The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

markxcool

Reviews(10)
 
bymarkxcool, December 1, 2010
Nice Social Bookmark
I've been milling through several options for a new site I'm making and it was so hard to find one that looked professional, was simple and had some flexibility in customization.

My search ended with this extension!

It is the Holy Grail, folks.... search no further.
bymarkxcool, April 21, 2010
OSOLCaptcha
I needed this for the Joomla 1.5 CONTACT feature since I was getting spam.

This PLUGIN met my needs and thank you so much for making it so easy (and available).

My Joomla 1.5. site allows for EN, SP, PT, FR translations... this PLUGIN changes to these languages automatically without me having to tweak anything. The layout of the Captcha instructions looks sloppy in PT and SP, but EN and FR its perfect.

Thanks again so much!
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review.All languages except english are contributions from users like you.If you want to change the texts, steps to change the texts in any language is mentioned in the Changing texts section http://www.outsource-online.net/osol-captcha-for-joomla.html#changeTexts

bymarkxcool, March 31, 2010
KA Facebook Like Box
This is amazingly well done.

Just go to the dude's website, find the register deal, go to downloads, download it, install it to your Joomla, open it in your Joomla modules and input the settings...

You may need a Facebook API - this is simple, just go to www.facebook.com/developers and click ALLOW and then "Set up New App" and then grab the API key that it creates for you...

Also, grab your Facebook Group/page's ID and input this...

The rest of the settings are easy to figure out....

I am extremely pleased!

Anything to improve? Not really, I just want to figure out how to CENTRE the box on my Joomla site's left margin (column).
bymarkxcool, February 4, 2010
GTranslate
Extremely well done... its amazing how this power can be obtained for FREE...

I use it for about 5 languages, one of which is PORTUGUESE, but it doesn't translate Portuguese... not sure why...this is the only con.
ExtraWatch
5 out of 5 for being easy to install and use.

The only issue I had was that my hosting service (DreamHost) didn't allow for much memory and JoomlaWatch demands a lot.... so for several months I was getting "Internal Server Error" messages, sometimes many times a day, other times not.

It was that my Hosting had a program that aborted anything that was causing server memory overload (to cuase the server to crash) and hence my problem.

So this isn't necessarily an issue with this extension, but rather my hosting.
bymarkxcool, December 10, 2009
Phoca Guestbook
This GuestBook is pretty straightforward.

The only issues I had were figuring out how to install the additional language packs, since it was not just a matter of "installing" via the Joomla installer.... I had to unzip them and copy them over the the specific language folders using FTP.

Poking around it is easy enough to figure out.

Thanks for this!
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, please take a look to the documentation:

http://www.phoca.cz/documents/46-translation/274-how-to-install-language-pack-in-joomla

Jan

bymarkxcool, December 8, 2009
Jdialog
I am an incompetent NOOB when it comes to Joomla et al, and regardless of my inexperience I was able to install, publish and modify this module until it looked PERFECT.

Its just a matter of toying with the text and figuring out how it looks best.

It is very, very customizable! It is worth toying with to make it look professional.

I had no need to contact support for this module at all, for any reason.

I highly recommend this module.... I am very very pleased with it.
bymarkxcool, December 2, 2009
Realpin
I just installed this on my Joomla 1.5 site.

I tried to make a menu item for it, but it doesn't appear as an option when making a "new" menu item... couldn't find it in the list. Perhaps I don't know what I'm doing.

I created a menu item article and added this module to that menu item but it didn't work for me... it gave an error message about not being able to access a database...odd since I didn't see any options to indicate a database in its module settings.

It could be entirely possible that my noobishness is messing things up and this module is fine.

Also, it appears that this model is entirely in German, not English, although this won't impact it too much (unless a very professional image is warranted).
bymarkxcool, October 8, 2009
Kunena
i installed this with my site and got it to blend with my joomla 1.5 template very well.

i also found portuguese and spanish translations for it (as well as english) so when a visitor changes the language of the site, the forum changes automatically as well.

i also use Community Builder with my site and it blends seamlessly with kunena too.

the only thing it is missing are "polls", hence 4 out of 5 starts.

it looks professional. i recommend it..
Owner's reply

Polls are back in Kunena 1.6! :)

You can download it now from Kunena.com but we hope to have it ready very soon.

bymarkxcool, September 9, 2009
MediaWiki Login
This Harold Prins fellow is a genius, however, mere mortals like me find geniuses a tad hard to follow...

Case in point: this is an awesome plugin but took more than just "snap, snap" to configure... it is NOT as easy as "install and publish".

Read Harold's instructions first to get an idea:

http://haroldprins.nl/wiki/index.php?title=Installation_guide

If I had seen this before I started I would not have taken the plunge... it is tricky.

After all my labours, I see a deflating: "Warning: This file is not build for a subdomain. The plugin works, but the auto return after login and logout fails. I work on a modified version". I am not sure what this means, but it would have been nice to see it earlier.

I am a NOOB and wanted to post this before I forget... I will give more feedback after testing thoroughly.

Good work Mr. Dutchman... too bad we are not as smart as you.