The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

dhphllps

Reviews(12)
 
bydhphllps, February 13, 2014
JomLand Ticket Center
Excellent, easy to use component and module. I use it to sell concert tickets for a chamber ensemble, and it was very easy to set up with just a couple of small quibbles:

1) The documentation isn't really clear about what functions are only in the paid version- I had to discover this by installing the free version and seeing what wasn't in the various options. I didn't hesitate to upgrade to the paid version, though, as it works very well and is reasonably priced.

2) The module language is hard coded, so I had to edit the source to correct a typo ("Detials" instead of "Details.")

3) No way to choose the "from" address for outgoing emails- it uses the global mail "from" setting.
bydhphllps, December 20, 2013
Modals
As with all of the nonumber extensions I've used, this is simple to use, well documented and well supported by its author.

I had some difficulty getting it to work properly with bootstrap button links, and Peter responded in the support forum almost immediately with the correct syntax to use.

IMHO, You can't go wrong with Nonumber extensions - as the title says, they just work, flawlessly and effortlessly. And if they don't at first, Peter will see that they do.
Account Expiration Control
I have been using AEC for almost 5 years. The component is extremely powerful and flexible, but because of that, it will take even an experienced Joomla! user some time to figure out all the ins and outs. Any new installation should be thought out and planned carefully before implementation.

I have had a few problems over the years, but the authors have been very good about responding to questions and finding solutions. I just updated to version 1.0 and found it's even better than before. Some users have reported problems with support, but that has not been my experience.

The one weakness I have experienced, which the author acknowledges has been a problem, is documentation, and although they have made progress in that area, the docs are still continuously under construction.
bydhphllps, May 28, 2012
jVoteSystem
I needed a way to offer an online officer voting option for members and this extension proved to be perfect for my needs. Very easy to set up, just the right options for my elections (vote for up to three of the 10 candidates, one vote each candidate, restricting multiple voting, recording user id of those voting, etc.) WAY MORE than a simple poll component! I had a question and it was answered within 5 minutes. Couldn't be happier, especially with a free extension!
bydhphllps, December 19, 2011
Asynchronous Google Analytics Plugin
Two minutes from reading the reviews on this page to having it installed and functioning on a site. Much easier to use than hacking a template file, especially those based on complicated frameworks.
bydhphllps, November 9, 2011
AdsManager
I've tried several other classified components, but this fits my needs the best. It is used on a professional association's website for members to post items for sale. I didn't like the look of a few elements of it out of the box, but the developer provided quick, accurate and helpful assistance in customizing it for my needs. It's handling a lot of ads and very heavy traffic with ease.

Thomas also listens to his customers and adds features based on feedback.
bydhphllps, July 13, 2010
Art Sexy Lightbox
This is the first lightbox popup type extension I've tried that didn't conflict with something in my template. A big THANK YOU to the developers for that. Also, when I asked on their forum about what I felt was a missing feature of the module, they posted on their site and also emailed me a new version within 24 hours. Great addition to the JED!
bydhphllps, March 12, 2010
Ecwid
I've tried Simple Caddy and Virtuemart and many things in between and everything was either way more complex than I want or didn't have the features I need. This one fits my needs ALMOST perfectly. Once PayPal Standard or Pro payments are functional it will be perfect. Now the only Paypal function available is Express Checkout, which (in the U.S. at least) requires a PayPal account.

They have an active forum with regular input from the developers and a listing of feature requests that can be voted on by users. A GREAT addition to the JED.
Owner's reply

Thank you for the review.

Just a quick note: PayPal Standard will be added in the next major version that will be released in a few weeks.

bydhphllps, January 25, 2010
AcyMailing Starter
After struggling with several other newsletter components along with CbMailing, I installed this and I've stopped looking. What a delight to use! Easy to understand and very flexible. High marks for a great component.
bydhphllps, July 1, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sourcerer
Installed and configured painlessly, and it just works. I had a minor problem with html entities inside sourcerer tags being rendered properly and Peter fixed the problem by issuing a new version within a few hours. Bravo!
Owner's reply

Yes, tthanks for pointing out that bug... bringing Sourcerer! closer to perfection ;)
New version (0.1.4) is just released.

bydhphllps, April 1, 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
CiviCRM
Although it didn't install without a few tweaks to the system*, instructions for doing so were easily located on the authors' forum, and once done, installation was simple and straightforward. This is a very complex system that takes some time to learn, but the capabilities are astonishing. Three cheers for open source!

**add a few lines (documented on the forum) to the Joomla configuration.php file and use "install from directory" rather than "upload and install."
bydhphllps, March 21, 2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
CB Captcha Plugin
and works flawlessly out of the box. thanks!