The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

cwendt

Reviews(32)
 
bycwendt, December 6, 2011
DJ-Catalog 2
I like this catalog. It's very simple, but that's what it should be...

It hasn't met up with the needs of my advanced clients, though. For one, there's no option to add attributes, so I've had to start using eCommerce extensions set to catalog mode. And to customize the layout away from the default one when I have used it took a lot of tinkering around in the PHP.

It's good for plug-and-play if you don't want to change it much though, so for people who don't know a lot of HTML/PHP and are content with out-of-the-box stuff, it's great.

Customer service on the forum is alright from what I remember. It's monitored relatively well.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review,
Regarding the attributes, we're just developing option of custom fields and custom filters that will allow for much deeper configuration. This updated version should be released real soon. When it comes to layout and customization in new version you can create your own themes, the code is clean and pretty simple to manage so I encourage you to investigate this option as well. With little knowledge of php/html/css you'll be able to create and reorganize the dj-catalog2 theme to your client's needs. If you have more questions regarding customization please use our forum or ticketing system available for our customers. Once again thank you for this review.

bycwendt, October 12, 2011
Include Component
This is definitely one of those, "Why didn't I find this 5 websites ago?!" extensions! I kept having to code-in stupid work-arounds to get articles and components to mesh up, but now I don't have to worry about it anymore! Ahhh, this is so amazing, I can't even express with words how happy this makes me! :)

Took a little dinking around in the beginning to get it to work (helps if you remember to enable the plugin...), but now it's working great. Absolutely fantastic!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
bycwendt, October 4, 2011
JoomDOC
This is one of those programs I wish I could live without, but can't. There aren't any good alternatives (for free) that offer a content editor plugin for inserting PDFs how I want mixed with unlimited category capabilities.

But it's not always very intuitive and sometimes is a little clunky. The website for it is a mess... don't except any help from the Support Forum; I had an issue for a week that was not allowing JoomDoc to work on my site (turns out I had to disable the Mootools upgrade) -- and not once did I get a reply on the forum, so it's pretty useless. Also, not sure why they say JoomDoc 3 is 1.5.x compatible when I couldn't get it to work on any of my 1.5.x sites... hm, strange.

Despite this, I still plan on using JoomDoc on my future sites. Clients seem to like it, and like I said before, it's the only extension I've found that matches all my site's requirements.

So, I guess we're stuck with each other, JoomDoc...
bycwendt, September 26, 2011
Attachments
This is an amazing plugin! Love it. Only problem I have is that I have pages where there's different attachment sections, but with this plugin everything gets grouped together. (So instead of it saying "Attachments:" I'd need multiple ones, ex. "Fruits:" / "Vegetables:" that I could add individual attachments to.)

So, sadly, I won't be able to use it for my site. But I still see the power and beauty of this plugin and hope to be able to use it sometime in the future!
bycwendt, September 22, 2011
redSHOP
redSHOP has been my saving grace. It's added the amazing flexibility I need as a web developer, has pretty good customer support, and all that jazz. But it's definitely still got a ways to go. I'd expect such a large extension to have bugs, and I've found a handful over the course of using this, but all of them have been worked through thanks to the redSHOP tech staff.

I'll continue to use redSHOP for future projects, and am really looking forward to when its a more complete, polished extension. There's so much potential there, I can smell it!
bycwendt, September 8, 2011
ARI Image Slider
I absolutely love the Nivo slider, and ARI Image Slider converts it to Joomla the best. Customizing it is easy Joomla-side, which I appreciate. And it's very easy to update and maintain, which my clients will appreciate!

The only issue I've had with it so far is the following:

It's not obvious or documented where the "ariimageslider.ini" file for descriptions should go -- I dug through the forum thinking there was a bug as to why it wasn't working, which wasted my time. Please mention this somewhere so future users don't have an issue with it!

Other than that this is absolutely superb... Thanks so much, and especially for making it free! :)
bycwendt, August 30, 2011
DJ-MultiTreeMenu
Installed and tested this yesterday and am already in love with it. I've admired it for a while and am super excited that I finally got a project that warranted using it! I love DJ-Extensions -- it's one of the few extension websites I regularly visit outside the JED. The support is good, and it's easy to customize the extensions to almost exactly what you want if you know CSS.

Keep up the great work, guys!
bycwendt, August 23, 2011
bo:VideoJS
I've always wondered how to get HTML5 video easily into my Joomla sites -- this is absolutely perfect! And I'm a huge fan of VideoJS already, so that's just the cherry ontop of the icing on the cake!! :)
bycwendt, August 3, 2011
ByeByeGenerator
The best plugins are the ones you install, enable, and are good to go. Thanks so much, now I don't have to remove that line manually anymore!! :)
bycwendt, August 3, 2011
BIGSHOT Google Analytics
Very very easy to install & use but the code Google Analytics uses isn't the most current. The code should not be in the head of the page, right before the ending [/head] tag. I'll stick with hardcoding it in for now until a newer version is available. Thanks anyway!
bycwendt, June 16, 2011
I've tried this on multiple of my redSHOP sites and it never works as it should. Half the time the short description field disappears in the searched-for items list depending on what you search for with no clear pattern. I've experienced this with 100% default templates on everything (even my main template), but it still malfunctions.

Support was semi-OK -- I got replies, but nothing really helpful at all -- so now I'm stop with a search feature for my shop that is barely useful.

My experience with redSHOP up until now has been amazing, and this is clearly the weak link in the chain. Fix is ASAP, please, I really want to use it!!
bycwendt, June 9, 2011
Custom Flash
I downloaded this to use the "do not auto-play" feature, as that's what I'm looking for, but it doesn't work. The flash just shows up as a box that can't be clicked to start playing or anything else.

Other than that it works just fine I suppose.

Always sucks though when it's not obvious it's a demo version with a copyright link on it until after it's installed too.
Page 2 of 2