developers. They did superb job and I just want to say one BIG hank You !
This extension is a must for everybody thinking about mobile site version.
byaklisiewicz, July 19, 2012
1 of 4 people found this review helpful
Cobalt
I was hoping this extension deserved some attention, but,...I was very unsuccessful.
- when installing I got errors, then second installation went through
- after installing everywhere I moved I was getting Error 500, table does no exist. When I tried to looked at the site's forum to search for some hints, I got bunch of errors on a search page
- looked up in a DOCs but the documentation is completely disorganized, and there is no even a page explaining the whole concept of this component, and how it works, so most of it is a guessing...
English language used has lots of styling errors and sometimes it is hard to understand what the author is talking about
- I watched a video tutorial which uses a yellow cursor covering underlying screen which makes it harder to see where the mouse is pointing. This tutorial although pretty informative is very chaotic and doesn't start from the ground up how to use the component. Instead it shows unnecessary topics on how to download the extension from the developer site (waste of time).
Terminology used in this component is also somewhat strange as most people, while working with databases use the concept of: DATABASE, COLUMN (or field), COLUMN TYPE, KEY/INDEX etc. some of the terms in Cobalt have to be guessed a lot.
- developer website is causing problems as well. Forum is hard to operate and I was not even able to post a message. Their system supposed to send a confirmation email, which I have never received...

The bottom line is: I wasted several hours trying this extension, but it was not worth it. Perhaps developer will take all this into consideration and do some improvements

I decided to remove it as it was useless and full of bugs
Owner's reply

Sorry to hear about your experience with Cobalt.

The indication of missing tables points to a broken installation, which can be caused by a lot of reasons (broken installation file, permission problems on the server etc.)

We provide direct assistance through our support desk http://support.mintjoomla.com and even do the installation of our free component if someone experiences problems with it.

I am sure all this problems could have been easily resolved by reporting it to the support desk.
Your comment about the documentation is very valid and as indicated in our document section, after focusing on making the componet stable, documentation is now our priority.

In fact, over the last days we published several quite comprehensive articles for users who want to unleash the full power of Cobalt.

A demo site, which deeper explanation of fields and templates as well as examples are on the way as well.

Since I am the one who produced the criticized video, i have to apologize for my English. Unfortunately my native language is not English, but based on earlier feedback, it was quite well received by other watchers. Since the core Cobalt component is offered for free, we don't have the resources to hire professional speakers.

Your issue with the "yellow cursor" is based on the used screen recording software and is used in millions of tutorials worldwide.

We might consider your recommendation about our tutorial and split it into several steps, starting from downloading up to the actual usage (which is covered now in 1 video).

Since we are using some advanced technologies and a very complex database scheme, we try to simplify things for our users and don't want to confuse them with too technical terms. We follow the Joomla example here and using Section, Categories , Types and Fields. The average user will not need to know anything about SQL or database design. For the advanced user, we provide API access which will simplify the whole process of accessing data.

Something must have been wrong when you tried to post a message on our support desk, because since the start of it, we dont even require a registration to post there.

Sorry again for your experience, but if you experience some bugs, we would appreciate a detailed feedback (error message) to fix the problem and provide a better FREE solution to the Joomla community, as we hope the community will also to appreciate our time and efforts which went into this FREE component.

Thanks for your review.

byaklisiewicz, July 7, 2012
Skype Status AJAX refresh
This module rocks! Simple and does what it supposed to. Thank you for great extension.
byaklisiewicz, July 6, 2012
BS Myjspace
This extension crashed my site templates !
I do not recommend it.
Owner's reply

I suggest, as others extension authors for your reviews, to post on my support forum to participate constructively in the community extensions

byaklisiewicz, June 28, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
metaudio
It does what is says. Easy install, and no brainer configuration. I like the fact that it generates a folder with the demo file for you so you don't have to think where to put your audio files. One thing I'm missing though is back end metadata editing, play/stop/pause button. It would be nice if I could have some flexibility as far as layout of the audio links on the page.

