The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

eoin@uglyfashionmedia.com

Reviews(9)
 
byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, September 17, 2013
Google Maps by Reumer
It works well, it's free, but the support also works well, better than some paid stuff to be fair. And it's been updated recently so that's good too.

Only suggestion would be some sort of auto update feature, as I didn't see this appearing in my extension managers update. Other than that, perfect. Gold star.
Owner's reply

The auto update feature is configured for the plugin for Joomla 2.5 and 3.x. But the update from Plugin version 2.x to 3.1 is not automatically because the plugin changed internally.
Keep in mind that the PHP configuration and Joomla has to be configured correctly.

byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, June 23, 2012
Akeeba Backup
Firstly it backs up. Useful, but there are other manual ways. Still a lot faster. Then it can back up to remote places such as Amazon S3. More useful, and probably more secure. Plus... contingency.

And now, it can backup a dev site, and transfer it to a live site without screwing it up. You can tell it not to overwrite usertables, comments or forum posts. Now that's EXACTLY what you need.

His tutorials are well written too.
byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, April 11, 2012
JFBConnect
Brilliant product.
The documentation is well structured and set out in a way that is easy to read. It is a step by step guide that covers everything you need to know. If you do get tripped up the support is both unbelievably responsive, and also excellent.
I haven't explored everything just yet - there's tonnes. But so far everything is sweet, works well, and is quite comprehensive. I have it working on a few sites, both K2 and Kunena work well with the product.
All extensions should be like this.
byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, March 30, 2012
R Antispam
This is an absolutely brilliant component/adddon/whatever. My spam went from annoying to non existent in no time at all.

I may get one every few months, but nothing like what used to happen. I don't have a clue how it works, but it is pretty amazing.

Thanks to this developer for his insanely good work, he should be given an absolutely massive medal. Welcome round for dinner any time.
Owner's reply

Sure.
Where to for dinner? ;)

byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, October 17, 2011
Freestyle Support
I can't believe this product is so far ahead of the others I researched! It's a great product, awesome value for money and adds a genuine business benefit. I try to add this to most of my sites. It's extremely customisable in terms of the functionality and I found their support to be some of the best I've had. They seem to be improving the support too, which can only make it even better. Extremely satisfied customer! I just need it to be fully 1.7 compatible now with ACL included. It has some included as standard but I'd prefer it to have deeper ACL. They have already taken some of my points on board and stated they'll make some available for the future, so I hope they'll keep working on this one too. Great work guys
byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, October 17, 2011
Kunena
I can't tell you how good I have found this product. I also can't tell you how much I was impressed by installing the latest version! It was awesome! I can't believe I forgot to review this product it's surely worthy, I've been using it for an age, and only reviewed it as someone asked me for a suggestion on a good Forum product! I haven't used any of the others but at this point I really so no reason to. Great work guys, and good support too.
byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, October 11, 2011
ValAddThis
Excellent add in. Actually makes Add This a little bit better - and it's already sweet!

I really liked the option for the larger icons, which I find pretty - albeit you can customise add this, it has saved me some trouble!

Adds a tonne more options besides! Really takes a sweet add on to another level.
Owner's reply

Thank you so much for the review and the feedback too Eoin!

byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, October 1, 2011
ValAddThis
Seems to work well, the only thing I couldn't work out how to do was make a Google +1 button, it only seems to have Google Buzz. I'm sure I'll crack it though, as the addthis website has a pretty good documentation.

Regards,
Eoin
Owner's reply

Thank you for the review Eoin. Actually the Google +1 buttons are working just fine -even the ValAddThis-only variants; there were some issues that I have fixed in the previous version of ValAddThis.

byeoin@uglyfashionmedia.com, July 29, 2010
Hey, great product, succeeded where others were lacking.

Personally I liked this product because of all the extra features that it provides, I found it very easy to set up and use, and, when I did have a problem (I didn't like the border), I found the answer in the FAQ page on his website, so solved it near immediately. I also had another problem where my menu started appearing beneath the gallery, but I simply added a z-index: 1 to the css file and it resolved it immediately! Such a simple solution that even I could do it :)

I would have given this a 5 star rating but I really wanted the images to open in a new window, I think this is probably a really easy fix, so contacted the developer, and have high hopes that it will be resolved.

All I can say is thanks to the developer, top product, when I had tested so many others which I didn't like, or couldn't quite do what I wanted. I figured it would be easy to find a simple image gallery component, but I tried loads, and was thinking I might have to use a commercial one, when it was not a core feature of the website I was making (hence I was being a skinflint). This product solved my problem, with ease, and most importantly put a huge smile on my face.