The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


bymauriestate, April 10, 2014
As my title says it all, even if you are not a developer but you want to design your own website, you can definitely do it!

Cobalt is a bit difficult to understand at the very early stage but after few trials and errors, you'll definitely built one of the best possible website with it.

Cobalt has lots of powerful features that offer you unlimited possibilities, just take Joomla + Cobalt makes possible to develop anything you desire.

I am not a developer but due to the financial status of our small company, I started to learn about Joomla so that I may try to develop our company website by myself without the need to hire a developer.

After few months, having tried mostly all other CCK extensions such as ZOO, Content Builder, FlexiContent among others, I decided to give Cobalt a try!

At the first look, I was really scared and even decided to left it aside and tried to find some other solutions, but I did not find any other.

So, I get back to Cobalt and decided to make some efforts to understand how it works and based on tutorials (video & tutorials), I was able to understand its main features and functionality and created our first website.

Today, I have developed 3 websites using Cobalt and all are just perfect, a golf community and advertising portal, a real estate website and a tour operator website, the 4th website is currently under development, all 4 websites for my own company and I did not pay a penny to any freelancer.

Sergey, the head of Cobalt development team is so wonderful, support is just perfect with basically instant (maybe a bit more) but definitely in less than 8 hours, all your support requests are answered.

Updates are done weekly, but in case of urgent bugs and issues, updates are available the same day, I have paid US$ 99 for the pro version of Cobalt and I am very happy about it, if I could, I would even pay much more as they really deserve it, with Cobalt I have saved thousands of dollars and why not encourage the development of this component by providing some financial support to its development team?

As soon as my websites are fully operational and I start to generate some income, I will definitely renew my subscription and even help the Cobalt community as much as possible during my free times.
bymauriestate, September 9, 2013
First, I will advise all Joomla community users not to look further, if you are looking for the best core ecommerce solution for Joomla, do not look further.

Quick2Cart is the best ecommerce solution for both single and multi-vendor shopping cart needs, very nice and easy administration, support is awesome with instant reply through their ticket system, regular updates with new features, and much more important, it is the cheapest shopping cart available within Joomla community.

I am not only a user of Quick2Cart but many other extensions from Techjoomla, the Techjoomla team offers very nice extensions, they are very motivated and listen to developers needs.

To resume, Quick2Cart is just perfect and should full fill all required needs, we are even contributing to the development of Quick2Cart by adding some more features as per our own needs and will definitely continue to support the Techjoomla team as they deserve it and for me, they represent the real Joomla community spirit, which is, listen, develop, support and give entire satisfaction.
bymauriestate, August 6, 2013
Event Booking
Well, I do not exactly understand these bad reviews, I am also a subscriber to Event Booking since 2012 and till now, we got very good support and even features in Event Booking has improved quite much, more often with the release of the new version that also supports Bootstrap and is fully mobile friendly and as per Tuan (the developer) there are still more improvement and features to some in few days/weeks.

There are other event extensions with less features that cost quite much, Event Booking is fully compatible with Joomla 3.xx which is not the case of some other event extensions, development is working very hard and at the same time providing very good support, they event have a wishlist section in their support forum where we can submit request for new features and such requests are processed in a progressive manner based on priority, we cannot just expect developers to work exclusively for us when we are only paying a small subscription, we need to think that they need also to have a living and hence cannot satisfy everyone needs and wants simultaneously!

Event Booking has its default multi-language system which works straight-forward with the default Joomla multi-language structure and this is a very good thing for multi-language websites. Event Booking has also been developed to accept default Joomla content plugins, such as image gallery, video and much more.

Each extension needs it’s time to evolve and improve, and this is the case of Event Booking, everything needs a starting point but the only important thing is to see how things progress, there are extensions that are developed and left aside by the developers, better to have a commercial extension with continuous support and development rather than to have a non-commercial extension with no support and no progress at all!

To conclude this review, I will say an exceptional thanks to Tuan, we’ll be launching one of our main website by beginning of next week, we needed some missing features in Event Booking version 1.5.3 and these features were to be added in the new version 1.6, to help us to respect our launching deadlines, Tuan has work days and night to release the new version on time and today, the new version has already been installed on our website and totally functionable, thanks again Tuan and sincerely wish you all the best and we’ll remain our loyalty to your development.
bymauriestate, July 17, 2013
Submission Element for ZOO
This extension should be part of ZOO default elements and special thank to Raslab to have think about it and make it available to us.

As it is mention in the description, you can simply do any kind of form and just place it in whatever position of your ZOO template position.

As for us, we have been using this element to create hotel booking form, event booking form and real estate listing inquiry form with this element and all work fine as expected.

I will definitely recommend this element to all JED community users/developers who uses ZOO on their website as it is very powerful, simple and easy to create and manage forms, the support from Raslab as always is perfect, development of this element is continuous, always adding new features and correcting known bugs (if any) on a regular basis.

