The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

krazor

Reviews(14)
 
bykrazor, September 4, 2012
Komento
Finally, an excellent commenting system for Joomla. Well coded, professional design, and no issues with installation or having to tweak it to make it integrate properly.
bykrazor, September 1, 2012
Set Generator tag
Running on Joomla 1.5.25. Installed and working with no issues.
bykrazor, July 7, 2012
AJAX toggler
Works extremely well. You may have a few other extensions that you need to exclude, but there won't be many if they're well coded. This extension saves a lot of time and just makes the administration more enjoyable.
bykrazor, March 19, 2012
ITPShare
I still run a number of Joomla 1.5 sites. One of the great things about this module for 1.5 is that it's still updated with the new social sites. Also works great on install with no issues.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Phoca Facebook Comments
Not much to say, I tried some other modules first, as Phoca tries to use enforced back links sometimes which completely makes "free" worthless imo, especially as it makes security harder since everyone knows you're using Joomla.

However, after trying a few others, I gave it a shot and it works great out of the box. Don't have a single bad thing to say about it, even had more features than I originally thought it did.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
RokAjaxSearch
I've used this free extension on about 10 sites with Joomla 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, and 2.5. I've only ever had a handful of issues with it, and those were always template related. 90% of the time is works exceptionally and straight out of the box. Another nice thing about it is that most templates comes with custom search boxes already, and you can set you module suffix to match your templates setting in this module with no issues.

The complaints I see here in the reviews don't make a lot of sense to me personally, maybe they're having problems with other plugins they have creating conflicts?

Anyways, you can see where on one site I made at boisebarguide.com I deleted the default search module, installed rokajaxsearch and set it to the search position using their dark theme style. It was literally that quick, took about 30 seconds and I had nice ajax driven search that matches the template. I wish every other module worked this well.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
JCrawler
Never was able to get it to work, tried on my local systems and on shared hosting platforms. Tried version for Joomla 1.5 and 2.5 and nothing.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
Well, it's perfectly empty, no problems in Joomla 1.5, 1.7 or 2.5 when I've used it.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
KeyCAPTCHA
I honestly don't know why anyone else would use a different captcha for Joomla. This stops more spam than recaptcha by far. Additionally you can make money from serving ads as the image for them to complete as the task.

They also have great customer feedback for their supported systems. However, don't try to contact them for a custom installation on a cms they don't support. I wanted to use it on pligg, and so sent a ticket to them asking how it could be done and was completely ignored. I won't take a star off for that though because this rating is for Joomla. Honestly you can't beat it.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review.

KeyCAPTCHA for pligg is in our queue now. We are going to publish it in 3-4 months.

bykrazor, March 14, 2012
GK Weather
Installed on 1.7, haven't tried it with 2.5. Works great for a simple weather module, easy to custimize. Looks great on a light colored template, but looks bad on a dark template.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
Scontent
This plugin made me so happy and so frustrated at the same time when I found it. I'd looked for something exactly like this for a long time, since Joomla 1.5 until yesterday when I found it. I have no idea why this is listed under toolbars instead of Ratings and Reviews. I imagine I'm not the only one that won't find this because of miscategorization.

However, as far as the plugin itself goes. Works great, easy to customize with the css. It turns your meta keywords for articles into tags which is nice to have without having to go to k2. I haven't seen a single bad thing to say about the plugin.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
JoomGallery
I've used this component since Joomla 1.5 . At first I wanted to find something else, while this had all the features I wanted I was getting very poor performance.

Turns out it wasn't the extensions fault at all. I do all my testing on WAMP and Xampp server over a Windows environment, and it runs terrible there. But note that once it was online, even in shared hosting, such as $7/month hostgator for example, it runs exceptional.

It does have a bit of a learning curve, and some of the documentation is hard to find unless you look for it (such as component module positions) but it's definately worth the time investment. Also, unlike other "free" galleries such as Phoca Gallery, this does not have mandatory backlinks. Try to remember all the work you're getting for free though and donate a couple bucks.

I've run this on live sites with over 60k images and no problems at all. I've also had it with only a few thousand and it does great for any size.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
Phoca GAE
I was using J-Google Adsense module, but it's now under review for possible fraud issues. So I switched to phoca google adsense module and it works great.
Unlike some of his other extensions this doesn't have a mandatory link back to his site, so it's truely free.
Like all his extensions I've tried, it's also very well coded and usually has no issues regardless of any other extensions you might be using.
bykrazor, March 14, 2012
Tabs GK4
Works very well, never had an issue with it. Used with shape5, RT and Gavick templates out of the box.