The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

dcurtis1

Reviews(10)
 
bydcurtis1, July 2, 2009
Better Preview
Very simple to install and use and a big time saver too.

This makes working with Juga soooooo much easier and I absolutely love the full page preview!!

This is a must have for any site.
bydcurtis1, May 7, 2009
Kunena
I have a new site and only had a few posts and was running Fireboard 1.0.4
I read the upgrade and the migration posts on the Wiki and just decided to uninstall Fireboard and install Kuenena.

I wasn't real concerened about loosing any posts so I just went for it.

I didn't loose anything. The settings stayed and i kept all my posts.

I very highly recommend this component!! *****
bydcurtis1, May 22, 2008
Popin Window
It works as advertised! No install problems at all, just install, enable, and place your html in the editor.

don't forget the {popin} tag in your article.
bydcurtis1, April 16, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Akeeba Backup
I would have to say that of all the tools that I have downloaded and installed that this one is at the top of my list for timesavers and ease of use!

I have a test site in a sub-domain and need to keep the configuration as close as possible. Well now I can have them exactly the same!

I downloaded the tool yesterday and installed it and performed a backup (really simple). This morning from work I deleted all files in the subdomain and moved the backup file into the subdomain and unzipped it. All that was left to do was access the site from a browser and change permissions on a few directories. Just a few basic screens with basic information to supply and... VIOLA!!!

An exact clone of my main site. This is awesome!!!!!!!
bydcurtis1, April 5, 2008
eXtplorer
Goodbye Joomla Xplorer and hello eXtplorer!!

Wow! it's like going from a vw bug to a Cadillac!

I am totally in awe of this!! The Ajax made all the difference!
bydcurtis1, April 2, 2008
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
BlastChat
Don't be fooled by what the other guy said about banners and ads and stuff like that. You can turn that stuff off with the click of 2 or 3 radio buttons and put your own stuff there if you want to.

It installs very easily as advertised although I couldn't find any instructions on how to do the setup. Very easy to figure out. I was half asleep when I did it!
I wanted a chat localized to my website and didn't want to be hooked into a global chat and only wanted my registered users to have access to. It accomplished exactly what I wanted.

I finally figured out that you have to create a new menu item for it to be displayed. Couldn't find a plugin or module after the install!

Anyway, It has been working very nicely without a problem. Finally, a chat component for 1.5
bydcurtis1, April 1, 2008
ChronoForms
I really, really like this app. I have been using Jommla for about a month now and before that did everything the hard way, by trial and error.

No more having to get and configure a cgi application to handle the form for email. yeah!!!

Anyway, it installed beautifully. I went to the website and watched the video once. Then opened up Frontpage and created my form and then copied and pasted and it works.

There are a lot of advanced options that I am sure I will never need and have no desire to learn but for basic functionality I give it 6 stars.
bydcurtis1, March 21, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
ExtraWatch
Iknow, I know, I did read all about it first and saw that there were issues with the program for 1.5 before I installed it. As usual, I figured I would be one of the lucky ones that it worked for.

Unfortunatly, I wasn't!!

It installed fine with on problems and I did make sure that Legacy was enabled before the install. As I said, it installed fine and then I went to configure the module and BOOM... "big blank white screen". Loaded the frontpage of the website BOOM.. "Big blank white screen"

Disabled the module and the website came back up then I uninstalled it!

I'll keep checking back for a stable version. Looks like a great product in the Demo.
Owner's reply

Hi, I'm really sorry, what happened. Many registered users downloaded 1.2.4 and no-one complained about anything, so I announced it here. One user unfortunatelly asked me to change the retrieving of the live site with &cmsInstance('CMSCore') which worked for him, but not the rest of the users.

bydcurtis1, March 20, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
uddeIM
I installed this on my site yesterday (flawless and easy).
Install and configuration took less than 15 min.

Does everything I need it to and more.

I would highly reccomend this to anyone.
bydcurtis1, March 10, 2008
JCK Editor
I have been using Joomla for approx. 1 week and installed the JoomlaFCK editor after reading these reviews. I is so much better than the one that came with the program. I really like the fact that when you insert a picture you can see it rather than having to remember the path.

There only a couple of things I have found that I don't like is that the "Read More" button does not function in IE7. I does however work in Firefox so, problem solved. The other is that the editor background takes on the color of the Template background.