I do recommend this extension !
byaklisiewicz, February 14, 2012
Xmap
This component rocks! I used previous version and was pretty happy with J1.5, but now it got even better. No problems with installation, easy to use (deid not have to read manual or anything). I just say BIG THANK YOU to the authors! Great Job!
byaklisiewicz, December 16, 2011
MP3 Browser
If this plugin works 100% of the time I would give it 5 stars. Unfortunately out of 5 sites that I used it, on 2 sites it simply crashed. One site. displays TAGS but no links to audio files. Suppoer for this plugin is poor. I have sent 2 messages to the developers but gaven't got a response at all. The problem is that I cannot even remove the plugin as it doesn't show up on the list. I suspect I can remove some php files and make some manual changes in the database, then reinstall it, but can't get contact from developers to find out exactly what the manual procedure should do.
byaklisiewicz, March 24, 2011
OSOLCaptcha
The plugin is working but has some bugs, which hopefully will be fixed soon. This plugin has messed up with my site. Errors while opening some pages (i.e. CONTACTS), also my template setting got messed up after activating, showing ugly large fonts on some pages.
Owner's reply

There will be no such issues if you have gone through the documentation well espescially FAQs section.

I mean the issues you reported are not issues of my plugin.This is misconception for you as you are technically naive about joomla and still didnt read the documentation.

byaklisiewicz, February 25, 2011
Fabrik
Excellent, fast tool to create simple (usually one table) forms and lists. I registered and paid an annual fee, but haven't gained really much (except few plugins). there are still quite serious bugs in the component and those need to be fixed first before adding new features. support is not bad, but could be better. I would even pay extra buck is I could only know this component is free from major bugs and there is more examples how to do things. This product though could be one of the best development components for Joomla when finished, but after 2 years of using it, I can say it is still in the preschool stage.
Owner's reply

Hi, can you report any bugs found in the forum please, we do fix things when reported and I'm not aware of anything seriously wrong at the moment!

Cheers
Rob

byaklisiewicz, February 4, 2011
Easy Joomla Paypal
Everything works great, and it is very easy to install and configure. There is one problem with internationalization. I had a problem changing default message: "enter amount" to another language. If this is fixed/implemented it would be the easiest and the best PayPal donation/payment module.
Arthur
byaklisiewicz, January 22, 2011
SpambotCheck
This extension works, with basic Joomla setup, it doesn't work however with CBuilder, and worst of all I was not able to get rid of it. When I disable it, it still shows up on my login page, and when I removed the extenstion my whoe site crashed. I'm not sure how the code is linked to the database and the Joomla core, but at this point it drives me nuts because I do not want it and I do not need it and I cannot remove it without consequences. It doesnt also offer any way for trsnslating the screen prompts to another language.
Owner's reply

I'm sad for your trouble but without further information about your Joomla configuration
I cannot decide, whether your problems really originate from this extension. You can contact us at contact@vi-solutions.de. I tested install, uninstall and disable, extensively and they work fine with Joomla 1.5.x (including many third party extensions).

When you install the plugin the following things happen.
- It adds a recordset in the jos_plugins table of your database (name = User - SpambotCheck).

- It adds the plugin-files spambotcheck.php and spambotcheck.xml and the plugin-folder SpambotCheck in plugins/user in the filesystem of your joomla-installation.

- It adds the language-files en-GB.plg_user_spambotcheck.ini to the folder administrator\language\en-GB and (de-DE.plg_user_spambotcheck.ini in administrator\language\de-DE in case you have german language installed).

- In case you enabled the plugin-parameter "Log Spambot to DB", there will be a table jos_rk_spambot_attempts in your database. This table will only be created, if there have already been any spambot attacks.

You can get rid of the plugin when you delete these files and the recordset in jos_plugins (not very elegant I know, but it should at least be a fast solution of your problem).

Plugin screen prompt is part of the language-files. It's the 'USER_LOGIN_SPAM_TXT'.

Regards, Aicha

byaklisiewicz, January 11, 2011
CFBlockCountry
Great idea, but,...
Installed locally on my XAMPP server and it is not working (popuing up an error). also it would be nice to attach a country code list to the extension.
Owner's reply

Hi There,

Thanks for the feedback. Though you have not provided the exact errors that you encountered on local setup, but a lot of times cURL is not enabled by default and that could lead to errors displaying.

We have released a new version for Joomla 2.5, if you try the same and still get any error message please feel free to contact me (pranjal@codefire.in) and I will ensure that all issues are taken care of!

Best!
Pranjal