The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

coopster

Reviews(32)
 
bycoopster, June 11, 2012
BJ Calendar with ToolTips
This was not quite what I had in mind as an events calendar but only because I didn't see the potential immediately.

My application for a Greeting Card & Gift Shop required a list of public holidays or events throughout the year together with some brief information and the ability to link to more information if required.

This extension does the job easily and elegantly. There is some work involved entering the information and replacing the stock images with your own but it is well worth the effort and for the pittance they charge for it, I rate this as possibly the best extension for the job.

Support? Because it is a Flash extension, I was unable to change the colour to match the template so I meekly inquired with the vendor about having this done. Considering it was Sunday the response was astoundingly fast and I had a reply together with an attached file to my specification by the time I had taken the dog for a walk.

They didn't charge me (although I offered) and best of all, it installed over the existing one without losing any of the settings or data.

On the basis of my experience in the last 24 hours there is no hesitation giving BJ Calendar with Tooltips full marks - it does exactly what it claims - beautifully. Thank you!
bycoopster, June 8, 2012
Load module into article
Easy to install and works exactly as intented. Thank you!
bycoopster, January 3, 2012
Silver CONTACT
Sometimes the extensions that look the least promising turn out to be the best and this is one of those.

I wanted a fairly comprehensive contact form that looks good and will render well with mobile devices. This one includes a Google map, a business card and an email form so I had doubts but decided to try it regardless.

It installed perfectly and the few user setting required were easily completed. As with most extensions I had to do some 'code tweaking' to make it show the address in UK format and I tidied up the appearance to suit my needs - such is the beauty of open source.

I had a couple of questions for Support and I got helpful and honest answers back very quickly the same day. They even advised me that it was not designed to work with mobile websites but I believe there is no reason why it shouldn't with some judicious tweaking.

From this point of view I have to score this extension top stars for quality and support.

There are a couple of things that would be useful and having mentioned them to the vendor I believe they could be in the next upgrade version. One is to permit the user to enter map co-ordinates rather than trust Google to set the location based on address - not often accurately. The other is to permit the user to set the zoom factor for the map although this is easily done by changing a number in the php code.

Apart from that, the 'Miscellaneous Description' field sets the width of the whole contact screen so if you leave it blank, or use only a few words, the form will not span the screen width. The fluid page width has great merit but there should be a means to override it because if you use a smaller screen width, the Info Bubble on the Google map will be wider than the map which looks very untidy.

These are just minor niggles and for anyone with a little php or html experience, it is totally configurable - which is perfect for my application.

It also has huge potential and has been nicely thought-out so for that reason I recommend it and declare it well worth the $5 it costs to download.
bycoopster, December 13, 2011
Payment Form
I wanted something simple and affordable that would allow a registered JomSocial user to make a token payment using PayPal. The main reason is to verfy that the member is an adult with access to a credit/debit card plus a valid email address.

This extension does it admirably and is worth the £13 it cost just for the simplicity, convenience and extensive customisation. I love the Translate feature that permits the wording to be amended and the excellent support available through the Forum. Highly recommended!
bycoopster, October 17, 2011
ARI Cloud Carousel
This extension took some time and effort in order to get the best from it but it really is worth the effort.

Once I worked out how the various settings work and the numbers that relate to them, the module did exactly what I wanted. The ability to add a background image is also useful and the amount of control is impressive.

However, the very basic instructions are helpful to get started but they don't offer much help with the finer points which is a pity - a brief manual would make it much more appealing.

For instance, the INI file holding titles, descriptions and links must be in the same folder as the images - there are no instruictions for this. Similarly the speed is set between 0 and 0.3 whereas the numbers relating to offset and radius are in (?) pixels so you need to keep this in mind when positioning the carousel since they default to 0 for automatic setting.

This extension has huge potential and it is good to have such an extension that doesn't use Flash, especially now that websites are starting to leant towards handheld devices - Android etc.

I give this full marks because it does exactly what it claims and it works :-)
bycoopster, October 9, 2011
3D Carousel Menu FX
I'm not sure why this extension is described as a 'menu' when it is much more than just that. Equally I cannot understand why it hasn't been reviewed previously!

Having used it for considerably more than a year, it has proved itself to be stable and reliable. It provides an excellent interactive showcase for products (or anything else you choose) and permits you to link them to whatever you wish. In a way I suppose it is a 'menu' but it could also be a showcase for a photo gallery or a collection - imagination seems to be the only constraint.

Use the module and tailor it to fit any position. The versatility of the settings and options makes it the perfect choice. I used the plugin to introduce it into a front page article.

If you're planning a gallery or even a business website where you want to direct customers to various options such as different products or departments whilst allowing them to glimpse the item of choice, this is well worth spending some time getting to know it.

Support? I've never required it because it works flawlessly and with some trial & error I managed to make it fit my needs perfectly. Highly recommended and full rating for this one.

To the developer, thank you for an excellent extension.
bycoopster, September 1, 2011
Flexi Contact
This extension is easy to install and configure to suit whatever contact details you wish to provide. Being a separate component, it does not conflict with the built-in contact feature so you could provide minimal contact for guests whilst having an extended contact page for registered users. The free-text layout gives it flexibility and I love the image based spam filter. I am happy to recommend it and like another reviewer exclaimed, stop reading reviews and just install it with confidence. Thank you for an excellent extension.
bycoopster, February 15, 2011
BIGSHOT Google Analytics
This is so simple to use and does exactly as it says. Don't bother with the manual method - full marks from me.
bycoopster, August 30, 2010
VideoFlow
If you're looking for an extension that will provide your own personal 'Tube' without too many 'bells and whistles' then look no further. It is easy to install, comes with an extremely versatile module (which can be copied to provide more functions) and a useful comments plugin. There is a learning curve as you would expect with something like this but it is well worth the effort and patience. Best of all it is inexpensive to upgrade to the 'Pro' version which gives you everything you'll need to get your professional looking 'Tube' online complete with media in a few hours. Just be patient and take the time to learn what it can do then make your judgement based on the look and feel of your website. This is one of the best extensions I've tried and I can recommend it without reservation.
bycoopster, January 12, 2010
AJAX Shoutbox
This is exactly what it says it is - a Shoutbox. Simple to install and easily configured to work in any module position using the CSS file. Regard the 'free' version as a trial and don't hesitate to pay for the pro version. At such a small price it's true value and comes with optional addons such as Smileys and BBCode.

The support is second to none and the only problem I had was not caused by the extension but my Joomla setup - fixed by the author within a couple of hours and now working perfectly. Just remember if you want support with the Pro version, let him know the version of Shoutbox and Joomla that you're using and do read the instruction for installation. For what it is, this extension get full marks and I recommend it!
bycoopster, December 8, 2009
Pro Magic Audio Player
Downloaded it, installed it, spent an age trying out all the settings and features and it works with the worst web browser in the universe (we all know which one I mean). A superb player, versatile and practical, well worth the modest outlay for a professional extension. Recommended!
bycoopster, December 7, 2009
R3D Floater
Simple (as most good inventions are) with clear instructions on getting it working and it does precisely what it says it will do. Be sure to follow the instructions for setting up as they appear when you first install the extension and you will not be disappointed. Best of all, it works faultlessly with the worst browser in the universe and that's a definite plus. Full marks for this extension!
Page 2 of 2