The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


bymurrayzz1, March 2, 2012
Proforms Basic
Installed this component, it didn't email the forms as it should and also tried to redirect to a non-existent URL.

There doesn't seem to be any way to contact the developers without buying the product, so reluctantly I am uninstalling.

This looked like a good product, but if the free version doesn't work and the developers are not available for support, it's not much use.
Owner's reply

“There doesn't seem to be any way to contact the developers without buying the product“
What about this contact form:

“…it didn't email the forms as it should and also tried to redirect to a non-existent URL”
Proforms uses Joomla’s native mail function. If emails are not sent it is up to the user to set up a working Joomla mail configuration (Joomla Admin > Global Configuration > Server > Mail Settings).
There are almost 100.000 installations of Proforms Basic. Guess nobody would use it if email sending doesn’t work properly.

“There doesn't seem to be any way to contact the developers without buying the product“
Also Proforms Basic users are getting support via the contact on
Well if you like to get enhanced support you certainly need to purchase service time.

bymurrayzz1, March 2, 2012
RSform Pro
This is not a bad product, but I have had a few problems with it. For a start, you cannot have the Joomla cache enabled, otherwise this form will not work properly.

Worse still, if anything goes wrong with the form after 6 months (and on my site it has), you have to "renew" your "membership" in order to raise a support ticket. At the time of writing, that costs £58.

As I have already paid once for this extension, I think it's a bit rich to expect me to pay for it again just to get it working.

As another reviewer says, you can expect better support than this from free extensions. So I would say, unless you have very deep pockets, avoid RS products.
Owner's reply

Your membership ended in October 2011 and you've downloaded RSForm! Pro back in May 2011, so you were a few revisions behind - I'm not sure what problems you've encountered since you've never reached us regarding RSForm! Pro (neither when your membership was active) and this review is kind of late, so to speak. Yes, RSForm! Pro is a commercial product and we expect you to have an active membership in order to receive support, it's noted in the Support Policy that you've agreed to upon purchase.
You did not mention that, at the time of writing, the 6 months unlimited domains subscription costs 59 EUR (+ tax, if you live in the EU) - which means that you can receive support for RSForm! Pro on unlimited domains in that period of time. If you think it's too expensive, you can always opt for the 12 months single site subscription (which offers support just for one domain) for just 19 EUR.

bymurrayzz1, December 3, 2010
This strikes me as an excellent module, and when it's combined with Flexi Access and Custom Quick Icons it provides an advanced level of granularity in the management of users, allowing very fine control over who can edit what on your site.

The main problem with the component is that there is NO DOCUMENTATION WHATSOEVER. Yes, you read that right, there is no documentation at all. Don't be fooled by the link in the top right here that says "documentation". Check it out, and see if you can find any useful information at all. You won't.

Using the component also requires you to use additional templates within your own template, which can mess with your CSS, so expect to invest more time finding the CSS classes responsible and editing them to suit your layout. There's no way to do that from within the component, so it has to be done by finding the files and editing them or commenting them out. There's also no way to override this function, as far as I can tell.

I'm sure that when I understand why this feature exists, I'll see the benefits and think it's marvellous, but at the moment it's just a pain. Once again, if there was any documentation to explain why it's there, what it does and how to use it, I might have already reached that point.

The extension is not intuitive, so it isn't obvious how it works or even what it can do. To find out how to do anything, you'll have to spend a lot of time trawling through the forum, which has a very poor search function that makes finding anything really difficult.

There is a support forum, and questions are answered reasonably quickly and well, but most of the questions on there look like things that would be covered if there was a manual.

Why the developer has done this is a mystery. Why doesn't he just write some decent documentation? Or even some half-baked documentation? Even that would be better than nothing. So many people must abandon this module because it's quite difficult to understand, and I would happily pay for the component with documentation. I emailed the developer to ask this question, answer came there none.

Having said that, the component is so powerful that it is well worth the effort and time spent working it out. One tip - build the site from scratch with the component installed. Converting an already developed site to use this component is a lot of work.

In summary, a great extension, but only use it if you've got lots and lots of time to figure it out and if you like cryptic puzzles. I would give it 5 stars for it's functionality, if only it had proper documentation.
bymurrayzz1, November 30, 2010
This component is very easy to understand and has lots of options for creating different groups of downloads.

Everything is dead easy to configure. I had one minor problem during setup, and Chris, the developer, replied straight away with the solution.
bymurrayzz1, November 6, 2010
This is an excellent extension, making it very simple and straightforward to configure many different types of appointment or resource booking.

It's easy to use and very flexible.
bymurrayzz1, September 13, 2010
I would strongly recommend the upgrade to SWMenuPro. I use it on every single site I build because it makes menu creation so simple and quick. I have easily saved the cost of the upgrade in time.

Added to that, Sean White's support service is THE BEST that I have come across. On the one or two occasions when I have had problems, he has shown me how to fix them within 24 hours.

It's a top component, and the support is second to none.