The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

ccvortex

Reviews(2)
 
byccvortex, January 28, 2013
RSform Pro
Product works for very basic forms but anything past that requires PHP scripting knowledge.

Forms are not able to limit user selections to a certain amount of check boxes without some knowledge of PHP.

Forms have extremely poor layout functionality as they are table based and rely on the websites table CSS, not their own, so changes to the form means changes to your entire site... and this includes XHTML mode. This can be verified through FireBug.

Custom CSS could be applied, but again, you'll need to know how to add to, or hack your Joomla files to accomplish this.

Support is very, very expensive and subscription based, so not worth it.
Owner's reply

"Support is very, very expensive and subscription based, so not worth it."

Most, if not all of the commercial extensions on the JED are subscription based. It's how the GPL works. Very expensive = you had a 1 year membership costing you 19 euros, so that's roughly 1.58 euros per month.

The whole debate can be found on the forum: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=262&p=2983315
The reviewer never had the intention of using the support system because, as we later found out, his membership expired a month ago. He didn't even use the support system while his subscription was active so his comments about the support not being worth it are far-fetched to say the least.



"Product works for very basic forms but anything past that requires PHP scripting knowledge."

A few of the things that don't require PHP scripting knowledge: multi-page forms, payment forms, responsive forms, conditional fields (showing or hiding a field based on another field's selection), posting information to another script, integration with external services such as MailChimp, ConstantContact, Salesforce, vtiger, Joomla! registration etc.

"Forms are not able to limit user selections to a certain amount of check boxes without some knowledge of PHP."
There's already an article which explains how to do this, it's basically copy & paste: http://www.rsjoomla.com/support/documentation/view-article/646-how-to-limit-the-number-of-selected-checkboxes.html

"Forms have extremely poor layout functionality as they are table based and rely on the websites table CSS, not their own, so changes to the form means changes to your entire site... and this includes XHTML mode. This can be verified through FireBug."
RSForm! Pro does have a table-less layout, just look at this: http://demo25.rsjoomla.com/rsform-pro/multi-page-form-example
All done with CSS, no tables (it's actually bootstrapped). There are actually three table-less layouts as well as four "classic" layouts based on tables (which are there just for legacy reasons).

"Custom CSS could be applied, but again, you'll need to know how to add to, or hack your Joomla files to accomplish this."
Custom CSS can be applied by typing in the CSS in a textbox that's available in the form building area. No need to hack any Joomla! files.

byccvortex, September 9, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
SimpleCaddy
The cart works -- almost.

My major beef with this cart is you cannot control the quantity of items you either have, or can sell.
If I have, say, 5 office chairs I am selling, the Qty field the buyer uses can be filled with any amount they want, and the system will allow it. Related to this is the system will not update the quantities sold after a sale. So if I have 5 office chairs and someone tries to purchase 500, it will let them. This could be very bad for the store image and the sellers credibility because I am going to have to issue an apology and a refund. Also, if I using Paypal (which I am) then I get charged 3% of that sale but cannot recoup it from a refund.

If this major bug gets fixed I would be willing to pay 20 or 30 USD for this cart, but as it is now it is unusable unless you have a ton of every item and the time to manually update the qty available in your text.
Owner's reply

Since there are solutions for this "problem" why didn't I see you in the (very active) forum to ask a question?
Submitting a review of this kind lacks of interest in the product, as well as in the effort that went into it to create it.
Documentation is provided (also a very actively visited site) where all your problems and their solutions are described in detail.