The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

krackerjax

Reviews(10)
 
bykrackerjax, July 8, 2012
Reset Hits
The extension does exactly what it says. Can reset articles and many other hits including support for quite a few third-party extensions.

I agree with previous comments about being able to reset individual articles. It could be implemented where it would be listed under each individual article with the rest of the article settings. Just click a "Reset" button next to the hits count.

Personally I'd like to see Joomla add in to the core the ability for admins to set Joomla to be able to ignore admins or whomever they want. That way, when admins are logged in, working on an article, and want to see how it looks from the front end, their view wouldn't be counted.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. We also agreed to previous comments and are already working on a individual and category-based reset function.

When you need more 3rd party components, you can always contact us.

Admin Tools
I needed to upgrade from 1.5.23 to the latest of 1.5.26. Didn't feel like waiting on unzipping then FTPing over 10MB of files. I found the extension via a Google search for 1.5.23 patches. I wanted to make sure the 1.5.0 patch was the correct one. One of the results was a post in the Joomla forums and someone had recommended using Admin Tools.

I love it! Installed without a hitch. It let me know there was an update available. It downloaded and installed it.

Of course I've noticed Joomla 2.5 has updating built in. I'm happy to see Joomla is up with the times of built-in automated updates/update notification.
bykrackerjax, March 4, 2010
Simple Review
The only one's that can add reviews are admins. The only way to access the review system is from the admin back-end. When you add Simple Review to a menu you see nothing initially. I take it that the menu link is to list reviews.

The only way I can see around this is create a review. Try to link to that review (or category) manually. Use a component like JComments to let users submit their rating and comments about the review.

I haven't tested this out so not sure if that will work as I theorize.
Owner's reply

I have just released 2.2.0 and now any back-end user can add reviews - adding reviews from the front-end is almost done and will be released shortly.

You must first create and publish a review category and then the link to simple review will show that category (and any others). Once you create and publish reviews they will be listed under their category.

bykrackerjax, February 24, 2010
AlphaUserPoints
This is simply just an awesome component. Giving awards, medals, and points for things done on your site is a great way to get more people to join your site and contribute content.

I really like medals feature. Say you have the Seyret video component, you create a custom plugin for AUP to give 25 points when a person uploads/adds a video. You can create a medal when a person reaches say 1000 points from adding a video. The look of the medal is up to you as you select the image to use for the medal.

Creating plugins to work with other components is as simple as pasting some code at the end of a function (e.g. function to add a video). Then you create a simple XML file to tell it the name of the component. The XML file is your "plugin."

It also gives people the ability to purchase points as well as donate points to others. The possibilities are endless. You can rename "points" to anything you want if you really wanted a customized solution to work with the theme/topic of your website.

The Community Builder integration is just awesome as well. The points layout (when adding to menu) allows you to select CB for the profile. Each "tab" you have in CB is a slide menu and it tells you what % of your profile is completed/filled out.
bykrackerjax, February 17, 2010
Phoca Download
I won't be too strict on this extension. I did have a couple issues with it. Some of the issues are just my own personal preference and not necessarily a fault of the extension.

1.) I had to enter the CSS because the tooltip for the details background was transparent. I believe someone has mentioned this already in their review.

2.) The details were a tooltip. The initial tooltip is small. So when u have a 1-2 paragraph description it looks cramped. Sure, I could have edited the CSS to make it wider, however, I don't like the details as a tooltip. I like it right there with the download (as it's done with DocMan).

3.) Flash upload did not work. I would click browse but it would never go to anything to let me browse. I'm not sure if it's the Phoca software.

I say this because I'm using another component, JoomGallery and the flash upload feature does the same thing to me even though my Flash version I have installed is up-to-date.

4.) Would like to have the ability for a batch upload.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review.

1) This depends on template. The overlib is a part of Joomla! framework and it should be styled by template.

2) This should be styled by template. Anyway, you can display the information above or below the file or in file view. It needs not to be displayed only in overlib.

3) Will be solved when this will be solved in Joomla! (maybe in 1.6) so the upload is unified with Joomla!

4) For now you can upload via ftp, flash upload (flash plugin

bykrackerjax, January 3, 2010
Profile Pro for Community Builder
The plugin does what it says. Instead of your users having the generic CB look, this allows you to design and replace the user's default profile.

With the payment you get a year of updates. The problem is I've yet to see the developer go through with any promises. Last word on the forum from the developer was that 2.0 was 2 months, 2 weeks ago. Their was allegedly a bug needing to be fixed.

Two weeks later people asked for an update and the admin said "Within a week." Since then the forum has gone dead. According to the profile of the admin, the admin has not logged on for two months.

Personally I consdier this project abandoned. Purchase if you want to design your own CB profile, however, do not purchase thinking there will be any updates or responses from the developer as he has gone MIA 2 months ago.
Owner's reply

There was a period when the project was frozen for some reasons. Glad to inform you that now it is resumed: we continue the development of the extension (the new version was released) and provide support for users as it was earlier.

bykrackerjax, November 29, 2009
BIGSHOT Google Analytics
Does what it says. Install plugin, go to the plugin and add in your analytics ID and that's it.
bykrackerjax, November 29, 2009
Xmap
The component works as described. Install it, select which menus you want it to index and that's about it.

If generates an HTML, XML, and News version of your sitemap. You can just copy the XML URL and manually submit it to google or add it to your robots.txt file.

Now Yahoo!, Google, and other major search engines support pinging xml sitemaps, it would be nice to have some sort of submission system built into xmap.
bykrackerjax, November 29, 2009
ChronoForms
I've been using this component for quite a while. I've used it for my contact form. All I can say is that it's really awesome and highly flexible if you are willing to take the time to learn it.

I create my regular form in HTML. Paste it in to the "Form Code" section and then link it via the Joomla menu. It supports quite a few plugins (Community Builder registration, Joomla! Registiona, etc). It has a built-in CAPTCHA for spam protection but it does have a plugin for ReCAPTCHA, which is what I use.

The ability to support custom thank you pages can give you the opportunity to show your visitor what they submitted.

There is a link on each page that uses ChronoForms. It just links to the chronoengine website. As with most of these links it doesn't open in a new page. Nothing major. I've edited the coding on mine to simply center the text/link and have the link open in a new window.

Not sure why, but just a pet peve of mine, that is, having those types of links centered and opening in a new window.
bykrackerjax, November 29, 2009
JoomSEF
This is about the only non-commercial SEF component that works properly. I've tried AceSEF but had issues(will mention in AceSEF review).

I don't know why people are complaining about spam links. Just about every open software has a courtesy link back to the author's site. Personally I didn't like the way it was situated.

I found where the link code was and modified it, however, I didn't remove it. The only changes I made was:

1.) Link to Artio site is centered instead of left-aligned.

2.) Link to Artio site now opens in a new window(_blank) when clicked.

As for people claiming their site is broken. If you manually set a URL to yoursite.com/coolpage.html (especially if a custom URL) and then you uninstall whatever SEF component you are using then that link will no longer exist. Or, if in articles and so forth are linking to the SEF URL and uninstall the SEF component then same as before, links no long exist.