Thank you again for this very nice and powerful element Raslab, continue your hard work and be blessed for your kindness and loyalty to your customers.
bymauriestate, July 17, 2013
ItemPanes Element
I am quite surprised that this extension has only one review! All developers and users who have should do it a must to provide a review for this ZOO element.

Raslab is doing a perfect job, not only in terms of development but also in terms of support, I will even say much more than this, he is really devoted to his development work and support.

JED has been developed as a strong community, with the main objective to help each other and not think about profitability or other selfish expectations.

Raslab is one of those developers who really have the spirit of JED community, for him, it is not the money aspect that encourages him to develop extensions and support his clients, but, his main objective is first of all that his clients are entirely satisfied both by his extensions and support.

I will never thank him enough for the support he provided to us for the completion of our website and also for developing such wonderful and powerful extensions, thank you Raslab for been here and sincerely wish you all the best among JED community, from our side, we'll continuously provide you our support as a loyal customer to your extensions.
bymauriestate, June 5, 2013
ZOO is a very good and very powerful CCK for Joomla, we can built mostly everything with ZOO, however, there is an important issue with ZOO for Joomla 3.1, this issue has been reported to ZOO support team for about a month and this issue has not yet been solved.
Owner's reply

This issue is fixed in the latest ZOO version.

bymauriestate, January 5, 2013
Multilanguages CK
When I started developing our first multi-language website using Joomla 2.5, we started using another language plugin, this initial has basically same functionality as Multilanguages CK but the only difference is that it used a shorter language tag, we guess that it would be better to use a shorter tag plugin to avoid wastage of space in fields.

However, when we translated more than 15 fields in Jomsocial to make it multi-language compatible, we noticed that, on the website frontpage, both language were shown, including the language tags!

So, we decided to move back to Multilanguages CK and make the same test, all fields were properly translated on the website frontend without any error :-)

Today, we are using Multilanguages CK on all our multi-language website to translate system fields and other small text that forms part of other components that cannot be translated with the default Joomla multi-language system and we are totally satisfied with it.

As for the review about title field limit for translation, honestly, Joomla already provides a multi-language interface for categories, articles and other Joomla default language strings, it is not necessary to use Multilanguages CK to translate things that can be translated in default by Joomla!!!

Honestly, it is not that I am judging this user, but, rating Multilanguages CK as Average or Fair simply because of such limitation is not 'fair' at all as this plugin merits a definite 5 stars and even much more as it does a very good work.
bymauriestate, September 18, 2012
SocialAds for Joomla
I would like to mention first that it is not the first extension that I purchased from but I am also using Invitex for about a year now.

This is mainly to mention about their support, they are an active team that always answer to queries within a maximum of 1 business day, which is normal support time frame for businesses, people looking for instant support on request are not 'normal' because everyone needs to have some rest at some time of the day!

It is now about a week that I decided to invest in the purchase of SocialAds for the development of our new restaurant guide website, as every extension, we need first to understand the main functionality of the extension, follow installation instructions, set-up all required features prior to get it running etc. If after following these steps, we still have some issues, then, we request support from the developer and I must say that till now, the support, as usual, was perfect.

Just a simple comment about the review that someone posted regarding SocialAds, about the fact that what happened if ad spaces remain blank? Well, as a website administrator, it is our role to maintain ad spaces, also, it is our role to make our website known to the general public to get visits on our website and make people interest to advertise on our website, if we do not have any visitor, of course, ad spaces will remain blank for life!

SocialAds provides us all necessary features to run a full advertising website, latest version even include video ads, which is more than perfect, to fill in blank ad spaces, we can simply create sample ads and place them in zones to give visitors an overview what and how they can advertise on the website.

Making the difference between a non-commercial and a commercial extension is so easy but been using Joomla for quite a long time now and exploring many available extensions, till now, none of the available 'free extensions' and even other commercial extensions can be compared to SocialAds since its features are unique.

The only issue we encounter with SocialAds is that here in Mauritius (our country), we do not have access to payment options (credit card) such as Paypal, 2Checkout etc. that are integrated with SocialAds, we inform the developer about it and they inform us that new payment plugins shall be available within the next 6 months, we can for the meantime use the integrated Jomsocial point system to make people purchase points through our shopping cart and update their points within their profile and use these points for their advertising needs.

We have been making a honest and loyal review to SocialAds, as we did for all other extensions that we have used so far and we definitely recommend SocialAds to other Joomla lovers as it definitely worth it and the minimum subscription fee asked by the developer is really the minimum they could asked for such a wonderful extension, thanks guys for your wonderful work.
bymauriestate, September 8, 2012
We started using SobiPro after the release of Joomla 2.5, since we were using another classified extension for our websites for Joomla 1.5 and our previous extension was not compatible with Joomla 2.5.

