The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


byirchrech, March 15, 2013
I use JForce as project management tool and helpdesk for a small team.
First this extension seemed to be a promising choice: Before I purchased it I wrote some emails with my questions to the developer and I also got accurate response via support chat on their website. The extension has all the features a support system needs. Everything is - more or less - working out of the box.
After purchasing, installing and configuring the component I discovered some issues. Some things worked a little different that I expected. Well, that is just normal, I know. Some things I could resolve by myself with little workarounds. Some not. I even found a "true" bug that needed to be resolved by the company. They did that after a longer time period of convincing them that there is a bug. So far so good...
Using the term "longer time" describes the real problem: After a couple of weeks using JForce as primary helpdesk and project management tool, more issues and questions popped up.
I wrote emails but no response anymore?).
I tried the support chat. _One_ time (only) I got huge help from someone of the company checking some of the questions and issues I submitted, working on them right away. Additionally I got promises to work on the rest of it. But after that: nothing anymore. I tried the support chat several times, only getting sales people unable to help with the issues and questions.
Several times I was told that my emails got trashed because they were categorized as spam. I should resend them and use the ticket system.
Both I did, but to the most tickets I got no response. Getting back to the support chat to tell them I have submitted some tickets I just got the answer that someone will be looking into it. Most of the time it took more than 7 days to get their attention.
All of that happened within the last year. Some of my support tickets are still "open" since last November.
It's sad to say but it occurs to me that this extension is not under active development anymore. At least there seems to be no support anymore (at least this is what I experienced).
This extension can do a lot. But it needs some tweaks. I'm talking about little things like not working popups or search fields, etc. I guess these are all easy to find and eliminate (template incompatibility, etc.). But no one seems to listen. Therefor I would not buy it again.
my summary:
* feature rich
* but not easy to configure
* buggy
* but only few updates
* expensive
* but poor support
Owner's reply

I had to do some digging to find out what was going on with this one. :) There was some validity to delays in a few of the tickets. But it was because they were feature requests and not bugs. We were evaluating when they could be included in our code.

The "support chats" being referenced were actually not suppor chats but rather our sales team doing their best to answer questions and help out as best they could regardless that it wasn't their area of expertise on our live sales chat system. In fact, they are instructed to always send support questions to the support tickets so there is no confusion. Honestly, I'm quite pleased to hear they were able to provide at least some technical help!

Emails that were not received were because they were sent to inboxes that are not monitored. As clearly stated we have catch-all accounts that are not monitored by support staff so attention can be focused on the ticket system where we direct all questions.

Any features that are "not working" almost always relates back to templates or other third party applications on the users site since they can usually not be replicated on either our demo or on a clean install site. But we login to websites all the time to help provide support and assistance even with problems that are not a result of our code.

All that being said, we truly never want any of our customers to feel this way for any reason, be it our fault or not. We are constantly improving our documentation, our support techniques and systems, and our communication channels. We're growing our team and deepening our knowledge to always continue to provide the best possible situation for each client. We don't sugarcoat things or deny fault and we're certainly not perfect. Like every good business - we're growing, we're improving, and we're learning each day how to better support and assist our clients and their situations!