The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

ozneil

Reviews(43)
 
byozneil, February 24, 2012
showplus
Rockettheme haven't updated RokSlideShow for Joomla 1.7/2.5 so I went looking for an alternative simple slideshow extension and ShowPlus is it!

It has a small footprint and because it uses MooTools, there's less chance of conflicts with other extensions.

I have installed it on a few websites now including some customisation on one website and the available documentation was clear enough for me to do this without help from the developer. Thank-you!
byozneil, February 24, 2012
JoomGallery
I have used JoomGallery on a few websites now and have come to realise how versatile it can be. For example, on one website, the home page features a Ken Burns style slideshow with photos randomly selected from the gallery. All this comes with it for free! Thanks JoomGallery!
byozneil, February 24, 2012
Xmap
I am installing Xmap on all the websites I build now so I can add the appropriate link to Google Webmaster Tools. Xmap is very well supported in terms of operating with other extensions and offered for free! Thanks Guillermo!
byozneil, February 22, 2012
Rentalot Plus
I installed and configured Rentalot Plus today and am very impressed with the clear and concise documentation and ease of set up. One question I had was answered very promptly by the developer and overall I am very happy with my purchase.

If you're not sure if this product is right for you, I suggest you check the quality and content of the User's Guide which is a free download.

Specifying different pricing for each day of the week can be tedious but I was able to create daily prices to the end of the year, export the pricing table using phpMyAdmin, quickly make the required changes and then import the data back into the table without too much fuss. Ideally, a pricing CSV import feature would be ideal but not a show stopper for me.
Owner's reply

CSV import/export of prices was added in version 5.0 and certainly does make life easier for people with daily prices or multiple units.

DT Register
I rarely post a negative review but this extension has cost me so much time and I really regret recommending it to one of my clients. Here is a run down on my challenges working with this extension and DTH.

DTH advise the best way to ask for help is via their support ticket system but submitting the form returns "Forbidden Access". This seems to have been happening for a while now. It is very frustrating not being able to communicate with an extension author after they have taken your money.

After receiving no response in the forums for 12 days in regard to a post-purchase Joomla 1.7 plugin compatibility issue, I wrote a follow up post asking if a negative review in JED would help with getting some attention. The follow up post was promptly censored (not cool!) but it did elicit the required response. It turned out that the plugin was not compatible with Joomla 1.7 and the web page was updated fairly quickly to reflect this. DTH Development say they will update the plugin as soon as possible. Thank-you.

The form validation on some of the fields on the add event form was broken and it literally took hours pouring over the forums to figure out the mandatory fields and what was required just to successfully save an event. A new version has been released that apparently fixes these issues. Thank-you.

An event must have an end time and date. This may suit some clients but will not work for all events for my particular client.

To disable registration for a particular event, you must set the "Registration Open Date" to any date after the event. This works, but judging from the number of confused users in the forums, it's not just me that finds this unintuitive.

Installing the new version requires uninstalling the old version. Event data and configuration are preserved but most other extensions I am using these days are happy to be installed over the top of the existing extension.

I try to do my bit with supporting the extensions I use and have fixed broken code in some of the modules and shared the changes back on the forums. Unfortunately this has been ignored and the changes have not been included in the latest release. This means I have to reapply these fixes each time I upgrade the extension.

If you buy a DTH product in good faith expecting it to work out of the box and it doesn't, it would seem reasonable to ask for a refund. Unfortunately, the refund policy on the DTH website states that you have to give them up to 30 days to fix the issue before they will consider issuing a refund. This is not ideal if you want to try a competing product before your project deadline expires.

To be fair, DTH do offer a demo website so you can try out their products before you buy. I saw so many positive reviews here that I didn't try out the demo as thoroughly as I should have. Don't make the same mistake as me.

I suspect that some of these problems are teething issues associated with recent updates for Joomla 1.7 and 2.5. Hopefully the product will settle down again and reflect the majority positive reviews found here.
Owner's reply

Hate to see this review, but I appreciate the attempt to be fair :) Couple of comments:

- the ticket system is highly active from both directions every day. Not sure why you are having problems, but we haven't had other reports of that recently.

- the plugin issue mentioned here was not updated for 1.7 as the user said... but to clarify, this is NOT talking about the component DT Register. This portion of the review really should not even be here as it's for a separate plugin. DT Register itself works just fine in 1.7/2.5.

- validation warnings were not showing in the version the user had when saving the event. There are no issues here. Saving an event is simple... issue for this user was not entering a valid start/end date for the event.