SobiPro is a perfect extension, not only useful for directory websites but offers even much more features that you can use it for whatever content you want to built, we were even surprised that SobiPro is located only in the directory category, it should have been added in the CCK category as it is more a content construction kit than a directory extension!

We are using SobiPro to manage our real estate community portal and now about two weeks ago, we started the development of a restaurant guide website and again using SobiPro.

SobiPro is not only a perfect extension but the support is also awesome, by the way, I would like to make a special thank to the SobiPro support team, specially Isidro for all the support they provided us during the development process of our website, their support is basically instant, no delay and information provided are straight, they even come to our website to fix some issues that we had, not because of the extension but some errors from our side.

This only missing part in SobiPro is to have a menu where advertisers can access their own ads directly but this issue will be fixed in SobiPro 1.1 as per the roadmap.

Additionally, SobiPro is on continuous development, the new SobiPro version (1.1) will already be Joomla 3.0 compatible and contain much more features, we are following the development of SobiPro 1.1 very closely since we are awaiting the 1.1 version to update both our websites.

We'll definitely renew our subscription with SobiPro (even for lifetime) and continue providing our support to this fabulous team to continue the development of this perfect extension and to add more features all along the way.

Very good work guys, you are just perfect.
bymauriestate, September 8, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
XMap is a very good sitemap extension and we can even say it is near to perfection at some nearest point, except that it is not really compatible with Joomla 2.5, in fact, it is, but not compatible with Joomla 2.5 built-in multi-language feature, if you are running a website with Joomla 2.5 for only one language but if you are running 2 websites on Joomla 2.5, XMap become useless as it cannot create sitemap for two languages!

It would be nice if the developer could have a look at this issue as it is a very important factor for all developers and websites offering more than one language.
bymauriestate, August 5, 2012
Lof CoinSlider for Sobi
Well, where should I start? The bad part or the worst one? Since I purchase this extension, I started to take my hair off my head! First, there were no title, no price, no description, URL was not compatible with SEF & give 404 error and no image appearing in the module! I submit a ticket through the help desk and a topic in their support forum, waited for 4 days and no response from the developer... Only after I submit a reply to my own topic in their forum telling that I am going to ask a refund through Paypal that the developer get back to me, log to my website admin and solve the issues.

Now, we move ahead with the development side of our website and through all our troubles were over, our website is developed to offer two languages, English & French, the default language being English. So, after the developer solve all above mention issues, the module was working fine for the English version, but when we start working on the French version (translation), again, more issues appear, SobiPro offers a default translation system for multi-language websites which is just perfect but this module does not offer this great feature integration!

On French version, the module only shows title, price and description, no image appear and link to item again gives 404 error. It is now 2 weeks since we submit a ticket through their help desk and post a topic in their forum but still no reply!

We are launching our website in 2 days now and still module not working! We do not know what to do since we paid for this module and we expect at least a minimum support from the developer.

We understand that JED is not the place to submit support request but we do not have any other alternative as developer is not answering through their own website, we need support from the developer urgently!!!
bymauriestate, April 28, 2012
AuthorLink Element for Zoo
I will just mention one thing before I write my review, I am not related to the developer in any way and just a fully satisfied customer who wants to add a compliment for his supplier, in fact, I cannot say supplier because I did not pay anything for this item but if it was to pay for it, I would have done it with great pleasure.

I downloaded this extension on Thursday 26th of April 2012 and install it immediately on a website that we are currently developing for our own company, after installation, done necessary configuration and activate it, I notice a small display bug with the extension, I immediately went to the developer website and send him a message through his website contact form, note that most joomla developers do not have contact form on their websites but only discussion forum and ticket system, so, I sent the message and went to bed.

In the morning when I wake up, just check my email as usual, there was already an answer from the developer giving me his Skype name and asked me to add him to Skype to discuss furthermore about my issue, which I did.

To my surprise, he was online and accept my invitation immediately and asked me to explain him exactly what was the issue, I give him all necessary details including our temporally website link and he visits the website link immediately.

Not only that he locate the issue but also locate another issue that I did not found myself, a SEO link issue that he told me about and told me to get back to Skype in the afternoon and that he will send me an updated file with the errors corrected.

When I login to my Skype in the afternoon, he was already online and without the need to send him a chat, he himself send me a chat and send me the updated files, when I install it, all errors were gone and plugin was working perfectly!

Even though it's a non-commercial plugin, the plugin itself has the necessary power and design of a commercial plugin and the support is even better than many other commercial developers support, I know what I am talking about because I am still waiting for an updated version of a buggy commercial extension that I purchase the same date as mention above.

