The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

cwendt

Reviews(32)
 
bycwendt, July 21, 2014
Access manager
I understand the free version has a lot of restrictions as to what it actually will work for, but even with the stuff it said it would (such as articles), the multiple select options for Access Levels never appeared. Even when I manually applied settings using the Access Manager component directly, nothing happened. Just can't get it to work!
CacheControl
For some reason my site was recently having issues with its forms (BreezingForms) and the problem was localized to when the internal Joomla cache was on or off. Luckily for me, I found CacheControl and was able to setup a rule to prevent Joomla from caching any BreezingForms-related content. Worked like a charm! Thank you.
Jquery Jumpmenu JT
I was excited about this module because it has some nice styling options -- which normally only come with paid-for select menu modules -- but it's not worth how poorly it works!

Instead of being able to assign an existing Joomla menu, you have to manually enter every link url and text! What's up with the 40 field limit too?

There's no way I can use this effectively on my site... maybe if I needed a tiny jump link menu that stayed under 5 links or something, but definitely no good for a template menu!
Owner's reply

This is a jumpmenu with dropdown selecctbox so you enter your own links for jumpmenus.

bycwendt, May 12, 2014
Better Preview
This is one of those plugins that I ask, why isn't it a default Joomla feature like it is in WordPress? And then I asked, why didn't I start using this plugin years ago?? So much wasted time! Ha.

Needless to say, this plugin works excellent just like all of NoNumber's extensions. Great previews. Really helps page development, especially for my clients who are less Joomla-savvy than others.

A must-have for all Joomla sites for sure!
List of Articles in Content
This is one of those plugins that upon finding it, made me a very happy camper. I feel as if it's something that should be native to Joomla but isn't. Works beautifully. Now I finally have an easy way to show a list of sister pages in Joomla!

The "GET PRO Version for $24" link it generates though is a real eyesore though!! Ugh.
Calculator Generator
Maybe it's just me since I'm on a Mac, but I couldn't get the generator to work in Firefox. It get saying there was an error with my setup and the module couldn't be generated. Luckily I also have Google Chrome installed and was able to use that to successfully get my calculator generated.

Once the module was installed, it was very easy to assign its position and turn it on. Bam, done! Awesome. I worry that if it needs to be changed in the future it'll be a total pain though... after all, it'll have to be re-generated all over again. Good thing this probably won't happen with my current client, but for somebody else that might be a pain.

Overall pretty happy with this plugin. I'm glad I didn't have to use straight javascript code in a module to achieve this; it's much nicer being able to use a true Joomla module instead. Thank you!
bycwendt, April 21, 2014
OT Banner Slide
The OT Banner integrates with Joomla's native Banner feature, making it wicked easy to set up new banners to use with OT Banner. The settings are all straight forward and easy to use.

The module comes with documentation in its packaged download, which was super helpful! I wish more Joomla extensions did that.

Not only was it simple to setup and use, but it looks great too. Very sleek and modern. Love it. Thanks so much for making it free!
bycwendt, June 12, 2013
redSHOP Search
I've used this module in the past (back on joomla 1.5) and remembering having issues with it that I had to go to support for. It took them forever to fix the issues I was having.

With the new Joomla 2.5 version, I don't appear to be having any issues with this module anymore. Hopefully it stays that way.

Thanks for making this free too.
bycwendt, May 21, 2013
Ninja RSS Syndicator
For me, this extension took a little bit of tinkering to figure out, but not much. Now I use it on 10+ websites (going back to j1.5) and really like it. It's simple to setup and gets right to the point. This is very useful for both myself and my clients. Thank you!
bycwendt, May 8, 2013
Admiror Gallery
This was just what I was looking for... an image gallery with multiple photo albums! And it doesn't have all that unnecessary ratings/comments/etc. gobbly gook either.

Having the shortcode option was fantastic too. I struggle quite often with finding a way to put intro copy into components' pages, and this made my job super easy.

Works like a charm. Setting up photos and images works quickly and easily, intuitive to pick up and use. Thanks for creating, sharing, and especially, for making it FREE! :)
bycwendt, March 1, 2013
Xmap
I've used this extension for about a year or so on both 1.5 and 2.5 sites and never had a problem with it. It's simple and to the point but provides just enough configuration so I can get it how I want it.

