The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

dex

Reviews(12)
 
bydex, September 28, 2012
AutoTube
I have a blog that auto-publishes youtube videos once a week. Works like a charm - I never have to think about it. Easy set up, good config options. I did make a couple of custom changes to the article content.
bydex, August 20, 2012
Saved me .5Mb and .25 second on my page load size & time over linking to an empty article or using an empty iframe. Thanks!
bydex, July 4, 2012
Kunena
The team have really done a terrific job on Kunena 2.0, which is a major re-engineer that improves performance, usability and structure of Kunena, looking forward to a long product life. Thanks very much guys.
bydex, July 2, 2012
JLSecure My Site
Easy to install and configure, works like a charm. Has stopped those rampant password hackers dead in their tracks. Thank you very much
bydex, November 10, 2011
User Article Manager
Excellent intuitive tool for managing your own content and creating new articles in the frontend. I tweaked it to copy articles with today's date - makes it clean and simple for my users to add a new blog entry each day, using yesterday's entry as a template.
Lovely work - thank you.
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review. I like the idea of the copy article having "today's" timestamp on it. I think that's worth including as an option.

bydex, October 26, 2011
Install and go. No effort required, as the user just has to have a gravatar account and the rest is automatic. Thank you.
bydex, July 4, 2011
JCK Editor
Excellent features via plugin set - especially for including code (HTML, PHP, JS, CSS). I'm using it on J1.6 and loving it. Great range of powerful extensions such as spell checker, image editor, auto-save, version control.
bydex, May 10, 2011
ARI Ext Menu
I installed this module on a 1.6 site and had a few hassles with submenus that I thought were Javascript clashes. The support crew upgraded the module for me which fixed it and they were also extremely helpful in finding a CSS issue.

I now have two left-column pop-out menus.

Top marks - works perfectly. Thanks!
bydex, February 23, 2011
JW Player Advanced
I initially had difficulties understanding the licence model and purchasing the product, but once I had it, it installs easily and is very powerful and feature rich.

I had to explore quite a lot of the documentation to set up with CDN and RTMP, and to explore the wealth of features and add-ons via Longtail.

But one you get there, it's worth it.

I had trouble getting RTMP settings right, but the JoomlaRulez support is excellent - very helpful and tenacious - so I'm there now.

I'm working with this extension on both Joomla 1.5 and 1.6 - fantastic!
bydex, June 6, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Akeeba Backup
I can only imagine how hard it must be to write an extension like this, with all the possible hosting scenarios to take in to account, so I must comment...

Firstly, both the process and the instructions are clean and clear. Quite simple to follow.

I have just moved a 1.0.15 site from Windows hosting to Linux hosting, and the only issue I had was a stubborn resistance on the part of the installer to move on after the database had been populated. No problem, because once I tweaked the configuration.php file manually and deleted the installation directory, it all worked like a charm, far exceeding my expectations.

Thanks, I'd use it again any time. And it's free - I will donate right now.
bydex, April 24, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
I have used this in 1.0.x and now in 1.5.x and I'm loving it. It has so many useful parameters that I can now do lots of devious things with my content. Very very handy. Before I discovered this, I was writing my own modules each time I wanted to do something a bit non-standard. Congrats and thanks to the author
bydex, May 10, 2007
Fabrik
Fabrik has really matured from its previous incarnation as MosFroms. It's easier to install, easy to use, more powerful and is packed with features. It has so far been able to handle all the curly questions I've asked of it.
Well done team!