Once again, thank you very much for your very good work and support Rem-Tzeu, I will definitely say that you are the best and definitely recommend your products and services to all others around.
bymauriestate, January 25, 2012
Hi to everyone in JED community, first of all, I need to say to all those looking for the best CCK for joomla that they do not need to look further, that they have found it.

I run a community website dealing in real estate and tourism, using some other specific extensions to manage some parts of our website, I was looking for a proper extension to create an activity listing directory and a course listing directory, since I already used mtree for some other parts of the website and sobi2 could not fit my requirements, I decided to look for a CCK extension to build the directory myself.

First, I tried K2, another well known CCK extension but K2 really lacks of features, the main features missed in K2 is about the search & filter integration, there is another extension that helps to integrate search and filter tool to K2 but first it is commercial and secondly, the extra fields can only be used once in the search plugin and there also some other issues that make me abandon the K2 idea.

Secondly, I tried JSeblod, I am not telling that this one also is not good but the configuration is quite complex and really not suitable at all for newbies in joomla.

Finally, I take a look at FlexiContent, after some hesitation, since our website is a productive website, I decided to give it a chance and tried it, the result was totally awesome, I could build all two directories as I wanted it with the same extensions and I could also add as many features as I wanted such as video embed from youtube, photo gallery, map & location and much more simply by using some content plugin available for joomla core contents, I was really impressed and from now, every website that I will design for my company, I will only use FlexiContent and no other CCK extension.

Implementing the search and filtering features within each category was just like a child stuff, so easy to implement, just create a select field with the required filter option and add it to the template and type of content, that's it, you have a fully functional search feature without the need to implement any other third party 'commercial' extension.

Additionally, after creating the first directory, I noticed a small error in the display, which was caused by my own website template css, since I do not really know how css stuff works, I decided to add a support request in the free community support forum of FlexiContent team, here again, I was really impressed, within less than 2 hours, yes really, not more than 2 hours, Micker helped me to solved the issue, he came to my website, look for the issue and find the error and send me the solution to solve it.

Dear JED community, there are other commercial extensions team who do not even reply to support on their own support forum and do not even care to reply to support request in a timely manner, I will not mention any of them here, but I will say a great thank you from the bottom of my heart to the FlexiContent team and say them that what they are doing is really fantastic.

I know that it is not easy since it is a non-commercial extension but guys, try your best to keep FlexiContent alive and even for later joomla version, as I mention you on your website forum, as soon as we start to generate some nice income from our website, we'll definitely send you some of it since you helped us very much to find the right solution for what we were trying to do.

Thanks again guys, T.
bymauriestate, October 18, 2011
J!Places LIGHT
I just try this component for our real estate community website that we are launching tomorrow, based on its features, it seems a very interesting addon to our community but after the installation, I notice some issues with my template (maybe due to some script purposes) but since we are quite in lack of time for the launching of the website, I did not try to find a solution and just went to the uninstall menu to uninstall the component, to my astonishment, the component did not even want to uninstall with a 'source file not found' error, I had to go to my phpmyadmin and delete the database manually and then get back to the ftp to delete the files and then get rid of the component!

My review is that this component have many great features but I think that there some codes in it 'place by the developer' so that we cannot remove the component from the website, unless, like me, we find the solution to remove it manually.

If the component did not has the issue with my template, I would definitely have used it and even upgrade to the pro version at a later time since it is a very interesting feature for our community users but I do not even have much time to get to the support of the developer to ask for assistance, sorry if my review is quite rude but I was really disappointed not to be able to use the component on my website.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!
It is true that with all the various extensions available for Joomla, most of them using their own JavaScript libraries, conflicts between them can arise. This is why we offer 3 JavaScript methods in all our components (jQuery, Mootools, & template loaded), you could maybe fix your problems by switching between these three options in the Configuration page. Of course, contacting us would be the best, and we would definitely be able to assist, however I understand your lack of time for this, so, maybe next time! :)

As for the issue you report, believe me we would never add "malicious" way of making it difficult for users to remove our components from their sites! This is not our ways, and after all, why would we do that in the first place? I don't see any reason... We will check the issue you report, and we will fix it, if we can replicate it.

Thank you for reporting this, and thank you again for taking the time to review our extension.

bymauriestate, September 29, 2011
AcyMailing Starter
I would like to say a special thank to John, the developer, who provide me with a great support while we were still using the starter version for evaluation purposes, we had a small issue with our template CSS to display the properly the newsletter archive page but John provide me the necessary support to get the issue sort out instantly, without the need to wait for days but only a few minutes.

Additionally, I have tried many other newsletter extension prior to start with Acymailing and I must say that its the perfect newsletter extension for all websites using joomla, whatever is your marketing needs, Acymailing will give you entire satisfaction.

P.S. The developer has not paid me to say so lol, I paid him to buy the commercial version but I am very satisfied with it and I do not have any regret for taking this right decision and it is with great pleasure that I give it a 5 start fully merited.