The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

dwlamb

Reviews(1)
 
bydwlamb, February 8, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
ExtraWatch
For a Joomla website, the layout and functionality of the web site is dismal.

Forums seem restricted to paid users for, though I registered, never found a link to start a new topic. I can contribute to supporting others all I want but not seek support.

I can understand ticketed direct support restricted to paying users. But for those getting to learn the extension and needing assistance to debug installation the arrangement experienced does not follow the spirit of Open Source.

Online documentation is not legible due to an iframe or other container that is too wide for the width of a middle column on a 4:3 aspect ratio of 1280x1024. This screen dimension is still a standard in web design and should be respected.

Lastly, navigation system is horrible with transparency of the menu background so low text of middle column interferes with choosing sub-options of the menu fly-out
Owner's reply

Hi, first of all I must say that I'm quite sad. Not because of only one star, but because of fact that this review is very unfair.
I can cope with a constructive critics, but not in case that most things are simply untrue.

"For a Joomla website, the layout and functionality of the web site is dismal." - I rearranged it many times, removed unrelated articles, etc.
The whole website contains approximately 4 250 indexed pages! from which 2773 are the forum topics..
But ok, there is still a space for improvement and I'll do my best to make it most convenient for our users.

"Forums seem restricted to paid users for, though I registered, never found a link to start a new topic". - This is also untrue.
It's free for everyone and always will be. I'm of course paying more attention to tickets from customers, but you can check if
the forum topics are answered or not.. The "start new topic" link is the first one which appears
if hover over Forum link in menu. I can place it in more places so users can find it more easily.
I just wonder why didn't you contacted me directly. There is the "Contact Us" link on every page in heading..

"Online documentation is not legible due to an iframe or other container that is too wide for the width of a middle column on a 4:3 aspect ratio of 1280x1024."
- I found that it was caused by bad way how Joomla rendered the content of a category (2 columns). There is no "iframe".. and it has to do nothing with 4:3 aspect ratio.
But if we're talking about resolution, there were some users who complained that they were not able to view website in "1024x768", we have also some users with disabilities.
That's why it's optimized for this resolution.
Regarding the documentation - the truth is, that there are 12 professional articles to be completed on JoomlaWatch functionality at the end of this week.
There are also multiple instructional videos on JoomlaWatch functionality and there is more to come :)

"Lastly, navigation system is horrible with transparency of the menu background so low text of middle column interferes with choosing sub-options of the menu fly-out"
- please send me a screenshot how it interferes, no-one ever complained about that. If you or other users experience such a problem, please send me an email or submit it via contact form.
Joomla.org contains a menu too .. This menu system is very effective, because you simply cannot fit everything on one page and it allows you to find things in one click.

For all other users - if there's anything I can help you with, in case you have any problems, feel free to contact me via link in heading of the website.. Have a nice day