The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

marek.u

Reviews(10)
 
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
AcyMailing Starter
This is simply one of the best newsletter components for Joomla. I recommend it to all my clients.

However, as with many, but not all, free extensions, the back link should be optional otherwise it is not a free extension in my view. If all developers did that our sites would look like link farms.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review.

I saw a post on the Joomla forum about removing our footer back link (just by adding one CSS line) so you can apply this method until we add a simple option on our free version (next release!).

Our back link is not added in your e-mails, neither on the module but only on the archive section so it's not obtrusive.

Anyway, we don't want users to upgrade to our commercial version only because they want to remove our back link so we will give the option to remove it on our free version as well... AcyMailing Starter will really be a free extension! ;)

bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
VirtueMart
I have played around with the new kids on the block, but Virtue Mart is still the best and most comprehensive shopping cart for Joomla.

And it is free like Ubercart for Drupal.

I only wish that more developers get behind the project and would like to thank sincerely to the current team for all their great work.

Thank you!
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
jHackGuard
This is a great, anti-hack (or anti hacker) security plugin.

However, I agree with everyone here who said that the back link is simply cheap, and makes the developers look more greedy than credible. Should be an option.

Note to the JED Team:

Please consider reviewing your criteria for a non-commercial plugin. The back link should optional for user, otherwise all our sites will look like link farms. The great gallery component Phoca, and many others are in the same boat.
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
Love it. Use it on all websites. I just made it a part of all my custom template starters.
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
EasyCalcCheck PLUS
This simple and accessible text based math captcha is exactly the thing that Joomla core user component is missing.

Great work guys!

I have been asking about this on the forum and waiting for someone to develop this for a long time. Finally it is here.

This is a great, accessible, text based math captcha.

Thank you,
Mark
Owner's reply

Hello Marek, you are welcome. I like to share with other Joomla! users.

Thank you for your review!

bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
Better Preview
Should be a core plugin. Thank you for developing and maintaining it.

Also, check out all the other excellent extensions by the developer. Very helpful and useful!
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
Phoca Gallery
This is probably the most comprehensive and well maintained gallery for Joomla.

And, it is free! Thank you Jan.

However, I would appreciate if we could turn off the link to Phoca. If all extension developers included a link to their site, all our sites would look like link farms.

This is the sole reason why I do not use it.
Owner's reply

Hi, see the Phoca Forum, there are so many ways to get link free version.

Jan

bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
AJAX toggler
This is a time saver and a great plugin. Good work!

Thank you.
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
Akeeba Backup
This should be a core extension, it is certainly one of my standard extensions I install on all sites.

However, while the functionality is great, the developers have take too much liberty in my view in designing the user interface. Instead of trying to make it a standard Joomla component, the interface looks like something from another CMS.

I would be very helpful if some of the more serious extension developers took a hint from Drupal and made their extensions actually look like part of Joomla.
bymarek.u, August 28, 2010
JCE
Absolutely the best editor for any CMS I have seen so far. Great work!