- DT Register DOES work out of the box. And whenever an issue comes up, it is quickly resolved. Is it a perfect fit for every site? Of course not. No extension is. However, no other events extension gives the depth that DT does and is as customizable, so it will fit just about any need. Thanks.

byozneil, October 1, 2011
Traffic Feed
This extension is installed on one of my clients websites and I was excited when a new version was finally released. I thought that an issue with IE8 would finally be resolved. Unfortunately, the issue has not been fixed. The problem has been reported on the forums for over a year so the developer is aware of it but does not seem motivated or able to fix it. This is not great service for a commercial extension.
byozneil, October 1, 2011
Social Media Icon Links
I will be using this on most of my websites now for a few reasons. 1. I have realised a module is better than a plugin for social networking as plugins don't always work consistently across all components whereas the module can be set up to be displayed consistently on every page. 2. This module is W3C compliant and this is unusual with social networking extensions. 3. I install the "PGT SocialWeb" module to provide "Share" functionality and "Social Media Icon Links" uses very similar icons so that they compliment each other well. Thanks for providing this excellent free extension!
byozneil, October 1, 2011
EasyCalcCheck PLUS
I look after a few websites with free registration and open forums (Kunena, phpBB etc). The forum posts are moderated so I get an email each time a post needs to be approved. Since installing EasyCalcCheck PLUS, spam posts have reduced to ZERO and my inbox is looking a lot nicer now. I like the simple calculation prompt better than a "captcha" which can be hard to read and sometimes deter genuine visitors. Thanks!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

byozneil, October 1, 2011
AiDaNews2
When selecting extensions, I test out the most promising free ones and then if I can't find anything suitable, usually buy a commercial extension. AiDaNews is the best in it's class and is commercial quality but given for free! Thank-you!
Owner's reply

Thank you for spending a bit of your time to write a review! It really does help motivation knowing that many people appreciate what you do (and that's what's missing in most of the work I do :3). Don't hesitate and let me know if there's any bug I need to fix ;)

byozneil, October 1, 2011
Admin Tools
I used to use Sam Moffat's excellent Update Manager component on every website I build but there's no Joomla 1.7 version yet. So I had to go looking for something else and Akeeba Admin Tools is it! There are several tools but the most useful and time saving one for me is the Joomla Update tool to make it easy to keep up to date with security patches. Admin Tools seems to be built to the same high quality as the other Akeeba tools so I will be installing this on every website I build, confident that it won't let me down. Nicholas, you are a huge asset to the Joomla community.
byozneil, October 1, 2011
OSE File Manager™
I just built my first Joomla 1.7 website and was saddened to find that there's no ninjaXplorer for 1.7 yet. I prefer ninjaXplorer compared to eXtplorer so was very happy to find OSE FileManager. This will be the first thing I install on all my Joomla 1.7 websites. Thank-you.
byozneil, October 1, 2011
JV Counter
I just wanted a simple visitor counter for a client Joomla 1.7 website. I tried several and found that this one is perfect. There are a few styles to choose from so I am able to make it fit in with the template I am using and it looks great. Thanks!
byozneil, October 1, 2011
Payment Form
I wanted a captcha implemented in Payment Form and added a request in the forums. Tuan was kind enough to include it in the latest release and this eventuated within a few weeks. Keep up the good work!
byozneil, August 14, 2011
sigplus
As advertised, this extension is straightforward to use but also quite versatile. Once installed, and configured, it is simply a case of uploading images to the relevant folder to add images to your gallery.

The other thing I like (and this is why I found it in the first place) is that the code is W3C compliant.

Keep up the good work!
byozneil, August 14, 2011
Sourcerer
This plugin does what it says with no fuss! I have used it to incorporate content into articles and custom HTML modules and would not have been able to do this without Sourcerer.

Thanks!
byozneil, August 14, 2011
Akeeba Backup
I install Akeeba Backup on every website I build and it just keeps getting better and better.

I also rely on it to move websites from development to production or between web hosts. I do this frequently and Akeeba is very reliable.

Keep up the good work!
byozneil, August 14, 2011
RokNavMenu
Thanks, I just realised that I can use RokNavMenu with custom HTML modules and Sourcerer to create dynamic menus based on what is in the database.

In this particular case, I have created a website for a tour operator with tour menus automatically populated from the tour database.

The tour operator can now create or delete tours and the menus are automatically updated for her.

Neat!
byozneil, August 14, 2011
Nice Slide Show
Just what I have been waiting for! I needed a slide show plugin that would accept file names rather than a folder so that I could use it to display images whose names are stored in the database and retrieved using ChronoConnectivity. This means I can display all the photos from a specific real estate property or tour operator tour etc and they don't necessarily have to be the same amount etc. I was using a JavaScript slideshow before but this is a much neater solution. The code is also W3C valid. Thanks!
Chrono Connectivity
I have been using ChronoForms for a few years and one day I was asked to display back event registrations to authorised logged in users only. Enter ChronoConnectivity!

Since then I have built a couple of websites that are full blown applications (an affiliate book store and a real estate website) using ChronoForms to enter book and property details and ChronoConnectivity to display back the details in different required formats with appropriate security so that only the website owners can update the sites.

I am not a programmer but where a few lines of PHP code have been needed, I have been able to find examples on the very active ChronoEngine forums. I am so impressed that I purchased the unlimited subscription for ChronoForms last year and then the unlimited subscription for ChronoConnectivity today! I want to make sure these guys stay in business and continue to develop, improve and support these great products!
byozneil, April 22, 2010
AcyMailing Starter
I had been using Acajoom until I installed AcyMailing Starter for the first time today. I must say I am impressed with the ease of configuration, ease of use, the templates, integration with Community Builder and the clear documentation. The only reason I would install Acajooom now is if I need Jomsocial integration. Thanks for offering so much functionality in the free version of your product!
Owner's reply

Our JomSocial integration is already developed...
We need a new release as we had to change several things in AcyMailing to make it work as we wanted so it will be available in May 2010!

Page 2 of 3