The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


bygenegun, April 10, 2014
Testimonial Fader
The extension does exactly what it says on the box. The support is lightning-fast responsive and helpful. Well worth the money.
bygenegun, July 23, 2013
JoomShareBar Pro
This is really great! This social sharing option offers all the features I was looking for lately, namely the responsive behavior, and the asynchronous loading of the image AFTER hovering on the cool icons (like what they do on TechCrunch).
Within 10 min of paying and downloading it, I had the extension placed and running exactly as I wanted.
Owner's reply

Thank you Guillaume! You exactly describe the intention of the plugin: get it up and running in no time with many features.

bygenegun, July 9, 2013
SP Upgrade
Migration from Joomla! 1.5 to 3.1 was very easy and comprehensive. The only potential issue is that this extension works best when both databases are on the same server. I could not update from one location to another. Still, it was very easy and I don't regret having paid for this. I must also add the customer support is really helpful and understanding. I have migrated multiple sites since Joomla! 1.0 and this extension was by far the most hassle-free I have encountered.
bygenegun, February 27, 2013
Country/IP Block
Nice extension, works out of the box. The big plus is that being a module, you can select specific pages to block while the rest fo the website remains accessible.
bygenegun, February 3, 2013
I have used jcomments on various sites since Joomla! 1.0. I liked it except that it lacked essential social features such as commenting as google/facebook/openID. I therefore moved to Disqus for a while, until I figured out for myself the many issues that make people hate Disqus.
So back to jcomments then.

Now all these years later, I am disappointed to see that jcomments has not made much improvements to build on its initial good design. It is a solid commenting system but it has failed to update to a more social era.

One example of this: importing from Disqus is a feature that has been requested since 2009, but has been left unadressed and posts about it are just ignored on the developer's forum. For me this is a game breaker obviously, in terms of my own system, but also because it illustrate a lack of development.

So yes, jcomment is good but it only does the bare minimum, which was great for Joomla!1.0 but is no longer enough.
bygenegun, January 22, 2013
Author Info Box
This plugin does exactly what it is supposed to, and it is very easy to integrate and style via CSS. Moreover, the developer is truly keeping a close eye on his extension and he will go to great extend to implement suggestions offered by users. Great stuff.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review, genegun!

bygenegun, December 18, 2012
Advanced Module Manager
Now that is what I call a bloody good extension! There was a dire need for flexible module display settings in Joomla and this is now fixed. This extension alone has helped me to find workarounds to more issues than I care to remember. For free. Thanks a lot!
bygenegun, December 13, 2012
JS Flexslider
This is a wonderful little module. It is working and very pretty as is, just out of the box. It scales well on responsive templates. I wish all extensions could be that efficient.
bygenegun, August 8, 2012
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
The plugin does what it is supposed to but there is a hidden backlink to the author's website.
Owner's reply

Hello genegun,

yeah the free version of the imagesizer sets a backlink to the developer website, but we have also a paid version without a backlink.

You have to understand that we develop a long time for a new version and offer support. This way we can receive a small benefit.

best regards, Team reDim

bygenegun, July 27, 2012
Microdata Google Breadcrumbs
Good module, does what it says. Just a shame that it does not keep the alignment of the core module. Here, with long titles, it tends to go all over the place and some fiddling with the style will be required.
Easy Header
This is a really useful and easy extension to use. It allows you to really customize your header. IMHO, it should be part of the Joomla! core.
I did not put the maximum amount of stars because there was an unfortunate conflict between this extension and my RSS feed. I had to disable the former eventually.
I would however like to mention the outstanding support that the author has provided. He could not find the issue even though he painstakingly tried to reproduce the error by replicating my site config.
So in the end, I unfortunately can't use the extension (probably because of my site setup) but I would still heartily recommend it!
bygenegun, July 4, 2012
Light RSS
Great little plugin. Does exactly what it says. I wish all extensions could be as simple, self-explanatory, and without unnecessary styling.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much!

We appreciate your feedback ;-)

bygenegun, July 4, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Lof ArticlesSlideShow
I like this module so much that i tend to use it on all my sites so I thought I ought to write a review. Very slick and customizable but most importantly, super easy to use!
bygenegun, July 4, 2012
I was getting very frustrated at the slow responsiveness of the Joomfish team as regards to Joomla! 2.5 and gave this extension a try for a project that could not wait. I am happy to report that I am no longer waiting for the Joomfish update. FALANG works perfectly and does everything I need it to.
bygenegun, July 4, 2012
All Weblinks
If you have extensive link sections, I would really recommend using this plugin. I formats your links very nicely and you can organize lists exactly as you want. Something allowing that sort of output should really be part of the Joomla! core.
bygenegun, July 4, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Simple RSS Feed Reader
I have to concur with the two previous reviews: this does not work. I get an error which say:
"Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated"
on all the feeds.
This issue was raised over 6 weeks ago on the developer's forum by other users but it was left unanswered.
Owner's reply

Upgrade to the newest version 3.x. Such warnings have been fixed.

bygenegun, July 3, 2012
RSS Factory (lite version)
I tried to use this extension but the documentation is too antique (Joomla! 1.0). When I tried uninstalling the whole thing did not uninstall properly and I am stuck with an error.
Owner's reply

You should have a better look! You can find updated documentation under

Sure we have also Joomla 1.0 documentation since this product was around even on Mambo days.

bygenegun, July 3, 2012
JCK Editor
It is a really nice editor that does most of what you would want it to. I chose to use it when one of it's major competitor that I had been using for ages started to strip off my iframes after an update.
I would be 100% happy to have made the switch to JCK if it wasn't significantly slower than my previous editor. Also, the fact that if you don't click exactly on a line, it sends you off right at the top of the post is really annoying.
I guess that I will continue to use it anyway since once again, it if pretty useful and good looking too, but I wish it were quicker (both load and operation). I know that the developer claims that it is fast but I am afraid that in my case, it is not (I am using it bare-bone with no extension).
Owner's reply

Hiya, Thank you for your review and comments.

We was not able to replicate the issue you mentioned, but would be more than happy to assist you. As so we can please post a message on our forums as so we can reply to you.

Regarding speed; as you rightly point out, from our tests it is the fastest loading editor on the JED. If you enable the Spell as you type feature, it can appear to slow down the editor. That is because the editor is checking your spelling as you type. We feel that this slight delay is out weighed by the advantages. However, please feel free to turn that feature off.

I hope that helps.

Mark and the JCK Team

bygenegun, October 31, 2011
KA Social Sharing
I like this extension and wanted to get the update with the Google +1 button. It seems from the website that if you bought the previous version, you can get a break for the update. Contacted the author about it but no answer which confirms the other reviewers reports for lack of support.
I am pondering whether to re-buy it since it does the job but I feel cheated somewhat. I also know that if anything goes wrong, I'm on my own.
In a nutshell: useful but buy at your own risks.
Owner's reply

Hi Genegun,

Sorry that you had problems.

We have been looking into this issue with G+1 and seems Google have changed something at their end that was effecting that button. Please make sure to contact us in forum (even if you already did earlier) and we will help you.