The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

crypple

Reviews(10)
 
bycrypple, May 23, 2014
Viper Youtube Video Gallery Pro
This may have been a good extension but the developer seems to not be supporting it. I bought the extension and never actually received it. I had to do a paypal reversal of charges. This should be taken off the JED until the dev is contactable and fixes his issues.
bycrypple, May 19, 2012
Modal system messages
This is terrific for Joomla content but unfortunately it doesn't work for YooThemes Zoo submission forms (which is where I really need it). I can't find a way to request support but if the author was able to enable it for Zoo it would be really valuable and would be worthy of a commercial extension.
Owner's reply

You can find the contact info in plugin header as usual. As for your request, this plugin uses standard Joomla messaging, and looks like Zoo doesn't. So...

bycrypple, March 8, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
IProperty
I can't say enough about this component. It is truly a professional solution and is very flexible. We have been working with it for a few months now and have found it to be exactly what we needed. In the future I know they're working in even more flexibility and user configurable parameters. They will be welcome additions for sure, but even at this point in it's development I happy give it 5 stars.

As for their support, I had a few issues with our site, mainly because our client had very specific requests. The changes required extensive code modifications, all of which were quickly attended to by their support staff in the forums. Vinny is the man! Thanks a bunch guys, you really helped us out.
bycrypple, November 4, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Custom HTML
After trying a few plugins that are site wide I really needed this for select pages that need custom styles or loading an external; style sheet. So much easier than using joomla profiles. Thanks so much!!!!
bycrypple, October 12, 2011
Smart Slider 2
If only all components were written with this much attention to detail and beauty. This is an excellent component and well worth the $. Fantastic job developers!!
bycrypple, September 28, 2011
Xmap
Again, home run by Xmap.

ATTENTION
To everyone struggling with the Google XML/HTML dilemma here is the solution:
- install the component
- Enable it's content plugin
- Create a XMAP new menu item
- Visit that URL with SEF's turned OFF
- replace the 'html' part of the url string with 'xml... for example:

change this:
index.php?option=com_xmap&view=html&id=1&Itemid=224

to this:
index.php?option=com_xmap&view=xml&id=1&Itemid=224

You will see the xml generated sitemap
- Submit this url to google webmaster tools.

If you have further problems with your ACESef or SH404SEF I recommend to simply disable the component for Xmap (option in sef configuration). This enables you to have nice sef's throughout the site while still letting Xmap work fine.
bycrypple, May 21, 2011
All Weblinks
Really, this was exactly what I needed, multiple modules across the page handling various categories. Just exceptionally well done. Thank you!

Only (slight) bug I noticed is that when adding a module style (eg style-box) to the joomla module the classes on the page pick up and append the style to the classes provided by the module. It's not a big deal, it just means going into the modules css and changing the classes to match. It may be my template uniquely causing this behavior or a minor bug. I though posting this might help people having issues with their template's styles.
bycrypple, March 24, 2010
Contact Enhanced Component
Used this on many websites with exceptional results. The developers support is second to none. Absolutely recommended.
bycrypple, February 9, 2010
BIGSHOT Google Analytics
Yup, works as promised and awesomely free. Great job mate!!
Shape 5 Weather
THE GOOD
This is by far the prettiest weather module on the JED. I'm very impressed by it's functionality and the way it fits into my site. The three day forecast could be restrictive for some but it's perfect for my needs. Great job Shape 5.

THE NOT SO GOOD
Ok, so this extension drove me mad for a while as the module title came up but no weather info, the code was there just no execution... sound familiar? You should also know that I successfully got this working perfectly for an Australian location, so here's some trouble shooting tips.

1. The tutorial for using another countries Yahoo weather station code is out of date. check the support forum for updated instructions here: http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,75/topic,4085.0/

2. After doing this mine still didn't work but after some sleuthing I found that it may be a php permissions error on my server. Create a php.ini file (just a standard text file) with the following line:

allow_url_fopen = on

(You may also like to duplicate this file and call it php5.ini if you are on Godaddy)

By following these two steps you have correctly configured the module AND allowed it to work on the server (ie access the yahoo data through php).

Neither of these are the developers fault and even after a couple of hours of frustration I still rate the module 5 stars.

Note to developers- it would really help if you updated the demo instructions site and made a note about the f_open php. Cheers!