The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

bobjenson

Reviews(11)
 
bybobjenson, July 18, 2014
JSitemap
I've finally found a sitemap extension that works - perfectly.

I have a client site with thousands of pages and many of them are via a 3rd party extension.

I had all sorts of concerns before my purchase, mainly thinking the pages from the 3rd party extension wouldn't be listed (I've had that experience with another sitemap extension in the past) but the whole process turned out to be easy as pie.

I contacted the developers, asking them about this 3rd party extension.
Their sitemap extension has a number of pre-defined 3rd party extensions built in but my particular one wasn't in as yet.

But this wasn't a problem, the dev kindly offered to test JSitemap with this extension.

He confirmed within a couple of hours that it wouldn't be a problem as it was just a case of adding a custom data source.

I was already impressed at this stage but he went a stage further and offered to setup the sitemap on my clients site and create the custom data source.

I accepted the offer and the work was completed very quickly.

I now have a sitemap which lists all my client's pages and automatically updates as new content is added.

I've since used this extension's other features such as editing the robot.txt to include the sitemap.

I can highly recommend JSitemap (I bought the Pro version) to anyone wanting a Sitemap in Joomla.
bybobjenson, July 16, 2014
NS Font Awesome
Simple story;

I needed to use Font Awesome icons in my Joomla 2.5 website.

I downloaded this plugin, enabled it and it simply worked.

Nice work guys!
bybobjenson, July 10, 2014
JCH Optimize
I tried this plugin a year or so ago and it worked OK but I couldn't enabled a number of the features.

Well I thought I'd try it again and I thought I'd just go silly and enable nearly all of the options (combining & minify CSS/JS, place JS at the end etc) and they all worked apart from Minify HTML (which I've since found out was another extension forcing responsive when it didn't need to, so Minify HTML is now working).

I was further impressed when I enabled the plugin to include other extensions (which in my experience is a common thing which breaks these performance extensions) and that worked out of the box, no tweaking, no excluding extensions (and I have a number installed)!

Since then I've bought the Pro version (which at the time of my review is only $5) and enabled the Pro features (which I also highly recommend) and they worked as well.

I did submit a ticket to the devs asking a couple of questions and they were answered within a day and all my questions were answered.

So yes, I can definitely recommend this extension.
bybobjenson, August 19, 2013
JoomShareBar Pro
I've used a number of sharing extensions over the years from Joomla 1.5 to 2.5 and I've finally found one that does everything I want.

There are a huge number of configuration options in the backend to make it fit into designs and colour schemes.

The way it handles responsive is fantastic. If you choose the vertical bar in responsive mode then it stays hovering to the side for as long as possible then moves to a horizontal bar within the site when there is no room; great design choice in my opinion.

Also I found the support to be excellent when I had some questions.

I highly recommend this.
Owner's reply

Hi Robert,

Nice to hear that you have finally found a social sharing plugin that fits your needs!

Cheers,
Roy

bybobjenson, January 29, 2013
Joomgalaxy
I don't usually leave reviews but I had to for this extension.

I installed JoomGalaxy without issues and set it up.

It had a few things which didn't work how I liked them but worked well. I logged a support call and the issues were fixed very quickly. I'm very impressed with the service so far.

And it has a huge range of customisation options.
bybobjenson, November 29, 2010
Ninja RSS Syndicator
Was nice and easy to setup. Has lots of options to choose exactly which sections/cat to use for feeds.
bybobjenson, November 14, 2010
aiContactSafe
I've used lots of contact extensions and I'm finally happy with this one.
I've been using this extension for a while now. It's easy to setup but it also has a load of customisation options.
Support is great as well!
bybobjenson, November 10, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Snippets
I just wanted to say this was exactly what I needed. I had to make a number of landing pages, with the same content, apart from various location text etc.
This allows me to make these pages in a much quicker manor.
And if I want to make a change to the landing page, I can now just change the 1 master snippet, instead of all my landing pages.
Thanks!
bybobjenson, November 7, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
HD FLV Player
This is my first negative review on this site and I really have given this company so many chances but enough is enough.

I bought their player around 4 months ago. The presales support was great, lots of info and communication. However, after I paid my money, I found an issue with JS errors in IE8 (they only occur after refreshing the browser or leaving a page with a video on it).

I logged a ticket on August 16th 2010, explaining the problem. Obviously I can’t paste in all the text from my various chases but at various intervals (I normally gave them 2 weeks to at least give me an update), I chased and the normal reply was “Sorry for the delay.We are checking this.We will fix soon and update you.” followed by nothing for weeks.

This went on for months, where the only solution they did offer was an update to the module which actually made things worse! Not only did their update not fix the JS errors but it also put a space/gap at the top of the module where the title would have been (I had disabled displaying titles, so it should have collapsed that area).

After more chases and no answers, I finally lost patience and demanded it to be escalated to their senior dev. After another couple of “we’ll get back to you soon” replies, they came back to me (October 23rd 2010) saying it was my site, not their module!

I had to prove it was their module by setting it up on my dev site. If I disabled their module the JS stopped occurring. If I re-enabled their module, the JS errors started again.

After this, they seemed to accept it was their module and came back with another update to their module on October 25th 2010. Due to the problems with them before, I thought I better try it on my dev site first. Lucky I did, this updated module had the same issues as their previous update (didn’t fix JS errors and space at top) but also had a new issue. This time, it changed the page to the name of the video! This would have ruined my SEO.

They did offer to log into my site and try to fix but after all these mistakes, there’s no way I could let them in. I couldn’t risk them breaking something else.

I’ve finally uninstalled their components/module and I’m using another FLV player (with no JS errors). I’ve asked for a refund (on October 29th 2010) but they’ve gone completely silent now.
Anyway, I hope this review stops some others making the same mistake as I did.
Owner's reply

Hi Robert

As you see the reviews from the other customers, we always give top priority even for after sales. On your case I see that my guys regularly update the status of the issue but there was a delay at the end since they were on the on the long festival holidays here in Diwali. When they back from the holiday they responded to your ticket on your request.

We will make sure to avoid the delay in response to all of our customers by monitoring the ticketing system closely. I would still like to resolve your issue if you are interested. My sincere apologize for the delay.

Thank you for understanding.

bybobjenson, July 27, 2010
JComments
I don't leave many reviews but I had to for JComments.

I've tried quite a few commenting systems for Joomla but this one is simply, by far, the best one around.
Easy to use, lots of features and most importantly, the support is GREAT.

I had an urgent issue with site going live and 'smart' the main man there, helped me out really quickly to solve the problem (which was with another extension).

Thanks again Smart / JComments.
AcyMailing Starter
I previously used Acajoom which is a great extension but this one beats it hands down. Even the starter version is packed full of features, it's easy to use and install and configured very cleanly.

Highly recommended.