The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

georgejc

Reviews(7)
 
bygeorgejc, July 12, 2010
Akeeba Backup
I've been using JoomlaPack for many years and it has always worked perfectly. So, when I saw an update with a new name, I naturally assumed that it would be the same high quality product. I was wrong.

It was installed with Joomla-1.5.18 that is running on an Apache Server, PHP-5.2.13, MySQL-5.0.81

I installed Akeeba-3.0 after I made a new site for a friend. I ran it, and everything seemed to work fine. Then, all of a sudden, a couple of days later, I tried to do another backup, but the button to "Backup Now" was missing. Nothing new was installed in this Joomla installation after installing Akeeba. I searched the Akeeba forum for help and found other people with the same problem. I tried several of the suggested fixes, but nothing worked.

I uninstalled it and re-installed it without using FTP functionality in Joomla. I tried installing svn versions both with and without FTP functionality in Joomla (for the permissions issues); I uninstalled other plugins that possibly conflicted with this package, and nothing worked. Then finally, I gave up.

I then installed JoomlaPack-2.3.3. As always, JoomlaPack works fine.

It will be a while before I try Akeeba again.
Owner's reply

But you never asked for support. When such an impossible problems occurs, we go as far as asking you for backend access to your site and we fix the problem. For free. Even in the free version.

Furthermore, JoomaPack 2.3.x had sevrere issues with database backup. Restoring its backups is impossible.

bygeorgejc, July 27, 2009
Xmap
This component is exactly what I wanted! It is easy to install and it works perfectly! Thank you!
bygeorgejc, June 26, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
JCE
I've just been slowly changing my sites from Joomla-1.0.x to Joomla-1.5.3. The standard editor is OK, but then I needed more. I use JCE on all of my Joomla-1.0.x sites but wanted to try something different. Big mistake. Don't waste your time with any other editors. JCE is the best. Easy to install, and it works well. What else can I say?
bygeorgejc, June 25, 2008
JEvents
I am putting together a new Joomla-1.5.3 site for a musician, and I was hesitant to use anything listed as "alpha" on the site, but, after trying about 5 or 6 other packages, this was the only one that worked well, and easily. I highly recommend the component.
bygeorgejc, April 3, 2008
MultiTrans
Works great! No problems. Yahoo translation works best with my site. Thanks for the great little module!
bygeorgejc, December 21, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
VirtueMart
I installed the prepackaged version of Virtuemart & Joomla, and I was very excited about getting going with it. Unfortunately, my excitement soon turned to frustration and disappointment.
If you need multiple taxes, like I do in Quebec, Canada, where there is a tax on a tax, don't even bother trying VM. By law, we have to show both taxes and what was charged.
I wanted to have downloadable gift certificates. Can't do that either.
There were errors in the shipping calculations.
After seeing the Editor's Pick on this product, I was quite surprised as to the functioning (or lack thereof) of this product.
And there is almost no support in the forums.
Like I said, very disappointing.
Even though Joomla is my favorite CMS, I may go with a dedicated non-Joomla e-commerce package. I haven't been able to find a Joomla based system that works well for what I need.
bygeorgejc, May 18, 2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
RSGallery2
I am just setting up a new site and was going through the usual looking for the right components, etc. After spending most of the day trying out various gallery addons, I decided to try RSgallery2. Wow. Fast and easy to set up. Very nice to look at. The download option is a nice touch too. I'm just sorry that I didn't try this one earlier. The component says alpha, but it works better than most other "stable" packages that I tried. I highly recommend this. Just one quick note, though, be sure to choose the thumbnail size that you want BEFORE you set up your galleries. The default is 80 which I find a little small.