Automatic sitemaps are great and having a great extension to do it makes my life even easier.

Thanks so much for coding and sharing Xmap with us! And for maintaining its updates up to and throughout 2.5's release! :)
bycwendt, January 24, 2013
qlform
I really like this module. Its form layout is very similar to WordPress's Contact Form 7, which I love. Most settings are intuitive and not overly complicated.

Sadly, I can't use this module because I can't get the Database configured. It keeps kicking back errors and not saving my database. First of all, it's really weird that I have to go into phpMyAdmin to setup a database myself -- very unusual for Joomla modules! And that's where all my issues are. I consider myself decently MySQL savvy, but I couldn't get this to work, and my site's form HAS to have a working, easily accessible database for my client. :(

I'll be keeping my eyes on this extension for future updates... hopefully the database section can be streamlined and improved because I really want to use it!
Owner's reply

Hi,
thank you for your review.
Next time you got problems with qlform, just ask;-) I'd be glad to help.

qlform's future: I'm not planning to add a table configuration to mod_qlform. It is but a small tiny module, a helpful tool to spare people a lot of work. So table configuration will stay in phpMyAdmin or you use the following component->.

Art Adminer: You could try to use this very helpful component. It enables you to administrate the database tables via Joomla! backend.

Greetings
Mareike

bycwendt, December 14, 2012
Accordeon Menu CK
This is one of the best modules I've ever seen. Not only is the module manager edit page well designed and formatted, but it has every option I could possibly ask for and more!

And it works really well with redSHOP, which is amazing!!! I couldn't get any other accordion menus to work with it and was starting to get really frustrated.

Thank you so much for this fantastic extension! I'll definitely have to check out your others. :)
bycwendt, November 1, 2012
Tabs
As a programmer, I'm happy that I don't have to work about it working in all devices... it just does! Very easy to customize and change the colors, easy to train clients to use.

I love NoNumber extensions. They're always coded with quality and professionalism in mind. Bravo! :)
bycwendt, October 26, 2012
When I first started coding Joomla, this plugin really saved my butt... I don't know what I would've done without it!!

As I've grown as a developer, I find myself barely using it anymore as I prefer to code in conditional statements right into the Joomla template itself, but I still keep this extension on hand just in case something ever comes up; I install it into all of my website by default. :)

Thank you for creating and sharing this plugin. It's definitely a must-have!
bycwendt, October 26, 2012
Snippets
This is another one of those extensions you wonder how you lived without...

A lot of website have content that is re-used across multiple pages, and when it needs to be updated... boy, that's a lot of updating to do! But with Snippets, you update ONE thing and it's automatically updated on ALL pages! Wow!

Dear NoNumber, I may be in love with you... thanks for making my life so much easier!!!
bycwendt, October 26, 2012
Modules Anywhere
I've been using this module almost since the very beginning of when I started coding Joomla sites. Now, I don't know how I'd ever make a site without it! It expands what modules mean to me... they're not restricted to widgetized areas, but can go anywhere in the content. I can stick a login box right in the middle of a page, or a slideshow. SO incredibly useful!

Honestly, I don't know what I'd do without it! :)
bycwendt, October 11, 2012
ObfuscateMe
I love this plugin... Granted, I only have to use it on rare occasions when other plugins force me to disable Joomla's native email cloaking feature, but without Obfuscate some of my sites would have some serious spam issues!

I love how simple it is. Just install, insert the shortcode, and done! Thanks for the great plugin. :)
bycwendt, March 1, 2012
sh404SEF
Very quick & responsive, love it! Makes me so glad I spent the money on this extension -- it's only one of two I've ever purchased, and it's been SUCH a life saver! Keep up the good work, guys :)
bycwendt, January 12, 2012
Fun Supersized
I was put-off by the crappy Demo, but the comments were all so good that I had to try it for myself... and I'm so glad I did!! This extension is superb! It's super easy to setup & works flawlessly. Love it, thank you! :)
Page 1 of 2